Ratings based on 336 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not suitable for kids

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Hotel did not properly represent room capacity. We indicated that we were traveling with children and needed to fit three to each room, but when we arrived they offered us an inflatible mattress - not acceptable for the price. Night staff was extremely apologetic and helpful, but manager was did not follow through on promises.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very cozy and friendly

Posted Jul 28, 2014
The staff were very welcoming and friendly. There were several nice touches, such as a welcome reception with wine and snacks (complementary).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County

Best HOTEL in Avila beach!

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: The happy hour, fresh pie and the room. Full kitchen- even though we didn't use it. Double sinks and bathtub was wonderful.
Cons: Not very much counter space in bathroom.
Location: beach and all restaurants were a block away!
From the complimentary gift basket, wine glasses, happy hour, fresh pie, nachos to the proximity of the beach and all restaurants this hotel was awesome! We could not have asked for anything more. If you want to be pampered and relaxed this is the place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, Ca.

Close to the beach

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Easy walk to the beach.
Cons: Front desk service was not very helpful.
Our room was right above the driveway to the parking garage so we didn't feel like we could really open our door for the fresh air or enjoy the balcony. So the room felt pretty stuffy. It probably would have been better to have a room on the second floor. Internet access was very sporadic Nightly hors d'ouevres were a nice touch as was the pie after dinner.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

This is not a resort

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: It was clean
Cons: hange the advertisements to accurately describe what is, Lower the price.
Location: It is 2 blacks from the ocean with no view. You can walk to the ocean and the main street. There are no restaurants on site.
We paid over $450 for a room to accomodate 3 people. We had a murphy bed and fold out couch in a room so small that they barely fit. The hotel is located on a quarter of a city block bounded on all sides by streets and a parking lot. The Mexican architecture is tacky add on stuff. Way over priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

nice place

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Great hotel. Although a bit pricey it's only one short block to the beach. The staff are very helpful and nice. Hotel has beach chairs,boogie boards , towels, and coolers that you can take to the beach at no charge!!! The happy hour with wine from local growers is excellent and free as are amenities. We will go back for sure!
3 out of 5
by Joyce from Seattle

Over priced....

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Most of staff didn't greet when they saw guest on the corridor and coffee & snack area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by CC from California

Birthday at Avila La Fonda

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
My sister and I checked in for an overnight stay to celebrate our birthdays. The staff was attentive and amzingly friendly and laid back. I noted in my reservation that this was a birthday celebration and they had a huge piece of delicious chocolate cake waiting for us in the fridge. This hotel supassed any expectations listed in previous reviews. Clearly the hotel is oriented toward the guest and enhancing their experience. The B, L D and Dessert snacks were awesome, the beach chairs and umbrellas were like new and the towels, both in the room and for the beach, were the most amazingly plush towels I ever used! In my opinion, this was one of the most hotel experiences I can remember having.