Ratings based on 1,193 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

To cramped, confined

Posted Aug 25, 2014
The room was to spartan and confining. I/2 of the restroom is in your room making it a challenge for two people to get around. I would say that these rooms are for the solitary traveler.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Next to the sea

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Room a bit small beds a bit small Room very hot no air conditioning
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield CA

It's the location that's the big draw.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Lower rates, pillowtop mattresses.
Location: Many nice places to walk. Good seafood cafes.
Beautiful partial view of bay and great view of the sand dunes beyond. Nice room. Mattress was a little hard. Shower was stained with various things. Free breakfast was good. Morro Bay is having low water supplies, affecting taste of water. Couldn't drink in-room coffee, it was so terrible. Awfully high rates -- as much as New York City.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paradise, CA

Waste of money. Dinkiest room I've ever stayed in.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The brick driveway/parking lot was nice. The view was nice, IF you happened to have one of the very few rooms that looked over the water. that's it.
Cons: You name it, this place was awful!! Terrible "continental breakfast." Never again!!
Location: Location is south of everything in town. Must drive to it all. Unless you want to golf (across the street) or slide in seagull crap. It was everywhere
Arrived at 3pm, room was not ready. Was told I would receive a call when ready. No call. Came back at 4:15, room almost ready. Smallest motel room I've ever seen! Toilet up against the wall, had to sit sideways to clear the toilet paper dispenser mounted on the wall. Bathroom sink was in the living room!!!! I guess it wouldn't fit in the bathroom. TV was in an entertainment center. To view TV, you had to swing open large doors, when sitting on the bed, TV was so low you couldn't see it. Then the doors blocked access to the sink that was in the living room! Got to love it, NOT! Room was 20' from the hot tub/pool. Noisy as heck until 10pm, lights shined through "shutters" in the room all night long. Certain channels on the TV guide would not come in, in particular was FOX news, wonder why???? Bed was awful, Comforter was a "thing" in-between 2 sheets, sewed on the sides, and one end. The open end was at the head of the bed??? Pillows were nothing more than a rag inside a pillow case. $219 a night!! I would put any Motel 6, or any other $59 per night room, up against this room/Inn any day! Staff were total snobs. You'd have thought they owned the place, and actually thought it was something. Room was not the one that was pictured on the website, that I looked at PRIOR to booking. Also, NOTE: a fairly large remodel job is going on there, very noisy, stuff piled all over the place. Seedy looking construction workers hanging out, after work. Never again, absolute worst!! Run..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Disappointing!

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Sorry but the only good thing about this hotel during our recent 5 day stay was the position - on the bay, near the water, great views. When we booked there was a note that renovations to the restaurant were going on but they would be completed by August 1st. They weren't, and they won't be until probably sometime in September. Also, there was insufficient staff for the number of guests - checking in and out was generally a time-consuming let down. Also, several times when I called 'Guest Services' to query something, no-one answered the phone. Room was fine, cleaning staff excellent, breakfast OK, but not even up to Holiday Inn Express standards. Won't be returning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, Ca.

Quiet,

Posted Aug 16, 2014
This hotel is quiet, but outdated and not very comfortable. The bed sheets must have Been 5 years old.there was no alarm clock in the room. The bathroom has a pedistal sink and no counter space. On the good side it was quiet and has convenient free parking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: The shower was adequate.
Dog in next room barked during the night; uncomfortable sheets; many noisy kids in pool nearby room; you did not mention that the restaurant was closed for repairs! Some rooms had a nice view--mine did not!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Nice hotel in a quiet town

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: It was well maintained, modern and clean. The pool and hot tub area were available to us at any time (despite a sign that suggested it closed at 11pm)
Location: Morro Bay is a quite fishing town. We sat in a restaurant and watched fishing boats getting offloaded. Beautiful and quiet area.
Our family of 4 stayed here for 2 nights on a drive down the cost towards LA. The facility is clean and quite. The room was large with two double beds. The pool and hot tub area were large and well maintained. They had an area where you can wash your car. The area is near the water and only a few minutes drive to the beach. The staff was very helpful and recommended some local restaurants and places to visit. It's a short drive to Pismo beach and to the Premium Outlets (very few stores at this location). This is a good place to stay for people who would like to relax in a quite area.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Fantastic location, disappointing room.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location!
Cons: There was a small room heater but no air conditioning unit that I could locate... and definitely new carpeting.
Location: My favorite was the proximity to the Montana de Oro State Park. SPECTACULAR HIKING!
I hate writing poor reviews but occasionally they're necessary. First the good stuff... the location is magnificent butted right up against the state park. The access and parking were more than ample. Never any difficulty finding a spot within an easy walk to my room. The gal at the table was pleasant but odd. I had asked for a room with any window looking outward which she simply ignored and gave me a room facing the courtyard. I commented again on the choice of rooms and she again ignored my question. It was odd. She never said there were no other rooms or anything, just ignored my request. I got the distinct impression that a discrete $20 may have made a difference. Something I don't do, so I let it go. The room was directly in front of a jacuzzi, hidden by a large white fence. It was filled with guests and of course the area reeked of bleach. I went back to registration and asked for another room, and was then told they were booked solid and I could upgrade to their "reserved room" for premium cost. Oh well, nothing to be done about it except not spend too much time in the room. The room was fine except the carpet was severely stained or dirty, making it slightly icky to walk barefooted... and there was no air conditioner. Instead only one small window that opened to the jacuzzi area. I will still recommend this place to my friends because the location is untouchable... but off season only and never on the ground level facing the courtyard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, CA

The perfect Morro Bay location

Posted Aug 9, 2014
My room was described as partial bay view, but in reality it offered a sweeping view from Morro Rock to the southern estuary - the only things that rendered it "partial" were distant palms trees eclipsing the rock and a bit of aggressive landscaping off the balcony. The room was delightfully large and uncluttered with tasteful furnishings and a gas fire (which wasn't needed). The Inn is right right next to one of the protected bird sanctuaries, right across from the golf course and access to hiking trails, just down the road from the marina and museum, and only far enough from the embarcadero to spare you the traffic. Unfortunately the restaurant at the Inn, which was excellent in the past, is closed for renovation. The only significant negative is noise - perhaps because the location is so quiet, conversations in adjoining rooms and banging doors seem particularly magnified. Still, very appealing accommodations in a very beautiful location.