Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: I liked the fact it had a microwave and fridge in room
Cons: More mirrors
The front desk wasn't overly friendly but the room was nicely updated. The hotel doesn't look like much on outside but rooms are nice. close enough to walk to town, so that was nice!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Sol, Hotel Management
Many thanks for the 4-Star rating you gave us. Much appreciated! Hope to see you again sometime in San Luis Obispo.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nutley, NJ

Disappointing considering how expensive it was.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: The bed was very comfortable.
Cons: Change the name to give an honest description of the place such as: Marsh Street Motel.
Location: It was walkable to the downtown area which has many restaurants & shops. We loved Big Sky Cafe!
We were expecting an Inn in Downtown San Luis Obispo. What arrived at was a motel on the outskirts of town...still walkable to downtown. The room was a basic room with no extras. The bed was very comfortable & the room was old but clean. We stayed 2 nights because we had a no cancellation reservation. I would not do that again unless I had a personal recommendation from someone about the facility. There was a complimentary breakfast of which we chose not to partake. We were on the second floor of an outside walkup. Kind of tough when having so much luggage. We were in California for 2 weeks & this is where we started our vacation. If you want a nothing special place this one is for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2014 by Sol, Hotel Management
We appreciate your posting, Mary. We try to learn from everyone's feedback. Sorry to hear that your experience was less than sterling. We look forward to seeing you again in San Luis O. and to being of better service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic for the cost and location.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Great location, easy walk to SLO. Other budget friendly hotels are opposite side of town and not within walking distance. Very clean updated room. Good water pressure. Request an end unit for more privacy since this is old motel style where doors open to outside walkway and people can walk right by your main window. Breakfast was minimal, would have liked yogurt and fruit other than apples - but really it was nice to have anything at all included in such a low price. Microwave and fridge in room which was great, but no coffee maker (although coffee provided in breakfast room). Oddly no alarm clock provided or cup in bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2014 by Sol, Hotel Management
Many, many thanks for your kind words and for the high rating you gave us. We look forward to seeing you again soon in San Luis Obispo!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from MN

Good for one or two nights

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Very clean room and bathroom. Very Comfortable bed. Cable selection.
Cons: Breakfast was limited. Could use some upgrade in selection.
Location: Downtown SLO!
We needed a place to stay in SLO for the night. The price was right. We were a little worried about staying at a Motel. We felt very safe, the room and bath were clean and updated. However, the room was small. Not somewhere that you would want to hangout together for very long. Just a nice place to stay for one night maybe two nights max. We would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Sol, Hotel Management
Thanks, Steve, for the kind words you posted. Much appreciated! We look forward to seeing you in San Luis Obispo again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2014
The amenities in or room were clean and new. However, we were placed in a downstairs room which seemed fine at first. Then the creaking (very loud and annoying) of the floor in the room above us began and continued off and on through the night with the last series waking us at 2:30 am for the third time. The office closes at night and regardless of that, who wants to get up in the middle of the night and deal with an issue such as this. It is very unfortunate, and extremely shortsighted, that the owners did not take the extra step of fixing the old floors prior to installing all new carpets etc. we will not be back and will not recommend this "inn" to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Sol, Hotel Management
Thanks for your posting on the Expedia site. We try to learn from all of them, and we hope we'll see you again sometime in San Luis Obispo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super nice hotel for the best deal in town!

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Very Comfortable stay at this location. Walking distance to DT SLO. Great price!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2014 by Sol, Hotel Management
Thanks for the 5-Star rating and the kind words. Very much appreciated! We look forward to seeing you again in San Luis Obispo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Living on the edge...of town

Posted Jul 11, 2014
This is a cute little motel. The room looked recently refurbished. Very clean and modern inside. Typical motel look outside. Free breakfast is always a plus. Walking distance to everything in SLO. The only negative was that in the two queen room, the beds are in two separate areas, so my poor nephew did not feel any of the air con and had a rough sleep. Also, it is literally right next to 101 freeway, so if you're a light sleeper it might be a bit noisy. Great choice for a one night stop.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2014 by Sol, Hotel Management
Thanks, B, for the 4-Star rating and the other positive words. We look forward to seeing you again in San Luis Obispo!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2014 by Sol, Hotel Management
Many thanks, B, for the 4-Star rating you gave us. Much appreciated! We look forward to seeing you in San Luis Obispo again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle/Shanghai

Nice but unlucky placement.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
We had a good stay at the Avenue Inn. It was very true to the reviews; clean, newly renovated, great location. However, I don't know why, but we were placed in the room immediately adjacent to the house keeping and laundry. We didn't mean to spend a lot of time in our room so I didn't ask to be moved, but were we to come again, I certainly would ask NOT to be place here!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2014 by Sol, Hotel Management
Thanks, Beachglass, for your kind words and the 4-Star rating. Let us know when you'll be staying with us again, and we'll be sure to assign you a room toward the west end (where things are at their quietest). Best summertime wishes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Staff not friendly. They wanted to gouge me for a full night charge for a couple extra hours late checkout despite the fact it was obviously not fully booked for the night. I left to pay a full night at another local hotel rather than give $ to unfriendly staff that would take advantage of an opportunity.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2014 by Sol, Hotel Management
We appreciate what you posted --- and that we still ranked a 3-Star rating! We want to learn from every guest and from every experience --- aimed at making the Avenue Inn a better place. Best summertime wishes from 345 Marsh Street, SLO.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Nicely renovated motel! Rooms are small but very modern and comfortable. Great location!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2014 by Sol, Hotel Management
Your 5-Star rating is greatly appreciated. Many thanks! We look forward to seeing you again in San Luis Obispo.