Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northern California

Third world stay

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Bad bad bad. Would be better if gone. If the health and safety inspector would close it down if inspected. Makes me question Expedias questions about rating
1 out of 5
by Susan from Santa Cruz

Not as it appears on website.

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Close proximity to Stanford Hospital which was the ONLY reason we stayed.
This place is over priced, run down, funky and dirty. Some windows in unit 14 didn't close, and other windows did not open. We almost suffocated from the heat and the air conditioner did not work efficiently. There is no office and you must speak to the proprietor through a hole in a plexi-glass window. When we complained about the air conditioner she said there was nothing she could do. We paid extra for a kitchenette which turned out to be a microwave and fridge.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Daniel from Michigan

Stanford Inn

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: The atmosphere.
Cons: Staff was almost non-existent.
Location: Very good location. Close to many things.
A beautiful but decadent place. The place hasn't been renovated in a long time. Rooms in the first floor are better.
1 out of 5
by Richard from New York

Run down motel in need of repairs

Posted May 4, 2014
Would never stay there again! Motel was run down and in need of repairs. A/C unit broke in middle of night. Back up fans were noisy. Iron but no ironing board. Soap bars in bathroom were dry and broke into pieces when you tried to wash. The list goes on. Not worth the money saved. Should not be on Expedia!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Convenient location but very noisy

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: It has a very convenient location, close to restaurants, Caltrain, and Stanford.
Cons: The rooms should have sound-proofed windows to cut road noise. The office should be staffed all the time like at any other hotel.
Location: Everything is close by: Stanford, a big shopping center, buses and Caltrain, a grocery store, and restaurants serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
This hotel is right next to a busy roadway. My room had very flimsy windows that let in all the road noise. I needed ear plugs to be able to get any sleep. The staffing at this hotel is very strange. The office is often closed, with directions to call a number where most the time you only get voicemail. I wanted my company to pay the hotel directly for my stay, but it took about a week of phone calls to get the hotel to fax the payment information to my company's travel office.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Be careful - not a good place to stay

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is the expensive and "THE" worst Motel I ever stayed. It is pretty old and not at all maintained. wall painting is not good. This Motel is on El Camino Real and doesn't have sound proof walls, so You can hear noise of each and every passing vehicle. The room I stayed, they don't have A/C or Heater. Bathrooms are not maintained. The towels they give are 100 years old. furniture is awful. The bed and mattress is too old, bed was making noise while moving and I could count the number of springs in the Mattress. TV never worked. I couldn't connect to Internet. They don't even have proper office/front desk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pictures are wrong

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: the staff was nice, but hotel was run down badly
Cons: update the pictures shown on the website to match how the hotel looks today...
the pictures on the website did not match the condition of the room/hotel at all.... read all of the reviews before staying here.... my husband and I did not stay I was not comfortable staying there, found a much nicer room at different hotel for only $60 more.... I did not care about losing my money I had already paid on the room we just had to leave
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

left much to be desired

Posted Mar 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
An affordable hotel in a pricy area. Pluses were a) location, and b) it had a full kitchen. Minuses were a) the place is in severe need of renovation, b) the room was dirty--the "clean" plates required washing, the cabinets were sticky to the touch, the kitchen floor was sticky, the upholstered seats in around the dining table were severely stained (so much so I sat on them with paper towels covering them). We are not that picky when it comes to cleanliness, but this place was dirty even to my husbands standards. More pluses were that at least the bathroom was very clean and the shower had good water pressure. Not bad for the price given the area as long as you don't mind the run down, dirty appearance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary Anne

Spacious, comfortable room with full kitchen.

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Spacious room and convenient to our family.
Cons: Bathroom needs some updating. Very clean, but some rusty spots.
Location: Right on El Camino near Menlo Park, Palo Alto border. Great for Stanford, silicon valley.
Not new and glitzy, but well-maintained and nicer than most at this price. Very convenient to our family in Menlo Park, and also to Stanford.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Chris from Montreal

Cheap studio for a research stay at Stanford

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: A very affordable studio where you can cook your daily meals.
Cons: The only downside is the noise that the owners' children do (if you happen to get the room on top of theirs), and they go to bed real late !
Location: 30 min walk from the Hoover tower.
If your looking for a cheap place where to stay while on Stanford's campus, this is the place. It feels more as if you'd live in a friend's flat rather than in a hotel room, which is a good side.