Ratings based on 814 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from east bay, california

Started bad

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Old classy style. Feel the nostaglia.
Cons: I think more maintanence to up keep the old original feel and bigger bathrooms are a must
We got there 10mins prior to check and they had no rooms, they quickly got us something with a great view of the city.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: It's location
Cons: No one smoke room, ok
Location: Shopping, good restaurant.
You can hear snoring, and everything next room are talking. We had a no smoking room but in some way we had smoke coming to our room. Valet scratch my car. I did not have time to look for the manager and make them to fix it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty, tired hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2014
I booked this hotel because it is historic, and conveniently located. Unfortunately, the hotel is dirty, and smells bad. The carpets in the room and in the hallways are stained, and the hallways have the odor of not being cleaned... I wouldn't stay here again. Adam.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin, CA

Close to the San Jose Convention Center

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: 8 years ago and stayed at the hotel and the memorable art in the ceiling!
Cons: Customer service to ALL customers whether they book in-house or use a third party. After all you do want everyone's business and repeat customers!
Location: Downtown, Convention Center, and Restaurants
Air Conditioner went out in the middle of the night, was woken up from the room being so hot. But being already set for bed and didn't want to make a big deal of it in the middle of the night. I decided to open the window and save the complaint for the morning. That morning I called the front desk and let them know right away. They immediately made me seem like I'm at fault for not calling them right away and there's nothing they can do. They said if they were aware of it they would of send a technician up, so I said send the technician up since I'm still in the room. Sure enough immediately the technician verified that the air conditioner was out. So at check out is where the front desk and manager failed to provide the proper customer service. As a consumer with a valid complaint and verified by the facility technician I am in tiled to my full refund. Even this being said and the name of the hotel and reputation on the line. They wouldn't help me, and in the end its all because I booked the stay through a third party hotel booking site! So is this mean the hotel is not getting paid?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Right next to the convention center

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Wonderful bed, great atmosphere.
Cons: The use an outsource for their breakfast room service. My timing was such I did not want to risk it, and questioned how good it would be.
Location: The Convention Center and many museums.
It is a very nice old hotel. I did however miss the convenience of reliable breakfast room service, and there is no pool. A small but well appointed gym. The room was very comfortable, I would definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Nice Room, Friendly Staff and Great Food

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: The staff that work at the hotel.
The experience was great starting from the valet service to when we settled into our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Clean, very friendly service.
Cons: later room service
Excellent! Very friendly staff, remodeled rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from New York

Great in the heart of San Jose.

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful, historic hotel - modernized and very comfortable. Great location.
2 out of 5
by edgar from san francisco

Defenetly not what I was specting

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Stain sheets and carpet. Staff not very helpful and very laud due to construction with in the hotel. I did my best to deal with the situation and I defenetly won't stay there again. This is to bad because the location of the hotel is not bad
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bibiana from San Diego, CA

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Wonderful Staff , WiFi, excellent service, Italian Restaurant food was excellent.