Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015
When we arrived, someone else was in our room. He had moved in and changed into his swim trunks and was on the front deck. Check in time was at 4:00 but our room had not been cleaned yet. The maid told the man in our room to go to room number one, not cabin number one. He said ok, because the room hadn't been cleaned anyway.. She told us to come back in 30 minutes. My sister stayed with us as the room was supposed to sleep four. The futon that folded out was uncomfortable as you had to sleep on it as a couch and there was a hump in the middle. The King bed was foam and on a platform that if you were not careful, you would hurt yourself walking into the hard corners. The bed was too soft and there were no extra pillow. The pillows were flat. There was a hair dryer that you had to plug in across the sink. Bring your own shampoo and soap as there was none. We decided to watch a movie but the dvd player did not work. Very disappointing. The first day they left 3 bottles of water and breakfast cookies for the morning. There were 3 yogurts and three oranges in the small refrigerator. The second morning (we stayed two nights) they left two bottles of water and nothing else. Not even a third bottle of water for the third guest. We were given new towels for the second night but that was it. No changing of the linens each night. For the price we payed, we expected more. Oh and don't even try the hot tub. It was scalding hot and we could not even put our feet in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Clean, cozy, and relaxed.

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: The smallness of it. Only 8 rooms in the main house and some outlying cabins. Bed was firm and comfortable.
Cons: Breakfast included yogurt, oj, and a breakfast cookie left in our rooms (which was nice). Could use a few more options, including a protein.
Location: There isn't much right around the inn but it was a good starting point for a challenging road ride. Lots of up and down. Not for beginners.
In keeping with the vibe of the island, Deer Harbor Inn offers a quaint and quiet option for relaxation. Not swanky and not schleppy, it was a perfect blend of clean and comfortable. Great starting point for exploring the island by road bike. Not for beginners as bike lanes are marginal at best and the terrain is hilly. We climbed nearly 5,000 ft over 49 miles (including Mt. Constitution). Restaurant at the Inn is pleasant and food was good. Also recommend heading into East Sound for the "town" experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Loved Orcas Island!

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Loved walk to the marina. Good location
We stayed two nights in a lodge room. very clean and comfortable. Could have used a bit more for breakfast, but overall an excellent stay among beautiful grounds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Very quiet and nice. The breakfast was nice. The toliet ran. It rained and water was dripping out of bathroom vent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Stevens, WA

Nice Stay

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Location, Location, Location
Cons: Ceramic Coffee Cups
Location: Close enough to everything on the island, and very quiet.
We found our way to the resort easily with good directions from the owners. The rooms in the Lodge are a bit on the small side, very clean and quite comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta Canada

Accessible only by car.

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: The hotel room was clean and they provided breakfast in a basket in the room (equipped with a refrigerator) which was adequate.
Cons: They definitely need a reliable shuttle service to and from the marina.
Location: Location is remote however, they have a restaurant on site that is excellent. I would not recommend this hotel for families.
After booking this hotel, I called to arrange transportation from the marina as we would not have a car. The owner assured me that someone would come down to pick us up. When we arrived and I called, she sounded annoyed and said her husband was sleeping. He did drive down to the marina and pick us up and thankfully was very pleasant. The owners/manager were not accessible - just a phone number to call if you needed anything. In the meantime, to meet with our friends on their boat, we walked the 1/2 mile back and forth several times. When we were leaving to return to the marina (with our luggage) we called the number posted and had to leave a message for a shuttle ride. We waited for awhile but as there didn't appear to be anyone in sight, I asked the cleaning staff if they could help. She informed me the owner/manager were at church. We were fortunate that she was able to accommodate us with a ride, from another employee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Embraces the Orcas vibe

Posted Sep 1, 2014
My wife and I stayed here for a few days while visiting the San Juans. As noted by other reviewers the check-in is a bag with your key. We didn't see any staff during our stay and that was fine with us. We didn't need anything and rooms got refreshed each day while we were out. We appreciate the unobtrusive staff. The rooms, while not fancy, are well appointed with bed, couch, small table and the kitchenette. The private hot tub worked great as well. The breakfast each day was perfect for us, couple of hard boiled eggs, yogurt, granola, toast, coffee and fruit. Again not fancy, but a perfect light breakfast. We were out and about most of the day exploring the island but our room was made up each day while we were gone and the evenings were quiet even though most of the other cabins were booked. We didn't try the restaurant as we were interested in other places on the island. The cabins are great, the service is low key and effective.....I would return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Simple, beautiful retreat.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: The simplicity and remote-ness. The rest of the island is still accessible by car, but there are fewer people on this side of the island.
Cons: Nothing, I will come back to this hotel again.
Location: Deer Harbor Inn sits inland/up the hill from the harbor and is West of West Sound on the island; opposite side from many of the tourist attractions.
I vacationed on the island for a long weekend to attend a friend's wedding. I've previously stayed, dock-side in Deer Harbor and decided to give the Deer Harbor Inn a try. The rooms in the log cabin lodge are clean, there is a (singular) VOIP phone in the lodge and wireless internet service. A very light breakfast is provided via a picnic basket in the rooms and milk/orange juice in a mini fridge. There are very few staff on hand. I caught the evening ferry from Anacortes and found a bag in the hotel office with my name, the room key, and some island/tourism info. Other than the staff cleaning rooms (who were courteous), I saw almost no one who worked for the hotel. Checkout involved leaving my key in a stand next to the door of the lodge. I will likely stay here again but if you're looking for a more modern hotel experience, the closet you'll get is in East Sound or Rosario. Note: Wildlife abounds; I drove the 10 miles back to the hotel from various wedding events (in East Sound village) late each night and counted well over 20 deer along the roads each trip. There were also a half dozen or so wild rabbits on the hotel grounds. Orcas Island is the largest of the San Juan Islands, but it still takes 20-30 minutes to cross on winding scenic roads. There is no reliable cell reception on the West-side of the island and if you travel to the North-side, you get cell towers in Canada.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and secluded-

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Had a very nice easy, quiet and relaxing time. Love the added extras of breakfast goodies. Very clean and. Comfortable rooms. Staff very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonds wa

first time on orcas

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Location: really enjoyed a trip to top of mt constitution. this is a must see for any of you flatlanders.
the room was very clean and mattress was firm not saggy like a cheap place. only minor complaint was office was not manned very much and had to call manager on the phone for extra towels etc, very quiet. only noise were the deer and rabbits walking around in the backyard. since the grass was green and soft the noise was like zero on the decibel scale.