Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mill Creek, WA

San Juan room, NO WIFI AND NO AIR CONDITIONING

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: The employees were nice, the food was great.
Cons: stronger wifi signal to all rooms, better air circulation, better parking as we had to move our car every 2 hours.
Location: Location is good, lots of restaurants and shops.
While the hotel has very nice employees and perhaps other rooms are better than the one that we stayed in, we were very unhappy with our room. At $279 per night if should have been better. It was on the third floor in the attic. The room was very hot and there was no air conditioning. The windows had the handles taken off so we could not get any air circulation at all. There was a sliding door but we felt uncomfortable leaving it open all of the time. Also when we travel Wifi is the most important feature that we look for as we both have obligations that we need the internet for when we travel. The description of our room said that free wifi was included. Well the wifi did not work the whole time we were there. The front desk girl said that sometimes you have to hook up to wifi in the lobby then go up to the room. We tried that to no avail. So we had to go to the nearest sports bar and connect there when we needed internet. I asked more than once how they could advertise wifi in a room where it did not work and the girl said that it was run by a separate company and she had no control over it. (Though she could reset the router when we asked her to) There was a 4inch thick fake fur rug in the middle of the living area that was both dangerous due to tripping and also filthy. We moved it to the bathroom. Also because there is a sports bar right across the street it was extremely noisy at night with drunks partying in the street once the bar closed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Comfortable hotel

Posted Jun 15, 2015
An excellent hotel for staying at while visiting Friday Harbor and San Juan Island. Comfortable room with small living room, tasty healthy breakfast, and a welcoming staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great for families...

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: Hotel is walking distance from the ferry landing (though so is the entire town). Staff is fantastic, room was clean and a good size.
We were in Friday Harbor for a wedding. The Bird Rock Hotel is adorable and the staff, very accommodating. We were traveling with an infant, missed our ferry and had to take a late one in. Upon check-in the staff provided us with milk, walked us to our room, and ensured we had everything we needed, including the pack-n-play we requested. Our stay was short but extremely pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2015
I stayed in the Lopez Suite, and thought it was a lot of room for the price. The beds were comfortable, the women at the desk for most of my stay, Indigo, was super friendly and accommodating. The continental breakfast was delicious, and changed slightly from day to day. There was also space to eat outside in the sun. The pool at their sister hotel was a quick walk, and easily accessible. Wifi was a nice string signal, and the shower/jetted tub was very nice. Everything in Friday Harbor is a quick walk from here. The island is beautiful, but I found Roche Harbor to be overrated. Everyone recommended it as a place to check out, but other than the views, the "village" didn't have a lot to offer. Much more going on in Friday Harbor. For food, Cask and Schooner was delicious. The Cheese Plate and Chicken/Bacon/Brie Sandwiches were my favorites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, WA

Weekend Get Away!

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: The friendly staff, fresh baked cookies and up keep of the hotel.
Cons: The bathroom door in the room could be adjusted to close easier. Bed mattress could be more comfortable. Could use a toper.
Location: Two blocks from the ferry; art galleries, lots of shopping, ride the hotel bikes along the beach, and visit the winery.
Charming room "Whidbey" had all the necessities we needed. Nicely kept with own private entrance on the side of the hotel. I would definitely come back to stay at the hotel. Continental breakfast was nice and the staff members were very helpful. "Zoey" helped us a lot during our arrival with things to see and do while there. The only thing I would do different next time is bring my vehicle and own bikes to visit the west side of the islands. Oh yeah .... one more thing, visit four days rather than three, giving you a chance to adventure out on the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dustin from San Francisco

Best Hotel on the Island!

Posted Apr 9, 2015 on Hotels
Awesome hotel in Friday Harbor with a lovely breakfast and very comfortable accommodations. The bed was wonderfully luxurious and the Jacuzzi was hot and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Selah, WA

Cozy & comfortable.

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Walking distance to everything. Staff pleasant & helpful! Breakfast was lite which is what we needed Sunday after the few days if eating our way around San Juan Island. The only mishap was the tv was t working which they tried to fix the first night & did by the second. I'll be back again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by P James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Great location near the ferry

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Continental breakfast in the morning, cookies is the afternoon. Very friendly staff! We loved our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lummi Island, WA

Great Place!

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Its character and location.
Cons: Individual heat for each room instead of the entire floor.
Location: Close to all of the fun things in Friday Harbor: restaurants/bars, gift shops, ferry, etc. Walk to Susies Mopeds and see the whole island with no car
This is a beautiful old building that is nicely updated. Erin, at the front desk, was delightful -- personable and helpful. We looked at all of the open rooms and even the ones without their own bathrooms are great (the bathrooms down the all are modern and spacious).