Ratings based on 301 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Nice and clean hotel, however right next to the bed on the carpet there was a really bad smell coming out. The a/c was blowing dry air even after I turned it to low temperature setting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Killeen, TX

Really worth it

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: Really clean
Location: Conveniently located to wonderworld park
Its more than modest. I enjoyed my stay. Room was very clean and comfortable. That was what mattered to me most.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Todo muy bien, muy buen servicio, limpieza, desayuno
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Todo muy bien, muy buen servicio, limpieza y el desayuno es bueno.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, Texas

Affordable, accessible and comfortable.

Posted Mar 25, 2015
I've stayed in more luxurious hotels but paid greatly for the privilege. The Wyndham was clean, comfortable and very reasonable. I would stay return visit if the need should arise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alvin, Tx

Very nice. Easy to book online

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Very enjoyable. Will stay there again. Very easy to book online
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom texas

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Cons: Pillows, customer service
We checked into our room only to realize that we did not have a bathtub in the bathroom. I did not request a shower only. They finally moved me to another room. We went yo eat and upon returning, the only place to park posted a sign users park apt their own risk. This worried me all night and was unable to sleep because I was afraid. Someone would destroy my car. When we got into the room, the remote control did not work. We called down to the front desk and were told the maintinance Person just left. The next morning when we awoke, we realized, we both had allergic reaction to the pillows. We spoke to the female manager and she said they were not feather pillows. ( she acted like she wanted to argue) the breakfast area was dirty and messy. We were suppose to stay two nights. We checked out and went to another property. Very unhappy. Not worth the $$
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Place to Stay in San Marcos

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Clean and friendly
Cons: Better smelling towels
Location: San Marcos has tubing, Texas State University, and some beautiful landscapes.
Wingate in San Marcos is a clean, well maintained hotel. The check in process was easy and the guy at the front desk was super friendly. We had two rooms for our family and both were well designed, clean, and comfortable. A couple of things keep this review from getting a perfect rating. The beds were not the most comfortable we have slept in. Don't get me wrong, they were fine but not a perfect rating fine. And, a couple of the towels smelled of cigarette smoke. Only a couple but it was enough to notice the smell. One other minor inconvenience was that the TV reception kept freezing on a few channels. The usual digital TV dropped packet syndrome. Other than those minor notes, this hotel was friendly, clean, and very well maintained. I would certainly stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spring Break

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: breakfast and quiet room
Cons: bathroom being cleaner
Location: fuschaks bbq was great
Staff are great. Breakfast was nice with a good variety. Bathroom floor was visibly dirty which gave me the creeps about what I could not see.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tyler, TX

Nice hotel just a little way from Austin.

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Very clean room and comfortable beds.
Location: Just a short trip to Austin and the night life, if that is your thing.
Made a trip to Austin with my mother to visit my brother's grave in Austin. Found hotels in Austin too expensive and the short drive to San Marcos was well worth it. Great hotel and staff.