Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location was perfect and loved Morro Bay

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: it was just fine as it was
Location: see my experience, it's full of ideas. add had dinner at some cute Rock and Roll place with fabulous live music on the water
Arrived in Morro Bay assuming our hotel was located off the beaten track but it's right in the thick of it, absolutely perfect. Walked out the door and a 1 minute walk we were downtown with all the restaurants and shops. We woke up and grabbed a danish at Buns and something shop then across the street we rented Kayaks ad paddle boards. We saw sea otters who swam right next to us with their babies on there chest. I can't wait to go back and I will definitely stay at this Breakers, a gem for sure. Please don't expect a Marriott or Hyatt here just a beachy easy going hotel, clean and comfy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sierra Madre

Get away from it all

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: Location... Just a short walk to the water, shops and restaurants.
Cons: Continental breakfast
Location: Moro Bay is a quiet little town with gift shops, antique stores, and other fun stuff to do (including the rock itself).
Nice room, great location... Wifi, HBO, fridge, Microwave... The continental breakfast was (as most are) rather lackluster... Had a great time overall recharging my batteries.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

Disappointing

Posted Mar 26, 2015
The hotel is not value for money if you get a 1st floor room (for almost half the money, I have stayed at much better places). Also the person at reception told me that the bookings via expedia are usually allotted 1st floor (because they are discounted). If you do book, call the hotel and make sure you get a room on 2nd or 3rd floor. You do get a good view of the Morro rock from 2nd and 3rd floors, nothing spectacular though. Also please keep in mind, the hotel is NOT within walking distance from the Morro rock. I had a bad experience while staying at this hotel; here's why: 1. I booked using expedia and was allotted 1st floor room. There is absolutely no view from 1st floor room. 2. The room had paper-thin walls and I could clearly hear people outside and in our adjacent room. 3. In the morning, our toilet got stuck! 4. Continental breakfast is a joke (well that's usually the case with a lot of places!) Hope this helps.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CA

It's a dump!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Renovations. It looks like it hasn't gotten a makeover in at least 20 years. Carpets were disgusting and the bed was lumpy and sunken in.
Location: Location very close to ocean. Great location for fishing, shopping and eating. It wasn't cheap so it's worth the money to go somewhere much cleaner.
Paid for a king size bed and got a queen. Coffee pot still had old grinds in it. Ceiling fan had like an inch of dust on it.It was just filthy! The staff were pleasant and that was the only good thing about it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bakersfield CA

Good Location

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: The location was good with great views of the Morro Rock and Harbor
We enjoyed our stay. The property is a bit dated, but everything was clean and well kept. Very well located. We parked at the hotel and walked to restaurants and shops while we were there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very clean and well maintained older motel

Posted Mar 8, 2015
This motel is close to the waterfront and very close to downtown. We were looking for a good price during the week off season and were very please to stay here for an affordable price and a very well maintained motel centrally located in Morro Bay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Silviofrom Raleigh, NC

Close to the beach

Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The beach and harbor was within walking distance. The motel is dated but appropriate for the price. The bed was not the best but I was able to sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Paulafrom ON CAN

Great Location

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Large room, clean, bed was hard. There was no air conditioning, there was a ceiling fan, but the windows were fairly small and the drapes stop the breeze. Hot tub was nice but the pool was cold. Great location, close to board walk and could hear the seals at night. In the evening I could not get hot water for quite a while.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Barryfrom Los Angeles

A Letdown

Posted Aug 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
I am not a critical person (usually forgiving and accommodating) and I usually don't write reviews. But breakers Motel was a letdown. Hot water did not work at first. Wi-Fi was down. Refrigerator was leaking water and turned off when I arrived. Room had no air-conditioning as advertised. Staff was friendly and accommodating but understaffed. At checkout time, no one was at the desk. There was a sign saying "we are out on the property." I had to leave my key in a special dropbox. Luckily I was prepaid. I would stay here again if they fix those problems. If you're coming here for a place to sleep (like a camp out) and take off during the day, Breaker's is adequate. But if you're looking for a place where you can relax, unwind and enjoy - go elsewhere.