Ratings based on 383 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cherokee

Beautiful suite hotel right on beach front

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Size of the rooms, amenities, closeness to beach and shopping.
Cons: It is slightly pricey
Location: Farmers market with live music, shopping, restaurants.
Beautiful suite hotel right on beautiful Avila beach. Suites are roomy, modern with little extra amenities. Excellent bed, with roomy patio. Double sinks in the bathroom. Small utility sink in one of the suite rooms, with microwave and refrigerator. Great pool with plenty of seating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Phil from West Sacramento

Always a pleasure.

Posted May 19, 2014
This hotel is perfect for young families who just want to relax. The suite let us get some space from the kids since they have their own bed and tv in a different room. The entire property is clean and quiet for the exception of a few kids in the pool. The free continental breakfast always helps the wallet out before we hit the beach which is just across the street. The entire beach community is friendly and Friday nights the farmers market is fun with live music. I would recommend this hotel. The only caveat I have is that there is not a lot of nightlife in this community but with little ones in tow that was not an issue for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a Great Place!

Posted May 17, 2014
Pros: The view, the staff, the room, how clean the room and the entire inn was, and the covered parking.
Location: Avila Beach is a little place with a handful of restaurants and shops. Pismo and SLO is close by.
We came up for one night just to check out Avila Beach. We picked the Lighthouse suites due to the pictures of the room and reviews on several sites. We weren't disappointed. Probably one of the best rooms we've ever stayed at and we've been on 39 little trips in the past five years. The Inn is very charming, the staff was terrific, and the room was very roomy, clean, and tastefully decorated. The view from the oceanfront room was superb and we could relax on the balcony while looking at the ocean all day. The room comes with free wifi, two tv's, a fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, ipod/ipad compatible alarm clock and a separate room with a sofa. There is also covered parking as well. Complimentary continental breakfast is also included. Pretty much what you find at the chain hotels, cereal, pastries, waffle maker, fruit, hard boiled eggs, choice of four fruit juices, yogurt and coffee. You can't complain about that. The only drawback I can see is the oceanfront rooms sit about a very busy part of the beach with people trying to find parking. It was busy for a Thursday in May so I can only imagine it during the height of summer on a weekend. However, by nightfall, it all calmed down and it were able to have a great night's sleep listening to the waves crashing on the comfy king size bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by joannethev from California

Great Location

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: The all suite rooms
Cons: better, softer, bigger bath towels
Location: San Luis Obispo 10 miles away
Nice rooms, great location. Perfect for an overnighter with your kids
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by d from scotland

nice hotel - great views

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: rooms, location & view
Cons: provide crockery and cutlery
This hotel is a really nice place to stay and in a beautiful location, right on the beach. One small complaint is that despite having kitchen facilities in your room, there is no cutlery or crockery.......only paper and plastic. Which for $240 a night, was poor. Otherwise, I'd recommend it
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2014 by Kyli, Hotel Management
First, we’d like to thank you for taking the time to review our property. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed the room and were able to take in the magnificent view of our beachfront location. In an effort to contribute to water conservation during this time of draught on California's central coast, we have temporarily provided each suite with compostable paper products verses reusable glassware to decrease the amount of water we are using on our property. However, we do have glassware available to our guests upon request. Again, thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback, and we hope to see you again very soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Great location! Very roomy although the pull-out bed itself was a bit small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Baker Family from Fresno, CA

Great family/work getaway!

Posted Apr 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Was great only wish we would have had more time. Will definitely be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Kyli, Hotel Management
Thank you, Baker family! We cannot wait to see you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by simbar from Sydney, Australia

Whoops Moment

Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
We opened the door to "our" room to find it was already occupied! The staff immediately organised a better room; views of the ocean etc. we had space, comfort and even breakfast was included!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Kyli, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to hear that there was a mishap within the room assignments in our computer system, and assure you that this was a very rare and unforseen occurance. Our staff is very well equipped to quickly find solutions, and I am happy to hear that they performed well during your stay. It is our priority that our guests have the best possible stay, so we hope to welcome you back again soon for another relaxing getaway in adorable Avila Beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mary from Livermore

Best Place to stay in Avila Beach!

Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
To be honest I was a bit nervous after booking this hotel. I am a bit of a hotel snob but couldn't pass up the price for what looked like a great location. Well, to my surprise I was so impressed. We had a fabulous room/suite, it was perfect for my family of four. Separate room for parents is always a bonus! We had ocean and pool view from our room and the location to the beautiful quaint town of Avila Beach was absolutely the best. My two tween/teen girls loved it!!! We plan to be back real soon. Only downside is there is no room service but the continental breakfast included in the rate was one of the best I have experienced. Very nice!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Kyli, Hotel Management
Thank you, Mary, for the glowing review you have provided about our hotel! We are a very family-friendly property and we are pleased to hear that you and yours enjoyed your time here. Our location in Avila Beach offers the perfect combination of a quaint town with a variety of different restaurants and activities, all along our beautiful beach. As an all-suties property, we are able to provide a bedroom and living area within each suite, perfect for the vacationing family. Thank you again, and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back for another stay with us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Stacy from glendale, ca

wonderful!

Posted Mar 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a great time! The beach was just yards away and it was beautiful and secluded. Then we just crossed back over the street and rinsed off at their outdoor shower because hoping in the heated pool. Loved having two separate rooms so the kids could hang out and watch tv. My only suggestion would be to go to Pismo or SLO for dinner. The restaurants on the boardwalk were too fancy and expensive for a family of 8!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2014 by Kyli, Hotel Management
Thank you for the recent review of your stay with us at the Avila Lighthouse Suites. We are happy to have been a part of your family's vacation in the quaint town of Avila Beach, and love hearing that you enjoyed all we have to offer in town and on property. We hope to see you again very soon! Sincerely, Kyli Frauenheim Front Desk Manager