Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Luxurious

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Good location near many bars and restaurants.
We really didnt know what to expect from The Cheval, but we were pleasantly surprised. Our room was really splendid!, large and elegantly furnished, excellent air conditioning (vital in the heat of Paso Robles), its own private patio to sit out on, and a huge walk in shower. The hotel is arranged round a courtyard with open fireplaces, and this makes a very comfortable area to sit and chat with other guests at night. A very good "Continental Style" breakfast is served in the bar in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Romantic getaway!

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Romantic getaway!! You will love this place!!!
Location: You must try Bistro Laurent!!!
A beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of Paso Robles. Rooms are lovely and the court yard fireplaces are so comfy at the end of the day!!! We were celebrating our Silver Anniversary and they welcomed us with a great bottle of champagne which we enjoyed very much. Nice breakfast included also!! Easy walk to all the fabulous restaurants in downtown. Definitely would recommend Hotel Cheval and will visit again for sure!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hidden treasure!

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: everything!!
We adored this hotel. It is absolutely delightful. We are planning a return trip with our grown children. We can not wait to return to the Cheval. Everything about the hotel was top notch!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutique hotel with a bed and breakfast flare!

Posted Jan 12, 2014
The hotel is beautiful and intimate. Staff was so helpful with making reservations. The best part (other than the Paso wine) was sitting by the fire place eating fresh made gourmet s'mores! AMAZING!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brockdudes from Southern California

Excellent boutique hotel in downtown Paso Robles

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: Professional, courteous, upbeat and helpful staff. Very nice decor. Very good breakfast. Quiet and comfortable atmosphere. Excellent location.
Cons: No recommendations.
Location: Paso Robles wine country and wineries - too many to list. Very nice local restaurants. Easy drive to the ocean.
We had seen the Hotel Cheval, right on the edge of the Paso Robles, CA, town square several times while visiting the Central Coast wine region. On a recent mid-week, overnight trip with friends, we decided to take the plunge and stay at the hotel. It was a cool afternoon and, upon entry, they have a fire going in the lobby fireplace. We were promptly greeted by their professional and courteous staff. One staff led us to our rooms whiile explaining features of the hotel and a second staff member did the same for our friends. We had a first floor room with a king bed and a patio opening immediately off the room. The room was very nicely appointed, and the bath was excellent with a huge shower. It was a short walk to town for dinner and when we returned, they first pointed out that there were fires going in the outdoor fireplaces if we wanted to lounge in the courtyard. While we were out, they had provided turn down service. The next morning, there was a well laid out European style breakfast in the bar area with plenty of choices for all of us. Check out was just as prompt and professional as check in. Overall, it was an excellent experience - highly recommended for those visiting the Paso area and willing to spend a little extra for some added benefits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel next to a Park in Central Paso

Posted Aug 5, 2013
Pros: Charming, excellent service and great location
Cons: Need to have a plan of where guests can park their cars.
Location: Lots of restaurants, bars and local Jazz all within a 5 minute walk from the hotel
Enjoyed our weekend in Pas. The Cheval Hotel is situated close to restaurants, Bars, Jazz and a large park.It has a great bar and a terrific facility to have an evening nightcap. Rooms were very well laid out and overall the staff was very accommodating. We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great for wine enthusiast

Posted Jul 19, 2013
Great for wine enthusiast Great for wine enthusiast Great for wine enthusiast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice getaway hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2013
A bit pricey...but worth it for that special weekend. Very different then the other hotels in Paso. This was the first time for us and we intended to come back. Great that it is right in the center of town. Easy to walk to the restaurants on the square. Parking spaces are bit tight, but that is getting a bit nit picky. I left a sweater in the room and the front desk got for me and got it back to me. Very good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from hermosa beach, ca

loved it! elegant, comfortable, convenient!

Posted Jul 31, 2011
Hotel Cheval is a beautiful boutique hotel right near the town square. The hotel is very welcoming and the location could not be beat! We rode our bikes to wineries, walked to lunch and dinners in town and enjoyed breakfast on the patio every morning. It is expensive for Paso Robles, but we felt so pampered, I would return in a heartbeat. I highly recommend it for couples!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from Redlands, CA

World class in a small market

Posted May 24, 2011
Not quite as intimate as The Inn at Little Washington (and without the superb restaurant) but similar sort of "personnal"hotel.