Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: The decor was unique, relaxing and classy.
Very happy with hotel and staff. The staff at reception were incredibly helpful! I only have one very minor complaint. They should use "Filtered water to make their coffee with". I think they must use tap water as the coffee was not very good. One other suggestion. I was very happy over all and highly recommend this hotel. One suggestion to the management. Some of their staff spoke English and some did not. The ones that do not speak English in some cases should get someone who does to help them. Everything else was fantastic and I would go back again. Eric and Marlaine Bennett
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and confortable desert-style hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2014
Pros: The hotel design, the exterior shower, the food, the pool area, the breakfast pastries, the excursions starting from the hotel
Location: The hotel is not exactly in the village but proposes a bus to connect to the village center. An office located in the hotel proposes excursions.
The hotel is built in a beautiful desert style with adobe buildings. The rooms (studios) are confortable, especially the bathroom: there is an outside shower and it is very pleasing to take a shower heated by the sun (there is also an interior shower). The air conditioning is very efficient. There are many chanels on the television with many movies at any time. The restaurant serves a wonderful cooking. The breakfast is also wonderful. The pool area is nice: there are five swimming pools, heated from 21 to 40 celcius degrees.
3 out of 5
by michael from sydney

Posted Nov 22, 2013
Pros: Pools, spacious
Cons: Helpfulness of staff could be improved, when the shuttle bus failed to pick us up from town and we were forced to walk back they didn't seem to care
Location: Not very conveniently located to town
Had issues with staff being unhelpful. things not working in our room - wifi, safe, lamps. The few times we ordered dinner from the restaurant the service was extremely slow, about 45 m for mains. We felt as English speaking guests that we were at a major disadvantage as most staff had poor English and seemed to favour Spanish speakers
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Sherwood, Maryland USA

Five-star design in and out

Posted May 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Delighted with our stay at Kunza. Very, very tastefully decorated inside and perfectly landscaped outside. Service excellent. Splendid resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by N

Posted Mar 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Outstanding hotel.Located outside of town but hotel had a shuttle to/from town. A little confusiion on check-in as they couldn't find our reservaion so we had to wait quite a while for them to look and finally phone their head office to confirm. Housekeeping woke us up one evening (10:30 pm) as she wanted to check if our room was ok - normally that would'n't have been a problem but we had a tour @ 4am next day so decided to head to bed early. Otherwise it was a beautiful accommodations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Katie from Australia

Kunza a delight

Posted Feb 24, 2013
Pros: pool
Cons: none
Location: The Kunza offer shuttle buses downtown. You can walk it about 15-20 mins but it is a dusty road.
I found the kunza to be a delightful haven to return to at the end of the day sightseeing. It was lovely to come back and swim in one of the four pools they had on offer. The outside shower option in your own private courtyard off your private bathroom was also very enjoyable.
2 out of 5
by Peter & Kerry from Melbourne, Australia

Dissappointed!!!!

Posted Jan 25, 2013
Pros: The swimming pool
Cons: Quality of food & service
Location: Fine, not a bad thing to be just out of town.
This place has great potential. The property itself is very impressive but thats about where the compliments end. We were greeted at reception by only Spanish speaking staff but managed to get by and proceeded to take the 410 steps to our room. [ The plus here was that we were close to the pool ] Our dinner in their restaurant was just awful, their Ceasar salad was old dry lettuce leaves mixed with a broken up bread roll and chunks of semi cooked chicken. The rest of the meal was hardly edible and at breakfast the selection was also very poor. [ We ate in San Pedro for all our meals after that ] In talking with one of the managers he vented his frustration with the owners not being "hands on" and very cost concious & described the place as a Prosche trying to pull a semi trailer. There is also a noticble lack of staff and every request seemed to take forever to fulfil, even 20 mins for a drink in the lounge. Its just a pity this place doesn't have a good chef and General Manger that has the resourses to deliver on its " Resort" tiltle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good value 5-star

Posted Oct 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
If you want to experience one of the really top-notch gorgeous looking hotel resorts in San Pedro de Atacama, the Kunza is your best bet. It has everything all the other much more expensive hotels offer, and it will cost you less. Thoroughly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Katie from Australia

Kunza Hotel the best of the best

Posted Feb 28, 2012
Pros: outside courtyard shower
Cons: none
Location: An amazing area although a lot of the tours where cancelled due to the rain. I will be keen to return.
This is a fantastic hotel to stay at. I enjoyed it so much. I will return here again. I was sad to leave.