Ratings based on 632 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2014
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean and quaint. Our room was very spacious and we especially loved the very cozy king size bed! Thank you again for a great stay and a wonderful experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Must stay!!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Hotel is very nice!! The staff are very friendly & helpful. Spacious room. Huge jacuzzi tub! The beds are amazingly comfortable!! Will definitely stay here again when in the area again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Maria, CA

Lovely Stay

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, comfort.
Location: We highly recommend Hoover's Beef Palace for breakfast! Amazing and huge omelettes!
Lovely historical hotel close to the wedding venue. Friendly staff. Very comfortable and attractive room. Look forward to staying again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel I've ever stayed in!

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Beautiful, clean, and comfortable room. Nice rooftop to enjoy morning coffee.
Location: Only 30 minutes away from beach towns.
I was visiting Cayucos and wanted to get a nice hotel for the price I was paying at the coast. I decided that staying in Atascadero would be my best option and I certainly do not regret it! For the same price as a motel in a beach town, I got a beautiful hotel, lovely and helpful staff, and the most beautiful room with a comfortable bed and very spacious bathroom. Everything was extremely clean and comfortable. I felt like I was a high class traveler! I am definitely returning to this hotel, it is worth every penny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Gem!

Posted Aug 10, 2014
One of the nicest rooms for a bargain price. Stayed on our last vaca night, wish we were here first, we would have changed our trip. Much nicer then the hotels costing 2-3 times more.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dining room, bar/grill, cafe closed.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: The staff was excellent.
Cons: Expedia review must be updated /accurate!
Location: Shops were nice and the shop owners very pleasant!
We were extremely disappointed. We chose the Carlton based on Expedia's review only to find out all amenities were out of business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Charming with issues

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The hotel looked charming to me. Friendly
Cons: Fix the shower. Put the wake-up call on automatic. I had to wait quite a while to talk to the desk.
Location: I liked the location. The lady at the front desk gave me a good recommendation for a restaurant to eat breakfast.
I only was staying for 1 night. I liked the hotel. I would have given the hotel a 5, if it were not for two problems. The first was the tv. I tried for quite awhile to get the lower channels on the tv. I had no luck. I called the desk and they could not get the tv to get the lower channels. The lady at the desk said sorry. I asked if I could get another room. She said yes we have several rooms available. She went to another room and checked to see if this room could get the lower channels. It did, so she came to my room and gave me the new room's key I went to the new room and was happy that I could watch the channels that I wanted to watch. Before the show that I wanted to watch started, I repacked my belongings and I went down to the desk to return the keys to the first room. The lady at the desk was coming up the stairs. She asked me how I liked the room. I told her that I liked the tv, but the other room was better. She agreed. In the morning when I was going to take a shower the hand held sprayer was on a hook that was damaged. It was resting against the wall. When I tried to shower the water was running on the floor. After the shower, I had to use a couple of towels to clean up the water. While I was doing that I realized that maintenance put a triangular block of wood on the tub ledge to keep water from going out of the shower. They told me that there were several room available. Why not upgrade me instead of giving me a downgrade?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Location: We were there to go to go to the Mid-State Fair and wine tasting. The next day we drove into Morro Bay.
We had a wonderful stay and were nicely surprised by the wonderful large room. The bed and pillows were amazing. There was a little glitch the night we stayed in that the cable TV had gone out for the entire area which was no fault of the hotel. The staff, tried to do what they could and were quick to respond. The other item was a guest totally sank (flooded) his room so we were awaken by the emergency warning system and sounds of the fire truck. Again, though no fault of the hotel, the staff were very responsive and assuring. It will be perfect when they get someone in to run the restaurant and bar. As it was, our room and the staff was delightful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ventura, CA

Grand hotel reminiscent of early 1900's.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Although the actual building looks older, there is nothing musty or dilapidated about the place. Everything was very tidy and smelled clean and fresh. The bed was absolutely divine. Our stay didn't allow for much exploring of the hotel but that's okay because we will definitely be coming back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach. Ca

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Great place. Friendly staff. Good location right off the freeway. Rooms are big and very comfortable.