Ratings based on 1,164 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beatiful hotel with friendly service

Posted Sep 11, 2014
The hotel has everything especially for people who enjoy good wine and good food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from High California Desert

Ambiance

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Atmosphere
Cons: Noise level (street sounds), condition of bathroom (worn, fiberglass bath/shower)
Location: Beautiful little town and location.
Storied hotel, with many classic touches. Staff excellent. Room condition, particularly bathroom, only adequate - in need of maintenance and fixtures more suitable to the overall d├ęcor. Woken early in the morning by the sound of a drill or some equipment in the adjacent room - rather jarring.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Good swimming pool.
Overall it was enjoyable. We really Iliked the swimming pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Miracle Stay

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: It is an adventure
My mother passed away this week while traveling and our favorite movie was the Wizard of Oz so I know Mom had something to do with me ending up in Judy Garland's room very nice thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Joaquin Valley, CA

A jewel of a historic coastal hotel. Try it.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: We appreciated the Santa Maria community taking great care of this coastal gem. The staff seemed proud to work there and the grounds were amazing.
Cons: Focus on the era (1920-30) in keeping with the "historical" selling aspect. The miscellany of art throughout the hotel seemed careless.
Location: The location was ideal as we had business to do at the nearby city government offices. We were also near the shopping mall and restaurants.
Loved our stay at the Santa Maria Inn! I'll start with the negatives because I'd want to know an honest review.We stayed for 1 night and being that we chose a historic hotel we took a self-guided tour of the facility the night of check-in and the following morning. Negative) The art on our floor looked like cheap 1970-80's reproductions,although I expect reproductions, these seemed donated or just in poor condition, btter to have nothing on the walls at all.The vintage built-in phone booths were modified and phoneless.The brochures in the room were fairly used/recycled BUT if you're going to cut corners then by all means chose brochures,prop phones and the art! Positive)STAFF was outstanding;pleasant, helpful & knowledgeable.The RESTAURANT and its patio were breathtaking - breakfast was yummy.The GARDEN had a nice array of plants and trees not grown in our area.The POOL was the first I'd seen equipped with 2 handicap seats for pool use (hooray for making all types of guests welcomed).OUR ROOM was in an original/older area of the hotel and looked 1930's-ish (just as I hoped!) with the nice exception of an beautiful updated bathroom.The BED was amazingly comfy and we three slept soundly.The single cup coffee maker, bath AMENITIES and flat screen TV were very nice too.We also visited the LOBBY room with old photos and captions 2-3 times - there is so much history tied into traveling to coastal areas that this hotel should be experienced at least once. We loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hermosa Beach, CA

Excellant Stay

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Room was very nice and comfortable, and restaurant food was very delicious.
Cons: The restaurant should try to accommodate late arriving guests later than 9 pm.
Location: We were only visiting relatives, but their are wineries.
We stayed in the newer portion of the Hotel in a very large corner room. Bed was very comfortable and room had all of the amenities. The food in the Hotel was excellant, but we wished the restaurant was open later than 9:00 pm. We arrived at 8:55, and said we were too late to have dinner. A very nice lady in the Tap Room was able to get us some food in the bar area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Lovely hotel. Close to SLO

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Very convenient. The charm of the old hotel..
Have stayed here 3-4 times previous. Enjoy our stay each time. Close to beach, golf courses & just a short distance from Morro Bay. The staff is very friendly & helpful. Beautiful grounds. Lovely rose garden.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Swimming pool was closed in the middle of summer, surprising
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Historic Santa Maria hotel greets guests with a musty, stale odor. The lobby and decor have old, worn and downright dirty furnishings and am odd eclectic feel that falls short of charming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2014 by Erin, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. The original portion of the hotel was built in 1917 and we try to keep that same ambiance throughout the hotel. While I do understand the old-world style of the hotel is not for everyone, I can assure you the furniture in the lobby is new and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fresno, ca

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Very nice hotel, excellent staff...our bathtub was clogged but they took care of it right away
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2014 by Erin, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We have such a great staff that wants to make sure every guest enjoys their stay. I'm sorry to hear you had an issue with your bathtub and I'm glad we were able to resolve the issue right away.