Ratings based on 380 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cherokee

Beautiful suite hotel right on beach front

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Size of the rooms, amenities, closeness to beach and shopping.
Cons: It is slightly pricey
Location: Farmers market with live music, shopping, restaurants.
Beautiful suite hotel right on beautiful Avila beach. Suites are roomy, modern with little extra amenities. Excellent bed, with roomy patio. Double sinks in the bathroom. Small utility sink in one of the suite rooms, with microwave and refrigerator. Great pool with plenty of seating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Phil from West Sacramento

Always a pleasure.

Posted May 19, 2014
This hotel is perfect for young families who just want to relax. The suite let us get some space from the kids since they have their own bed and tv in a different room. The entire property is clean and quiet for the exception of a few kids in the pool. The free continental breakfast always helps the wallet out before we hit the beach which is just across the street. The entire beach community is friendly and Friday nights the farmers market is fun with live music. I would recommend this hotel. The only caveat I have is that there is not a lot of nightlife in this community but with little ones in tow that was not an issue for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a Great Place!

Posted May 17, 2014
Pros: The view, the staff, the room, how clean the room and the entire inn was, and the covered parking.
Location: Avila Beach is a little place with a handful of restaurants and shops. Pismo and SLO is close by.
We came up for one night just to check out Avila Beach. We picked the Lighthouse suites due to the pictures of the room and reviews on several sites. We weren't disappointed. Probably one of the best rooms we've ever stayed at and we've been on 39 little trips in the past five years. The Inn is very charming, the staff was terrific, and the room was very roomy, clean, and tastefully decorated. The view from the oceanfront room was superb and we could relax on the balcony while looking at the ocean all day. The room comes with free wifi, two tv's, a fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, ipod/ipad compatible alarm clock and a separate room with a sofa. There is also covered parking as well. Complimentary continental breakfast is also included. Pretty much what you find at the chain hotels, cereal, pastries, waffle maker, fruit, hard boiled eggs, choice of four fruit juices, yogurt and coffee. You can't complain about that. The only drawback I can see is the oceanfront rooms sit about a very busy part of the beach with people trying to find parking. It was busy for a Thursday in May so I can only imagine it during the height of summer on a weekend. However, by nightfall, it all calmed down and it were able to have a great night's sleep listening to the waves crashing on the comfy king size bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by joannethev from California

Great Location

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: The all suite rooms
Cons: better, softer, bigger bath towels
Location: San Luis Obispo 10 miles away
Nice rooms, great location. Perfect for an overnighter with your kids
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by d from scotland

nice hotel - great views

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: rooms, location & view
Cons: provide crockery and cutlery
This hotel is a really nice place to stay and in a beautiful location, right on the beach. One small complaint is that despite having kitchen facilities in your room, there is no cutlery or crockery.......only paper and plastic. Which for $240 a night, was poor. Otherwise, I'd recommend it
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2014 by Kyli, Hotel Management
First, we’d like to thank you for taking the time to review our property. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed the room and were able to take in the magnificent view of our beachfront location. In an effort to contribute to water conservation during this time of draught on California's central coast, we have temporarily provided each suite with compostable paper products verses reusable glassware to decrease the amount of water we are using on our property. However, we do have glassware available to our guests upon request. Again, thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback, and we hope to see you again very soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Great location! Very roomy although the pull-out bed itself was a bit small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Stacy from glendale, ca

wonderful!

Posted Mar 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a great time! The beach was just yards away and it was beautiful and secluded. Then we just crossed back over the street and rinsed off at their outdoor shower because hoping in the heated pool. Loved having two separate rooms so the kids could hang out and watch tv. My only suggestion would be to go to Pismo or SLO for dinner. The restaurants on the boardwalk were too fancy and expensive for a family of 8!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2014 by Kyli, Hotel Management
Thank you for the recent review of your stay with us at the Avila Lighthouse Suites. We are happy to have been a part of your family's vacation in the quaint town of Avila Beach, and love hearing that you enjoyed all we have to offer in town and on property. We hope to see you again very soon! Sincerely, Kyli Frauenheim Front Desk Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Wonderful place

Posted Mar 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Altogether a great find. Excellent location within a quaint semi-undiscovered town. Great balance between stuff for kids (beach, pool, ping-pong, large-sized checkers, basketball court, playground) and parents (nearby wine tasting rooms, a few restaurants, golf). Short drive to Pismo, San Luis Obispo. Staff was exceptionally kind to go out of their way to help us resolve emergency issues we had (totally not their problem)...I travel a lot and rarely come across this kind of service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2014 by Kyli, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us from you recent stay. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed everything about your visit, from our beautiful location to the exceptional staff interaction. We, as a team, at the Avila Lighthouse Suites strive to exceed all of our guest’s expectations and we are extremely pleased to hear that we did so with you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Take care, Kyli Frauenheim Front Desk Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chris from Berkeley, CA

Great hotel close to beach & restaurants

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: It was very clean and quiet, yet was close to lots of things to do.
Cons: Our only complaint was that we couldn't access HBO one night, but hotel staff said they are in the process of getting a new cable carrier.
Location: Lovely location -- close to the beach, shops and restaurants.
We wanted to relax and this was the perfect place to do it. Hotel was just across the street from the beach. We watched the sunset on both nights, then were able to walk to nearby restaurants. We loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert

Close to beach and golf

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Located on the beach walk and across from Avila beach golf course. Walk to beach shops, coffee and restaurants. Staff is cordial and accommodating. Fun and relaxing get away.