Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, Alberta Canada

Accessible only by car.

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: The hotel room was clean and they provided breakfast in a basket in the room (equipped with a refrigerator) which was adequate.
Cons: They definitely need a reliable shuttle service to and from the marina.
Location: Location is remote however, they have a restaurant on site that is excellent. I would not recommend this hotel for families.
After booking this hotel, I called to arrange transportation from the marina as we would not have a car. The owner assured me that someone would come down to pick us up. When we arrived and I called, she sounded annoyed and said her husband was sleeping. He did drive down to the marina and pick us up and thankfully was very pleasant. The owners/manager were not accessible - just a phone number to call if you needed anything. In the meantime, to meet with our friends on their boat, we walked the 1/2 mile back and forth several times. When we were leaving to return to the marina (with our luggage) we called the number posted and had to leave a message for a shuttle ride. We waited for awhile but as there didn't appear to be anyone in sight, I asked the cleaning staff if they could help. She informed me the owner/manager were at church. We were fortunate that she was able to accommodate us with a ride, from another employee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Embraces the Orcas vibe

Posted Sep 1, 2014
My wife and I stayed here for a few days while visiting the San Juans. As noted by other reviewers the check-in is a bag with your key. We didn't see any staff during our stay and that was fine with us. We didn't need anything and rooms got refreshed each day while we were out. We appreciate the unobtrusive staff. The rooms, while not fancy, are well appointed with bed, couch, small table and the kitchenette. The private hot tub worked great as well. The breakfast each day was perfect for us, couple of hard boiled eggs, yogurt, granola, toast, coffee and fruit. Again not fancy, but a perfect light breakfast. We were out and about most of the day exploring the island but our room was made up each day while we were gone and the evenings were quiet even though most of the other cabins were booked. We didn't try the restaurant as we were interested in other places on the island. The cabins are great, the service is low key and effective.....I would return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Simple, beautiful retreat.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: The simplicity and remote-ness. The rest of the island is still accessible by car, but there are fewer people on this side of the island.
Cons: Nothing, I will come back to this hotel again.
Location: Deer Harbor Inn sits inland/up the hill from the harbor and is West of West Sound on the island; opposite side from many of the tourist attractions.
I vacationed on the island for a long weekend to attend a friend's wedding. I've previously stayed, dock-side in Deer Harbor and decided to give the Deer Harbor Inn a try. The rooms in the log cabin lodge are clean, there is a (singular) VOIP phone in the lodge and wireless internet service. A very light breakfast is provided via a picnic basket in the rooms and milk/orange juice in a mini fridge. There are very few staff on hand. I caught the evening ferry from Anacortes and found a bag in the hotel office with my name, the room key, and some island/tourism info. Other than the staff cleaning rooms (who were courteous), I saw almost no one who worked for the hotel. Checkout involved leaving my key in a stand next to the door of the lodge. I will likely stay here again but if you're looking for a more modern hotel experience, the closet you'll get is in East Sound or Rosario. Note: Wildlife abounds; I drove the 10 miles back to the hotel from various wedding events (in East Sound village) late each night and counted well over 20 deer along the roads each trip. There were also a half dozen or so wild rabbits on the hotel grounds. Orcas Island is the largest of the San Juan Islands, but it still takes 20-30 minutes to cross on winding scenic roads. There is no reliable cell reception on the West-side of the island and if you travel to the North-side, you get cell towers in Canada.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and secluded-

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Had a very nice easy, quiet and relaxing time. Love the added extras of breakfast goodies. Very clean and. Comfortable rooms. Staff very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom edmonds wa

first time on orcas

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Location: really enjoyed a trip to top of mt constitution. this is a must see for any of you flatlanders.
the room was very clean and mattress was firm not saggy like a cheap place. only minor complaint was office was not manned very much and had to call manager on the phone for extra towels etc, very quiet. only noise were the deer and rabbits walking around in the backyard. since the grass was green and soft the noise was like zero on the decibel scale.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Selah, WA

Nice cabin

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The king size bed and hot tub were great.
Location: Deer Harbor has a little store that has great breakfast for a reasonable price. Parking is a little tough with a full size truck - any where on the i
We enjoyed our stay at Deer Harbor. We had a cabin for our family vacation. We have one teenage son. We really liked the high dollar king bed and the hot tub. We were able to make our dinner one night with the local seafood and charcoal barbeque. We did enjoy a fantastic dinner at the Deer Harbor restaurant one evening. (definately need reservations for the restaurant).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Clean, cute, friendly, helpful staff, and very much for the independent traveller! Do it yourself check in and check out, as well as breakfast. I liked being able to do things on my own time. Also in a great location, right outside of Deer Harbor and on the shuttle bus route. Great experience, overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good price, close to Ocean

Posted May 27, 2014
We stayed in the lodge which was private, clean, and quiet. Nothing fancy, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a beautiful view of the trees & ocean. It felt like a getaway.
2 out of 5
by Danielfrom Seattle

Our Stay

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: If we were here during the summer it was close to the Marina. We stayed in one of the cabins a year ago and it was much nicer.
Cons: Wi-Fi could be much better.
Location: Everything was quite a distance away.
Our room was not very clean. It had a previous tenants ice cream bar in our refrigerator that was melted and stuck. The carpet felt dirty on our bare feet. The electric fire place was very noisy and the electric heat was also noisy and kept us from sleeping at night. The noise from the other rooms in the lodge was terrible, you could hear conversations and showers. The Wi-Fi was terrible and did not work much of the time.The location was quite a distance to anything we wanted to do.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Little hard to find in the dark.

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Motel set up as lodges and a little hard to find in the dark. No desk clerk, walk in grab a bag with your name on it. The bag contained directions to the unit and a couple mini candy bars. The unit was clean and orderly but smelled heavily of mold or mildew. Had it not been so late when we arrived we would have demanded a refund and searched for another hotel.