Ratings based on 827 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Conveniently located with a history

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: decor, staff, location
The staff at the hotel is amazing! The location is great - within walking distance of everything worth seeing in the old town. The only thing worth noting is that there are LOTS of bugs and mosquitoes in the old town. Please remember to bring insect repellent and use it at all times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Douglaston, NY

Beautiful hotel in the heart of Old San Juan!

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Our stay at El Convento was awesome. What a beautiful hotel that looks and feels like a place in Europe! We stayed on the second floor which has very high ceilings. There was a terrace with 2 chairs and a table to drink our coffee or have a snack. The 24 hour water, coffee and tea came in very handy. The free wine and cheese hour from 6-7pm was a nice touch before heading out to dinner. The location of the best restaurants was within walking distance. The only issue my husband and I had was with the most uncomfortable pillows. If that could change, it was a wonderful hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom conneticut

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Beautiful hotel.great location in the heart of old san juan.excellent staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom atlanta

Great hotel in a great location

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Pros: Location, rooms, food and service. Everything was perfect.
Cons: Difficult to answer. My wife and I could not agree about the taste of the Sangrita.
Location: Lot of historic things to see. Centuries of history as soon you walk out of the door. Same when you stay in the hotel. No beach close by.
We liked the vibe in this hotel. It's a great location in the middle of Old San Juan. Nice rooms, very friendly and professional staff. The courtyard is a beautiful for dinner. Nothing is cheap in San Juan, but I found the prices for dinner and breakfast quite reasonable and the quality very good. We were very happy with our choice to stay there
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Lovely hotel in lovely setting. I saw it over twenty years ago when I could afford nothing and always hoped to come back. It is all that I imagined and hoped for. The cats are an added benefit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland

Wonderful Hotel to stay in, close to many attracti

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Cons: some more variety in the Happy Hour selections
Location: beaches, churches, restaurants, historical sites
Wonderful staff, relaxing, great location. Puerto Rico was a fantastic place to visit, so many things to do and see. Lots of outdoor activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburgh

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Cons: The front desk are friendly and helpful, but could do better in providing confirmation that arrangements for trips, dinner reservations etc. are set.
Great visit. Great location. Ideal for history buffs - perhaps less so for families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom indianapolis

Best hotel in old San juan

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: Rooms, old charm, staff.....
Cons: I had one bad experience with restaurant down there where my soup was very salty.... But they were nice to replace it....
Location: All the nice restaurants, shopping and bars are nearby at walking distance.
We stayed there for 4 nights...everything was excellent, all the top restaurants are near by... Shopping , historic sights are also close...all restaurants in hotel are also nice....it has that old historic feel which makes you feel like you are in some different country....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom IN

Just wish it was nearer to the beach!

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: history, courtyard, staff, quiet and relaxing.
Cons: our room had twins; minor complaint, just wish there was an opportunity to have a queen size bed.
Location: Cristobal and Mondo castles. Old San Juan!
Everything you ask for in a hotel. friendly, courteous professional staff. quaint, historic room, fabulous courtyard atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom california

Romantic

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Everything 100% plus. Except staff at check in. Supposed check in to be at 3:00 pm and we arrive there at 3:10 pm And the room not available. Send us to bar and leave us there for 2 hours. The staff of bar no good. After that everything was perfect