Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ridgecrest, CA

Good location near downtown

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The price was right.
Cons: It could use a little updating. It did have a flat-screen TV though.
Location: It's just a short walk from downtown where anybody could find something to do.
You're not going to find a better bang for your buck if you're looking for a room close to downtown SLO. The Villa Motel is nothing fancy but it was just what I expected for what I paid. Clean room, comfortable enough bed and the free wi-fi was strong and reliable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and easy access

Posted Aug 9, 2013
Pros: Microwave and fridge in our room!
Cons: Better beds and bedding, for sure.
Location: The location was fine for what we were doing. It is easy access off 101, close to Cal Poly and walking distance to downtown.
We only stayed here one night. I think the biggest bed they have is a queen, which is what we got. The bed was very uncomfortable and we each only got 1 pillow which was thin. I had to fold it in half to sleep. Overall the room was clean, the TV was good, it was great to have a microwave and a refrigerator and the air conditioner worked great. It is an older hotel it is kept up and maintained well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SBfrom Santa Barbara

Clean and sufficient

Posted Jun 23, 2013
Pros: easy to find and located close, but not on, the freeway
Cons: water in the swimming pool
Location: Close to Cal Poly University, the freeway and to the darling center of town on San Luis Obispo
We were visiting our San Luis Obispo family for a few days and didn't want to get in their way. This hotel was within a few minutes from them and was very adequate for our needs. It was easy to find, quiet at night, very clean, and the bed was comfortable.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Adminfrom Santa Barbara

Awful Hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Rooms were dirty, carpet was damp, room heater broke, inadequate hot water
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Fred B

Cold

Posted Mar 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
The antiquated wall heater did not function due to a faulty on/off switch. Someone had tried to keep the switch in place with scotch tape, which didn't work. The manager offered some more tape. I finally just wedged my room key under the switch to keep it in the ON position. Serious deferred maintenance issues here. Would not stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
helpful staff
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

OK

Posted Jun 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
Rooms were decent but I would not walk bare foot on those carpets. Bathrooms are old but clean. The beds were decent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Villa Motel, Los Angeles

Posted Apr 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
Okay accommodations. Great korean bbq restaurants within walking distance.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Encinitas, CA

Great Value

Posted Dec 29, 2011 on Hotels.com
We stayed here one night while passing through SLO. We checked in around midnight, and the man checking us in was very courteous though we had woken him up (regular desk hours end at 10 pm...after that, you ring the "night bell," and someone will come out to help you). It's an older, no frills motel, but the room was large, clean and comfortable. Definitely a great value for the price!