Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from beijing

nice

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Characteristics with many plants, quiet, convenient. Breakfast would be perfect if some sausage or bacon added.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Room was fine but place was run down

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Despite the large amounts of foliage neither the ambiance or the pool were as nice as the photos led me to believe they would be.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Motel rebranded as "boutique", unfriendly staff

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Proximity to Stanford, breakfast.
Cons: Renovate rooms, mentor staff to be friendlier. Post signs about the use of courtyard and hire a gardener.
Location: You can go to a nice dinner on California Ave 3-4 blocks away.
We booked this hotel because we needed to be close to Stanford University and for this, Stanford Terrace fits the bill. You can walk across the street (4 min) to catch a free Stanford shuttle bus stop (line C). However this is the nicest thing we can say about the hotel. It is basically the usual motel with window AC units which was refurbished as a "boutique" hotel. The beds and linens are fine, but the room is very cramped. Does not have enough power outlets etc. and so if you want to charge your phone, you have to unplug the lamp etc. The bathroom is cramped as well, with faucets, tub etc. outdated and in need of remodel, and extra decorations spread out which do not give enough space for more than one person (we had a room with two queen beds). There was a computer in the room taking up space but for extra charge. The inner courtyard is overgrown with plants, and the pool is of symbolic size and was out of service when we were there. There is no street noise, but AC units makes up for that, and the lounge for guests located in the other inner courtyard encourages younger folk to hang out there with a bottle to the wee hours of the morning. Breakfast in the tiny lobby is OK, but the staff always seemed put upon. We only interacted with one helpful person from staff. Overall, this is not the experience I expected for the price Stanford Terrace asks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Excellent location and ambience.

Posted Jun 9, 2015
This is an unusual hotel because of the landscaping and unique exterior decorating. Really stunning container plantings on every floor - including the entire, underground garage! Felt like we were in a tropical island. Comfortable and typical hotel/motel room interior - down pillows and firm bed. It seems like a converted studio apartment complex. The pool is gorgeous and heated! We would return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not for you if you like new

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: large room easy access to Stanford university shuttle starbucks only 1/2 block away
Cons: I prefer newer, updated, no funny smell
Large rooms and comfortable bed but... prefer not to have the weird smell too dark furniture/room are old
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2015
The plants make the experience pleasant although it is just a little tight to get around
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Plant heaven

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: It's funky and clean!
Cons: Just needs a renovation.
Location: Great location near shopping, Stanford, the dish to exercise and plenty of biking!
This place is clean, all the people are super friendly but you better like plants!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from g

Very convenient and relatively reasonable.

Posted Jun 2, 2015
The rooms are very comfortable. The outside hallways are tacky. Fewer exotic flowers and newer carpet would help. Otherwise, it was comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Stanford. Would stay again

Posted May 21, 2015
This is a nice hotel with a swimming pool and great breakfast close to Stanford. It is moderately priced for the area and I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really sweet hotel

Posted May 7, 2015
I only stayed at the Inn one night but it was really lovely. The room was huge but still managed to feel comfortable. There are flowers and plants everywhere but arranged in such a casual way that it feels more like you're in a lovely apartment complex than a hotel. I mean that in a good way! The staff was very nice and the location was great.