Ratings based on 553 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Fair Hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Location, Room was available for busiest day of year
Cons: A manager that cared
Location: Cal Poly was close and was having their annual open house
Hotel is ok, good location, bad design of parking lot, agent changed price of room $157 instead of $152 We wanted to cancel the last day and the agent simply would say nothing. Linens were not changed until 5:00, Thermostat did not work, TV and Radio was set to spanish. Many of the stations were muted Both rooms were out of kleenex Office was not opened by 7:00 AM
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated, run-down, musty

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: The entire Motel
Location: San Luis Obispo- Visit the Spanish Mission if you get a chance. It was built around the same time as the motel, but is better maintained.
This was probably an ok hotel in the 1970s. It is run-down, in need of lots of minor repairs and the room had a musty smell. There was a bunch of guys standing around a pickup in the parking lot drinking beer when we came in. The"Breakfast area" was a small corner of the lobby with a couple of cereal machines and a coffee pot. This is not a place I would stay in with a family again. I'm being charitable with my rating, as it looks like they made some attempt at an upgrade, but really need to do a complete make over if people are to stay there. I paid about $90 for the night. If it would have been $30, I might have expected the condition. When we drove into the parking lot, my wife commented that it looked like it was out of an old movie. Lights in the bathroom flickered when we took showers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Good for one night, location not the best

Posted Apr 6, 2015
This was a one night stop for us on our way from San Fran to LA. The room was a good size, clean and comfortable, although a little dated. Breakfast was included although consisted only of toast and cereal so we preferred to drive down into SLO to grab something from a local cafe. If you're passing through and are in a budget, which I would definitely stay here again, although with a little updating this hotel could be a great stay. The location was about an $8 Uber taxi to the downtown area which is where most of the shops, bars and restaurants are.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom bakersfield

Nice place, no problems

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Small but comfortable, plenty of hot water, close to downtown, quiet . Good deal for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Close to a lot nice places

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Good place to stay, good breakfast and service, thin walls.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Visalia CA

Great hotel perfect location

Posted Feb 22, 2015
We always stay at this hotel when visiting the central coast. Right down the street from downtown slo and 20 minutes to each surrounding beach town. Beds are super comfy and always in good shape. Every time we stay we walk next door to Pappy McGregors pub at night to have a beer and watch karaoke. this is always our first choice in hotels of the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Porterville, Ca.

Was more than I expected

Posted Feb 18, 2015
The hotel is located in a nice area. The room was big and comfortable. It had a fridge and microwave. It smelled very clean. The only bag thing was that you can hear through the walls and old bath towels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Good location. Comfy bed. Mini fridge and microwave in room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

As expected

Posted Jan 18, 2015 on Hotels.com
This hotel has an excellent location and proximity to CalPoly, and easy access to the 101. It is a bit older, but clean, has somewhat of a breakfast which was acceptable, coffee in the room which is no longer the norm, and provided what I expected for the price I paid. This was my 2nd stay and I would like stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NO HOT WATER

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Good and comfortable queen beds, but NO HOT WATER. I would stay there again only if they guaranteed hot water in the shower. December stay plus no hot water in the shower is not a good mix.