Ratings based on 293 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

50th Anniversary trip

Posted May 17, 2013
Pros: We were able to stay in one place without needing to drive anywhere. Found it a very peaceful experience.
Cons: The hot tub on the deck wasn't very comfortable.
Location: Avila Beach was an eye opener. Since we had last visited it has been completely changed into a lovely resort destination.
Celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary at the Sycamore Springs and enjoyed it very much. We hiked the short rather steep hike for the view of Avila, swam in the pool and ate all meals in the restaurant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Mixed Reviews

Posted May 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
While the hotel had excellent service the room and the location of the room had a lot to be desired. We were told that are room would have a view a hot tub. Our view was the top of a roof and the above ground hot tub had no privacy unless you pulled curtains around you and then you had no view and no circulation. The room, while clean and was provided with an iron, ironing board and hair dryer, had no place to put any luggage, except for one luggage rack inside the closet. There was not counter in the bathroom except for a small triangle ledge to put any sundries, especially for 2 people. When you tried to use the sink edge, everything slipped off because of the angle. The bathroom did not have a tub, of which we were not informed. We came to this location because we wanted some relaxation and because this is a 'retreat' we expected to have some tranquility and quiet. We were not aware and we were not told that our room was near the banquet facilities. On Saturday there was loud dancing screeming and smoking for the entire afternoon. This is unacceptable. We had invited some guests to dinner on Saturday night and upon suggestion of the waiter ordered the duck-their specialty. It was edible and I had to return it. For the cost I would not stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Markfrom SoCal

Still one of our favorites

Posted May 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
First visit 12 years ago was wonderful. We picked to celebrate our anniversary. All facilities and staff were as advertised. We had a very restful stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Charles

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by angie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

tired

Posted Apr 1, 2013
Nice place. Staff are young, untrained, inexperienced, with too much attitude. Food was dry and bland. Lacking flavor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Relaxing

Posted Mar 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great place to stay, the only problem is that following GPS to their location takes you past the hotel into Avila Beach.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ryanfrom Visalia, CA

Disappointed

Posted Mar 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
My wife has been wanting to stay here for years. So we finally do and our expectations were just a little too high. The biggest complaint was the deck tub - cracked, "pillow" missing. Obviously the deck spa was the main reason we chose to stay here, hence our disappointment. Also, hotel staff in the morning didn't seem to care we had problems with the toilet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2013 by Marina, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We strive to exceed every guest experience and appreciate your time to review your experience. Every guest room offers a balcony hot tub and because of the natureof hot tubs and the outdoor elements some may reflect normal wear from the sun and water. The hot tub was in full working condition and I hope you were able to enjoy its therapeutic and relaxing benefits. We wish we had the opportunity to provide you with an extra pillow and fix any issues you had in your room during your stay. We have maintenance staff available that could have taken care of any issues immediately and improved your overall experience. We apologize for any inconvenience and hope that you and your wife were able to enjoy our other resort offerings during your stay. We hope to have the chance to exceed your expectations in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by fran

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 13, 2013 on Hotels.com