Ratings based on 796 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

Nice central hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Great room, great location
Location: Close to Morro By and Avila beach. Great place to stay and experience the surrounding sites, easy access on and off the highway
Travis the front desk person was an extra bonus for this trip offering helpful suggestions for where to go , eat. Travis THANK YOU. Lovely hotel, great location... Extremely fast WiFi ...that was free :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Valencia, CA

Nice Hotel not too far from San Luis Obispo

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Nice place with more character than most hotels.
Cons: Restaurant and café in the hotel were closed. Maybe there was not enough business for the restaurant, but an open café would have been nice.
Location: About 20 minutes from San Luis Obispo.
Stayed here for my son's graduation from Cal Poly when we couldn't find anything closer to San Luis Obispo. Very nice place. Rooms are nice decorated and very large, almost twice the size of a typical hotel room these days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!!

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Everything -- we were very impressed and comfortable.
Cons: Seriously nothing
What a delightful hotel. Impossible to describe what a charming, lovely and classy place to stay. Don't bypass. The staff was great, rooms immaculate and beautifully appointed -- a gem in the midst of California.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic property- well maintained

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Cons: The check-in process took some time and was not initially with the rate I had on Expedia.
This is a great property and very convenient for Highway 101 travelers. This was perhaps our favorite hotel as we traveled the "Spanish Mission Trail" in Northern California. My only regret is that we had only one night at the Carlton!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose,CA.

FLOW 2015.

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: We were booked into one of their suites, which was very convenient as a gathering for other flow members staying at the Hotel. We will return.
Cons: We were so moved by the Hotel and Staff that it is hard to suggest any changes.
Location: The Hotel is located in the most convenient to the Host couple for our FLOW tasting. We also, visited many wineries in the area.
We are members of a wine tasting group. Our group is Friday Lovers Of Wine ( FLOW). One of our members lives in Atascadero and was Hosting a wine tasting for our group. We will book this hotel again in about 2 years for another FLOW.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles CA

Very quiet location

Posted Jun 15, 2015
The pictures presented are misleading. I was expecting a piano bar type atmosphere and at 8 o'clock on Thursday, the bar wasn't even open. Maybe it's open on the weekends. The hotel and the room were attractive and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great character

Posted Jun 4, 2015
The room was very spacious, bed was the comfortable ever! Wish there was a lounge and perhaps bakery for coffee and treats
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The old world charm with updated rooms

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Beautiful charming hotel. Rooms were very spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2015
The beds are why we keep coming back! These beds are the most comfortable you will find at any hotel. Plus it's a short drive to multiple beaches. We've stayed twice and we'll definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County

Nice place for a wedding but...

Posted May 25, 2015
Nice place for a wedding but the hotel's error in my reservation put a dapper on pre-bike ride sleep