Ratings based on 823 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Very comfortable but out of the way!

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Beautiful too with a comfortable bed,
Location: Out of the way.
Very comfortable rooms, beautiful lobby and friendly staff. My only negative comment really had nothing to do with the facility itself but rather, where it is. It is not on the beach. To be fair it is not walking distance to the beach either. You need a car to get to the beach. You need a car to get anywhere from this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice place,

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Staff members were very helpful , I will be staying there again soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Really loced the facility

Posted Feb 7, 2015
My family stayed there one night on ourway to san fransisco. We all loved the room and the bathroom. Interior is updated and there is a fireplace in the room. It doesn't make the room stuffy but warm over the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Clovis, CA

Secluded Getaway.

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: The hot tube, oversized shower and fireplace.
Cons: The continental breakfast could be improved fresh baked goods would help.
Location: Avila Beach is beautiful with wonderful places to eat. The Morro Creek Ranch is a short drive if you want to get some Avocados.
The Avila Village Inn is nestled among the trees in a picturesque environment. Surprisingly the trail that runs behind the Inn is a scenic walk to Avila Beach (1.7 miles) and for the more adventurist and fit you can go to Shell Beach on that same trail (2.7 miles). The Spa access that is included in the stay is amazing as it has not only a weight room and a cardiac room but they have a pool table and ping pong table as well as tennis courts. They also have a childrens pool and adult lap pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Inn

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Our room was very nice and we didn't want to leave.
Location: Avila Beach just down the road with many shops, eateries, bars, and of course the beautiful ocean view. Walks on the beach are a must.
The Inn is very lovely as are the surrounding grounds. It is also very close to Avila Beach but in a very quiet area. We enjoyed relaxing in our room as it was cozy, beautifully decorated, and comfortable. We plan to stay again as soon as we can get another break from our busy work schedules.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Location was beautiful.
Cons: Staff attitude.
Had reserved two rooms. Arrived early and was told my rooms would not be ready until 4 pm because they were so busy. When I showed my Expedia reservation said check in was at 3 pm, they said they had changed their check in time and Expedia was not cooperating. When we returned at 4 pm, we had to wait until 510 pm to get the room because it was not clean. The second room was not available until 730 pm. Staff was not friendly or apologetic. Next morning, I spoke to staff at check out and was told the GM was not available but would call me. 4 days later and no call. Other guests seemed on edge. Perhaps they had a similar experience. Many lovely places to stay in area. Avoid this one if you can.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles CA

A hidden treasure! Quiet and centrally located

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: The décor, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, 24 hour beverage bar, Continental breakfast & friendly staff.
Location: Avila beach is down the road. Wine tasting (free with coupon) golf, spas, local farmers market, close to SLO. Love this location!
We were pleasantly surprised as the photos don't do this hidden gem justice! The décor is Craftsman style and very cozy. The main fireplace was welcoming and loved the fireplace in our room as well. We will definitely return next year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy and relaxing

Posted Dec 26, 2014
We decided to stay at the Avila Village Inn on Christmas Eve. The inn was so beautifully decorated and welcoming. We enjoyed the cracking fireplace in the lobby, and took full advantage of the complimentary hot tea and coffee. The night staff was incredibly kind. The following morning we decided to take a bike ride. The inn is right next to the Bob Jones trail, so we decided to rent bikes from the inn. We were told bike rental would be free since the bikes were in poor condition. When we went outside to grab a pair of bikes we noticed a new set of mountain bikes. The inn staffperson told us she didn't know where the key was to those bikes and we'd have to take the old beach cruisers. Upon starting our adventure with a pair of beach cruisers, it became apparent that they really needed to make nicer bikes available to guests. One of the bikes had bent front and back wheels, and was difficult to ride. That was our only complaint. All menial stuff set aside, this stay was wonderful and we'd do it again in a heartbeat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sacramento, ca

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Clean, inviting rooms and lobby. Location to walking, biking trail was a big plus for pets as this is a pet friendly hotel.
We arrived after a big storm and the hotel was w/o power. We returned 3 hrs later after dinner. Power had been restored to full function but because of the length of the powe outage, they had to toss all the breakfast supplies. Sadly, no effort was made to re-supply during our stay. I would have thought this would be a priority.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Water shortage or staff shortage?

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: It has a homey feeling and is surface clean.
Cons: I haven't witnesses any deep cleaning like vaccuming.
Location: Gr8 location with Pismo, Avila, Morro Bay, Cambria and SLO nearby for excursions with plenty of food choices and price ranges.
We asked for more towels (stayed 3 days 2 nights)> Used towels were not picked up and replaced. We have stayed there 4 times, and quality has seemed to have dropped a bit. The room is always the same room # when we use Exredia.