Ratings based on 414 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Modern hotel in center of all of Los Gatos action.

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: The bar staff was excellent and they worked hard to meet the new standards set by management. Rooms modern, comfortable, and spacious.
Cons: The restaurant was not a restaurant. It was more like a place in the bar to have a meal. The prices and quality of the food require more.
Location: Tons of restaurants and plenty of shops and great people watching.
Hotel had finished a re-model and working on getting the kinks out. Offered excellent meeting facilities, but a guest could not get lunch or snack between 12 and 3 pm. some of the management responsive to guests others too worried about maintaining the plan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Everything was first rate. Beds were very comfortable, very nice room will definitely stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom aLAMO ca

A Nice Getaway

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: proximity to downtown food and shopping
Cons: Breakfast menu too FOO Foo...just do regular breakfast meals WELL
Location: great location for shopping and restaurants
Had fun...GOOD SLEEP NO NOISE yes i WOULD RECCOMEND
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Modesto CA

Love the location, can walk to shopping and dining

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Waling distance to shopping and dining
We've stayed at this hotel many times over the years. Nice to see it has been remodeled. We love the location, walking to downtown shopping and dining. The staff is friendly and very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent location

Posted Mar 28, 2015
we've been going there for years b/c it has great access to virtually everything in silicon valley and santa cruz, monterrey, and carmel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A disappointing stay.

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: There are a few staff people that really are very customer service oriented (the engineer included). But there is only so much they can do, really.
At first glance (and certainly based on all the website pictures) this is a wonderful hotel. However, considering the fact that we ended up seeing the building "engineer" more than anyone else over our 3 night stay, I can pretty strongly say that we will not be returning, nor recommending it to friends in the area. First, let me say that this hotel is very poorly built. Oh, it looks pretty, but they most certainly skimped on sound proofing - between the walls of rooms, between the doors and the hallway (we had 2 different rooms) and between the bathroom door and the rest of the room. You. Get. To. Hear. Everything. I'm grateful it was an overall quiet weekend, and the hotel was not even close to full. Every day as we would come down the hallway toward our room, we could see the sunlight streaming through the edges of the door of another room (not ours) obviously indicating the doors aren't even a solid fit. Our first night, we weren't quite sure why our heater kicked on and off. All night. In the morning, we realized the wall unit was so poorly placed into the wall that you could see straight through to the outside, so the temperature driven heating unit would warm our room to the right temperature only to be immediately cooled by the outside air flowing in, and it would kick right back on again. (The building engineer only shifted the box around a bit to try and eliminate the view of the outdoors.) I already mentioned the lack of bathroom sound proofing. I can say, the bathr
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Barbara, CA

Great for business or short stay close to downtown

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Expedia
Location: Perfect for walking around town. Easy, covered parking provided for guests.
Great for business; not a honeymoon destination. Rooms were very clean and spacious. For $15 I upgraded to a king room on the 2nd floor. The restaurant was recently remodeled and looked modern and appealing. My room looked out over the center courtyard. Room had refrigerator, large tv, coffee maker, robes, and luggage rack. The mattress, pillows and linens were fresh and new.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

Its just alright.

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: It was very clean and the beds were excellent.
Cons: Treat people like guests, not short-term renters.
Location: There is no reason to stay in the hotel because there is nothing to do. Fortunately, Los Gatos has a lot of shops and restaurants to check out.
I was excited about this place, but at the end of the stay, it was just sorta bland and frustrating. It's an older place, but was immaculately clean, which is a huge plus. Parking was included and very easy. It has recently gone through a renovation and the style of the place is great -- comfortable without being too fancy/uppity. There are gas fireplaces outside with seating, but they were only lit once. When I asked to have them lit at the front desk, I was told they shut them off at 10:00 (it may have been 10:30 at the time)...something about the other guests at the hotel. Seriously? The three in my party were also guests and were not interested in making noise, we just wanted to enjoy the fire. I found that maddening because their ridiculous policies are childish and myopic. The restaurant was never open when we were there (due to the remodeling, I believe), but there were occasional room services trays in the hallways, although I was unable to find a room service menu in my room. There were also no soda vending machines anywhere. In short, the hotel looks like a place where they want you to stay and enjoy the facility -- like a resort. But when you are there, you quickly feel like it is just a fancy motel with no amenities (there is no pool/hot tub, either). No thanks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Napa, CA

Good location, but noisy

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Good location, nice room.
Cons: Sound proofing, new carpeting, basic updating.
Location: Good location can walk downtown Los Gatos easily and a short drive up the highway to San Jose and Santana Row.
The Toll House is a cute hotel, in a good location. It is in need of an update and it is obvious the hotel is starting to get remodeled. The main problem we had with the hotel was the noise. We were on the 2nd floor on the side of the street and heard the person in the room above us walking around just about the entire night, I kid you not. Also there was noise coming from the street. I hope they plan on adding sound proofing during the remodel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom murrieta , CA

Very beautiful , clean hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Loved hotel , very clean, and beautiful, would recommend it to family and friends . We were on a road trip to San frantic I and stopped here for the nite , didn't want to leave cause it was so nice.