Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Rancho Palos Verdes

Nice Hotel

Posted May 4, 2015
We spent one night at this quaint hotel. Upon check-in (we were able to check in early @1:30) they didn't have us in a room with a fireplace, but quickly changed it and put us in a room with a fireplace. Jennifer recommended several wineries and an olive oil place and we went to all of them (some she even had discount cards which helped us). Later that night at the hotel wine tasting, we got a referral for a good taco place. Later, we enjoyed the lovely outdoor fireplace and fabulous s'mores prepared for us by 'Nam'. Complimentary continental breakfast was way more than 'continental'. It was a great spread and we thoroughly enjoyed it.. I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Carlsbad Ca

Great Hotel, walk to great restaurants!

Posted Mar 27, 2015
This is the best Paso has to offer! Great rooms, very friendly staff, great outdoor lounge, nice buffet breakfast and wonderful outdoor fire places where you can meet fellow guests and talk about the wineries you visited!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Henderson, NV

Gem in Paso Robles, CA

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: The ambiance, location, staff, quality of our room and amenities were all top notch.
Location: Located in the heart of downtown Paso Robles, restaurants, shopping etc, are all walking distance which we enjoy while traveling.
My husband and I celebrated my birthday by taking a trip to the central coast wine country. Our stay at the Cheval Hotel in Paso Robles was wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel in a great location.

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: The size and location and attentive staff.
This was our first time at the Hotel Cheval. It was a wonderful small hotel that is walking distance to restaurants and stores. We would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Luxurious

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Good location near many bars and restaurants.
We really didnt know what to expect from The Cheval, but we were pleasantly surprised. Our room was really splendid!, large and elegantly furnished, excellent air conditioning (vital in the heat of Paso Robles), its own private patio to sit out on, and a huge walk in shower. The hotel is arranged round a courtyard with open fireplaces, and this makes a very comfortable area to sit and chat with other guests at night. A very good "Continental Style" breakfast is served in the bar in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom California

Romantic getaway!

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Romantic getaway!! You will love this place!!!
Location: You must try Bistro Laurent!!!
A beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of Paso Robles. Rooms are lovely and the court yard fireplaces are so comfy at the end of the day!!! We were celebrating our Silver Anniversary and they welcomed us with a great bottle of champagne which we enjoyed very much. Nice breakfast included also!! Easy walk to all the fabulous restaurants in downtown. Definitely would recommend Hotel Cheval and will visit again for sure!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice but...

Posted May 30, 2014
Yes this hotel is very nice. However, if you seek tranquillity, the interior court at night is very noisy and you will not be able to sleep before everybody is out to sleep. The fact that this hotel does not offer restauration is not a problem, since there are very nice restaurants around, namely Bistro Laurent (for French bistro lovers only)!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hidden treasure!

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: everything!!
We adored this hotel. It is absolutely delightful. We are planning a return trip with our grown children. We can not wait to return to the Cheval. Everything about the hotel was top notch!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutique hotel with a bed and breakfast flare!

Posted Jan 12, 2014
The hotel is beautiful and intimate. Staff was so helpful with making reservations. The best part (other than the Paso wine) was sitting by the fire place eating fresh made gourmet s'mores! AMAZING!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brockdudesfrom Southern California

Excellent boutique hotel in downtown Paso Robles

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: Professional, courteous, upbeat and helpful staff. Very nice decor. Very good breakfast. Quiet and comfortable atmosphere. Excellent location.
Cons: No recommendations.
Location: Paso Robles wine country and wineries - too many to list. Very nice local restaurants. Easy drive to the ocean.
We had seen the Hotel Cheval, right on the edge of the Paso Robles, CA, town square several times while visiting the Central Coast wine region. On a recent mid-week, overnight trip with friends, we decided to take the plunge and stay at the hotel. It was a cool afternoon and, upon entry, they have a fire going in the lobby fireplace. We were promptly greeted by their professional and courteous staff. One staff led us to our rooms whiile explaining features of the hotel and a second staff member did the same for our friends. We had a first floor room with a king bed and a patio opening immediately off the room. The room was very nicely appointed, and the bath was excellent with a huge shower. It was a short walk to town for dinner and when we returned, they first pointed out that there were fires going in the outdoor fireplaces if we wanted to lounge in the courtyard. While we were out, they had provided turn down service. The next morning, there was a well laid out European style breakfast in the bar area with plenty of choices for all of us. Check out was just as prompt and professional as check in. Overall, it was an excellent experience - highly recommended for those visiting the Paso area and willing to spend a little extra for some added benefits.