Ratings based on 561 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Vagabonds, Keep Wandering...

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: The hotel was not too noisy, despite being situated between busy streets. There were no bugs. Its location is convenient.
Location: There are lots of straight-forward food choices in the area. I ate at The Tofu House - fantastic family-style Korean food, great service and value.
At $165 per night, I expected the Vagabond Inn to measure up as a simple but acceptable hotel experience. As I walked into reception and saw a sign indicating that it had received a high rating by a major organization that reviews hotels, I felt even better, though this hopefulness was dampened somewhat by the demeanor of the desk clerk who seemed so bored with her job that she could not bother to smile or make eye contact. After check-in, I went to the room and opened the door. Just that first glance had me saying, "Oh, God," and not in a heavenly sort of way. The carpet was dingy and stained, as was the fabric armchair. The armchair, ottoman and desk chair were worn and frayed. The bed was comfortable and had no bedbugs, and the sheets and coverings were in adequate shape. The sink, floor and toilet were clean, as was the bathtub, though this latter was very worn and stained. There was dust on the baseboards and cobwebs on the air conditioning unit. The bathroom had a window whose screen was filthy; the view from the tub gave out immediately onto an apartment's porch area. The bedroom smelled strongly of bleach. There was a coffee pot in the room, but without a lid, such that I needed to use the back end of my toothbrush to depress the lever to get the coffee to run out of the basket and into the pot. The whole experience was disappointing and overpriced, even for the San Jose area. Vagabonds, don't stop here; just keep on wandering.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2015
just ok, a little noisy, but no too bad.adadfg agdad gadfbaf dAVD
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from YZ

Hotel with dirty carpet

Posted Jul 9, 2015
We reserved one room with king-size bed, but what we got is queen-size bed. Carpet is very dirty, never saw such dirty carpet before in other hotels. The original price is too exaggerate, I can not imagine it is $259/night... Liers.... Stay away from this hotel... Staff is not friendly at all...Breakfast is a joke..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Served the purpose

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Hotel staff was nice and helpful. Not the nicest, nor the cleanest. However served the purpose for our concert weekend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East SF Bay

If you need a bed for the night...

Posted Jun 30, 2015
...and nothing else, like I did, the Vagabond is a good nough spot. Nothing fancy, don't expect service, friendliness, help finding your way around. It was the cheapest place I could find on a night when the whole town was booked. Room was clean, bed was comfy, and hey, there's a pool! Sometimes that's all you need.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not safe for family's.

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Unfortunately, this was a last minute stop on our way from So-Cal to Nor-Cal. We had our two young children with us. At check-in I gave my non-smoking room to an elderly couple who booked a room,but was overbooked. The staff did nothing, not even a thank you. The older couple was very grateful. At 2am we were all woken by screaming and yelling. Huge fight between drunk people right outside our door. This went on for over an hour. When I said something upon checkout, the desk clerk just said " YA we get those people sometimes" WHAT!?!!... No sorry no way did this establishment try to make it right. AND... It says breakfast included, HA!!. Toast, warm juice and milk and cereal. NEVER NEVER AGAIN! Not only was the room a complete disappointment, but the lack of professionalism from this establisment and its staff is extremely disheartening.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

worm in bed

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Clean room and customer services
AC does not work, they said they will change my room but never did. I found a worm in my bed, never come back again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Convenient location for Graduation.

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: convenient location, large rooms, good beds.
Cons: They ran out of things at the continental breakfast, not a great selection. And the weird sheet situation.
All was fine except for how the beds were made. The top sheet and blanket were reversed. So you had to sleep between the bottom sheet and a blanket. The top sheet was on top of the blanket......weird!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SAN DIEGO CAL

ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENT IN ORDER FOR FRONT DESK CLERK

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: STAY THERE A FEW TIMES BEFORE NEVER ISSUE WITH EARLY ARRIVAL, I DIDN'T LIKE IT THIS TIME AND THIS IS ALSO THE LAST TIME I STAY THERE
Cons: GIVE YOUR FRONT DESK CLERK SOME MIDOL PILLS, SHE NEEDS A JOB THAT SHE CAN ENJOY SOME PLACE ELSE.
ARRIVE AFTER A TRIP FROM SAN DIEGO TO SANTA CLARA WAS VERY TIRE GIRL AT FRONT DESK WAS NO HELP YOU CAN NOT CHECK IN EARLY UNTIL YOU PAY EXTRA 30.00 DLLS. ARRIVE ON MAY 23TH AT 1:30 PM THE CLERK IN THE AFTERNOON WAS VERY FRIENDLY AND ACCOMMODATING NO ISSUES, THE FOLLOWING NIGHT THE ROOM NEXT TO US (ROOM 101) THEY HAD A PARTY GOING INSIDE THE ROOM AND BY OUR WINDOW TILL ABOUT 3:30 AM YOUR PLACE WAS VERY NOISE.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2015
Room smelled like body odor and did not seem clean at all -- stains on carpet, security locks loose on the door.