Ratings based on 749 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eugene, Oregon

Cute and unique hotel with awesome staff!

Posted Sep 23, 2014
This place is super cute!! Edward the front desk guy was beyond nice, exceptional really. I love the free cheese and wine in the evenings. It was such an adventure walking down the halls and seeing all the different art work. This is not a chain hotel so don't expect perfection and top of the line. It's far above a typical Days Inn or motel 6 but nothing like the Wynn. I think with some updated carpet ,a little paint touch up on corners and the balcony railings redone this place could be perfect. I would absolutely stay here again. Good to add that there were zero weird smells and not too noisy outside like other reviews reported. Oh...they have a laundry facility and recycling.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Nice hotel close to boat harbor in Morro Bay.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
It was very nice except for someone stomping around upstairs. Nice clean room with good amenities. Helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clovis,ca

Comfortable Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Walking distance to shops, food. Staff is great. Mildly dated, but clean and well kept up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Front desk staff extremely professional, polite and helpful. "Materpieces" make an interesting backdrop - fun to walk the halls and enjoy. Very nice afternoon wine and cheese offering and breakfast in AM
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

No AC or ventilation, otherwise a pleasant stay

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: the location, the general atmosphere, the in-room art, the wine/cheese all were very nice.
Cons: Room ventilation, as described above.
We liked the hotel - the atmosphere and location are very appealing. However, our rooms (we had two) did not have Air Conditioning, nor did they have any apparent way to bring in the cool Morro Bay air. We roasted in the room, and had a miserable night's sleep. AC is probably not necessary, since it is only a few blocks from the ocean, but a fan system to bring in fresh air is sorely needed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Good quality/price compromise. Nothing exceptional but clean and in a good location. Breakfast was terrible. They had wine and cheese tasting before dinner, but we couldn't try it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton, CO

Great staff, quaint, and quiet

Posted Sep 15, 2014
We cannot say enough about the staff of this hotel. They are very attentive and polite. Although the hotel is a little outdated, it is charming and clean. The only thing I would suggest is updating the carpet - we were in room 104. Thanks for an enjoyable and comfortable five days!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, UK

Disappointed

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Web search
Cons: Hotel d├ęcor, rooms to have A/C, room amenities to be properly positioned.
Location: Morrow Bay is a small fishing port with lots of nice vistas and restaurant's.
We stayed at the hotel as a stop over on our drive from Los Angeles to San Francisco. On arrival with two heavy suitcases we were told our room was on the second floor and the hotel did not have an elevator. Our room whilst spacious was looking tired and dated. The microwave was positioned on the wash basin work surface right next to the basin. Besides the danger this presented it left very little room for toiletries. Furthermore our room was at the back of hotel overlooking SR 1 whose noise did not allow us to leave the terrace doors open. Our room did not have A/C. A disappointing stay, fortunately for us it was only one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Pleasant hotel in the middle of town

Posted Sep 7, 2014
We turned up in Morro Bay without a reservation and managed to book a room here. The room was very big and comfortable and the staff were very helpful. The breakfast was the basic American motel-style breakfast which is poor everywhere. The hotel was well located.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice hotel in Morro Bay

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Location, price and decor
Cons: Better breakfast.
The hotel is very easy to find just off Highway 1 in Morro Bay. It is close to the waterfront. The hotel has an eclectic collection of art on the walls in the corridors and rooms - hence the masterpiece hotel. The rooms was spacious, the bed was comfortable and the shower worked! Breakfast is a typical continental breakfast but adequate. Good for the price.