Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom B

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Wonderful hotel and staff. A true gem just north of San Ramon. Location was somewhat challenging, but otherwise we would stay again and recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andrefrom Gulfport, Florida

Romantic getaway

Posted Jan 22, 2015 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel for romantic getaway. Food is good, spa is good, service is good. Beautiful location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Costa Rica

The Best Hotel I have stayed in Costa Rica

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING!!
I have visited Costa Rica seven times over the last 30 years. My sister and I had dinner there about 25 years ago. I am now living here and decided to take my wife to Villa Blanca for her birthday. We stayed for one night. I can attest to the hotel/restaurant being the best experience I have had in Costa Rica!! The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to attend to your every need. The cabinas are kept spotless! Each one has a fireplace which you can enjoy during the evening. The grounds are well kept and you can go for walks on the trails to see the flora and fauna, especially the beautiful humming birds. We had lunch there and watched the Costa Rican soccer team win their World Cup game. Dinner was excellent and well presented by the chef. They grow their own vegetables there! The staff presented my wife with a small cake and sang Feliz Cumpleanos (Happy Birthday) to her! Overall, I rate everything about Villa Blanca as EXCELLENT!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by T. Whittfrom North Carolina

Beautiful propery

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
the hotel and grounds were beautiful and the staff very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, if you don't have a car you are pretty much stuck at the hotel. There is not a lot to do at the hotel. It is quite a distance from the town and taxis were expensive. the meals and sundries at the hotel were priced pretty high since you had no options to go otherwise. i think the hotel should provide a low cost/free shuttle service into town.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by nancy lawsonfrom illinois

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
when booking hotel reservation, wasnt clear that this hotel was located quite a distance from anything. In order to get there from airport required a very expensive shuttle, If you wanted leave on your own, either taxi service or shuttle was very expensive also. When we tried to book a tour through hotel, we were told there wasnt any availabilty for the next three days due to a large tour group there. This required us to go on our own somewhere, where the cost was really high. We had no water in our room on second day, to take a shower and it took til the next morning to get it. The views there were nice and it was a very tranquil place. I would not recommend going there unless you are with a group of people, to be able to do all the tours
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Annfrom Philadelphia area

Wonderful place to turn 50!

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: The whole area layout. The grounds were beautiful, and the rooms were very comfortable. There was enough to do for the time we were there.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: We wanted to stay there solely for the few days we were there. One could take day trips near by or stay on the grounds and hike and be with nature.
The area and hotel are so unique. What topped the experience was the very kind people that worked at Villa Blanca. They worked really hard to make sure our stay was a special one. I celebrated my 50th birthday there and they made it very special for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Certiorari

Great Find

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Villa Blanca was a great find. Fantastic location with great views. If it's a clear day, you can see Arenal peak in the distance. Restaurant was quite good and reasonably priced. I suggest the cooked to order omelet at breakfast. Have some plantain...it's great! Clean comfortable room with a fireplace all ready for the strike of a match. If you want to try something really different, you can milk one the the hotel's cows....it's a real hoot. We were easily able to drive from the hotel for a day trip to both Poas Volcano and La Paz waterfalls....try to leave by 7:30 a.m. The staff was excellent and accommodated all of our needs. We would stay at Villa Blanca again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ericfrom Atlanta

One of the best places on Earth

Posted Feb 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Went here on a honeymoon. Beautiful grounds. Awesome tours. Good wifi in the rooms. Good food. Friendly staff. Privacy in the jungle trails onsite. My only complaint is a NOISY bed in the honeymoon suite.
4 out of 5
by heidifrom WI

Nice higher end hotel for the area

Posted Jan 31, 2014
We stayed two nights here, unfortunately during some stormy weather. The staff was helpful, but a bit intrusive. In an attempt to be friendly, they kind of wouldn't leave us alone. We did one tour with the hotel, the guide was excellent and very educated, but the tour was over crowded thus limiting what we could see or hear. The restaurant served wonderful breakfasts that were included with the room. The dinner menu was a bit limited and very overpriced. Over all a nice place with beautiful facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scottfrom Bethlehem

Hotel in the Clouds

Posted Dec 18, 2013
Pros: Pretty much everything.
Cons: I don't think I'd change anything.
Location: It's a serious cloud forest where bright sunlight is rare. There are self-guided nature trails, a research station, 2-hr and full-day guided tours.
I wanted a place to relax to both explore the cloud forest and to do some writing. My wife and I spent six days at Villa Blanca, so we know the place pretty well. Most visitors stay between one and three nights, taking day trips or on-premises guided nature walks. Villa Blanca is totally in the clouds, so don't expect to see the sun. The temperature is nearly perfect day and night, with little need for air conditioning or heat. I loved the cool, moist cloud environment, and we built a fire in the fireplace (every cabin has one) two nights just be more cozy. The staff is fantastic from the PhD Nature Research Center guide to the waiters and clerks. Food, coffee, and wine were great (but after 6 days, a broader selection would have been nice). Breakfasts are fantastic! On one of our walks, a hummingbird perched on my finger to drink from a feeder (refilled daily at 6 am). The town of San Ramon is about 20 minutes away (try the Aqus Cafe for lunch or dinner)! Free wi-fi in rooms let me connect to the world while I relaxed in the clouds. The 9 km access road is paved, but fascinating to drive for the views and twists and turns.