Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Westminster, CA

Pictures do not tell the whole story!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Very little.
Cons: Cleanliness, amenities, towels, coffee, continental breakfast items
Location: We did not stay very long in the area. We heard reports of shootings in the area (after our stay). Very sketchy area.
I was looking forward to my stay here, the list of amenities seemed to exceed other hotels and the price was very comparable. I had a late night check-in and almost missed the location as I drove by. I expected a larger building (again based on the pictures) but it turns out that it's a very small location with perhaps 20 rooms. All doors and windows face the parking lot and the main office is very small. The "free continental breakfast" consisted of a small bowl filled with vending machine individually wrapped pastries (which were horrible) and coffee. Nothing else. I will say that the room served its purpose as far as clean bed and shower but that's about it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Good, clean nights stay

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Updated, clean.
Cons: More offerings for breakfast.
Location: Santa Maria is a good mid-way between santa Barbara and the five cities. Plenty of food choices, on a busy street but not so bad at night.
We needed a bed for the night and this fit the bill. It was cheaper than the other hotels I priced and it was updated and clean. While I agree with other reviewers about the granola bars and coffee for breakfast, at least it was something :) Rooms are nice and everything was very clean. We weren't sure how to check out as the front was locked at 11. We ended up giving the keys to housekeeping.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Motel - Ok; Location - Not

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Stayed for two nights for my daughters softball tournament. The room was small but bathroom large. On a run down section of street. Motel with parking spots in front of each room. Loud at times and random cars with men sitting in them watching us as we left and returned. Continental breakfast was granola bars and packaged sweet rolls and coffee.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sketch night with cops involved

Posted Aug 8, 2014
We were given a room tucked in the back corner of the motel with no front window and back windows to an alley and thought it was sketch. There was no chain lock or security lock on the door and we felt uncomfortable so we asked if we could change rooms but they said they were booked. We went to bed with the lights on to alleviate our creeped out feelings and were woken a couple hours later by a drunk/drugged out guy banging on our door. Eventually after calling the front desk and asking for help, the cops came and arrested the persistent guy who was still at our door. Mind you after all this we left at 2am and found another hotel. Craziest night in a hotel of my life!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bakersfield

Grrrrrrate

Posted Aug 2, 2014
The outside was clean and in good order. The inside was awesone!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

Very basic -- no ambiance

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Location was good for us (20 minutes to Pismo, 10 minutes to the Harley dealership and 10 minutes to Far Western for dinner).
Cons: Could be cleaner. Also, plant some flowers! Make it look inviting. It is the nost uninviting hotel I have ever stayed in,
Location: Middle of Santa Maria -- what more to say?
As I had read the reviews before booking, I knew what I was in for. The first impression was not a good one. Drove up to check in, and on the right is recycling center that is part of the hotel, complete with a homeless man sitting in front of the dumpster. Next to the recycling center is a patch of green grass. That's it. No planters, no flowers, no bushes. On the left is the hotel in an L shape. About 25 rooms. The walk way in front of all the rooms was dirty. The check in was easy and quick -- the young man even let us check in early. The room was ok -- my only negatives are that it could have been a little cleaner (water spots on the faucet and the bathroom floor looked like it had been swept, but not mopped). Another negative was there were no plug ins! We had to plug in the iron in the bathroom. The coffee pot didn't even have a place to plug it in. We had to unplug the lamp to plug in the coffee pot. However, all in all, the room looked updated, the sheets were clean, and I felt like I could walk on the floor barefoot. As we just slept in the room for one night, that is really all I expect.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: The housekeeping staff was nice, as was the manager.
Stayed here because it was the most affordable hotel nearby the Cal Poly SLO graduations. Although the pictures make it look nice, it is cheaply made. You can hear every single noise outside your door. In addition, the sheets were old or dirty, still unsure which one it was.
3 out of 5
by Arline & Herb from Thousand Oaks, CA

Nice room - continental breakfast was a joke

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Nothing special comes to mind.
Cons: The continental breakfast should either be GREATLY improved or removed from the brochure entirely as an amenity.
Location: Was in a great location in downtown Santa Maria - near a large shopping mall and a variety of restaurants.
The room was an excellent place to stay for that price and location. However, the continental breakfast consisted of a plastic-wrapped Danish pastry and a cup of coffee - nothing else (no orange juice, no milk, no fruit, not even a cup for water).
2 out of 5
by k from l.a

Posted May 20, 2014
room interiror..looks good ..cheap material blanket, curtain,...furniture.. food...coffee and some bread ( by coastco ) like a snack
1 out of 5
by Mrs.Erod from Bakersfield

Last Minute Disappointment!

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: We Google Best Stake houses near by and Shaw's it it! Amazing big great steaks Barb Q pit inside restaurant! Must visit restaurant!
Cons: Maintenance with supplies and Continental at least try! Instead of none and advertise there's one included?
Location: We drove out to San Luis Obispo so about a 30 minute commute down 101 very easy!
Pictures were very deceiving. We were on our way to San Luis Obispo and had to find a last minute option. But we were disappointment. We usually stay at holidays inns or Marriott. But we opted for this and was very disappointing! Noisy and management was never there all weekend? No continental breakfast? Would never stay here again.