Ratings based on 407 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Not so great at the Westin in Palo Alto

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: The location is good. But the next time we would stay at the Sheraton, right next door.
Cons: the thermostat and finishing the painting and repair work outside
Location: The location is near Stanford University, and even better, not far from where our daughter lives.
The staff at the Westin were very polite and friendly, but the room left something to be desired. For most of the time the window in the room was covered with heavy plastic from the outside, so the view was nothing. One night it was so cold, and the next day the engineer (janitor?) came and fixed something. The next day the thermostat went up to 83 degrees F. and stayed there. The next day a different janitor spent about one hour trying to fix it, and finally got the temp. down to 72 degrees. The next janitor changed it to 76 degrees. It was a challenge!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for downtown Palo Alto

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Quiet and comfy, great location for shopping and dining
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Luis Obispo, CA

A Great Place to stay.

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: It is a clean, pleasant upscale place to stay.
Cons: Possibly more attention to small details.
Location: An excellent place to stay if you need a few days while at the Stanford Medical Center, which is very close and convenient.
We got in late and ordered room service, which was very prompt and the food was good. The room was poorly stocked and we had to bother the staff periodically for routine supplies, shampoo, coffee, etc. We had asked for a room close to the elevator since my wife is disabled and had to walk quite a distance to our door. The staff was pleasant but spoke English in a hesitant manner. Howeeer they were eager to please us and very prompt and efficient with service. The room was excellent and overall the stay was upscale. The little imperfections dis not materially distract from the experience and I would recommend this hotel and the staff to anyone that wants to stay in the Palo Alto area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Donaldfrom Cincinnati

Very nice hotel with something to work on.

Posted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good hotel. Need to work on car valet situation. I was over and over looking for the guy to bring up my car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
clean, convenient, nice rooms, what you expect from Westin
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Clean, quiet, and comfortable

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
great location near the stanford campus and shops and restaurants on university ave. staff were attentive and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rotten internet service

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Internet service is unacceptable
It took almost an hour and two system administrators to solve their system problem. Afterwards, I got off only two emails before the system ground to a halt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2014 by Tanya, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and taking the opportunity to give us feedback. It is always our goal to exceed guest expectation and we regret that we fell short because of the internet issues. Please accept our most sincere apology for the inconvenience caused, it must have been very frustrating. Please rest assured that we have remedied this issue and guests are reporting much better connectivity. Despite the inconvenience caused, I hope we will have another chance to welcome your back to Palo Alto. Warmest Regards, Tanya F.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Deborahfrom AR

Great location, lovely hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Perfect location to visit Stanford. A really lovely hotel with great amenities. The staff was very accommodating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Excellent staff, great breakfast, good room, uncomfortable pillows.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2014 by Tanya, Hotel Management
First and foremost, thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, as we try our best to provide our guests with exceptional service throughout their stay. We are sorry to hear that you found our pillows uncomfortable. We appreciate your feedback and have shared it with our management team. We thank you for your consideration and look forward to your next stay with us. Best regards, Azucena (Service Express Associate)