Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Decent enough but wouldnt re-book

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Terrible mattress on double bed. Double bed was quite small to match the room which was also a bit pokey. Too much noise from the lift/ elevator banging up and down as it went. Too much un-policed late night rabble either from other hotel guests in lobby or from the adjacent restaurant. Breakfast was fine and en suite shower room was also fine but why do hotels insist on using shower curtains (they get drawn inward when shower is on leaving no room for manouevre!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
by eliana from Florida

Very nice Hotel,but far from the downtown

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very nice and confortable,but far from restaurants and sights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert Egby from Pemberton NJ. USA

A WARM AND CONVENIENT STAY

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: Most things. Read the general review.
Cons: Not much. A self-serve laundry would be great. They do have fast laundry service outside. There is a self-serve laundromat in the old town.
Location: Beaches, old town bars and shops, Great promenade for walking -- everybody walks in San Sebastian. Great scenery.
Hotel Avendia is away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Donostia-San Sebastian but it is conveniently close. It's an easy downhill walk to the incredible beaches and not a bad walk back. Taxi one way is less than 6 Euros and buses run every half hour. The hotel itself does not have a view of the beach but it does have a sweeping panorama of the city. The staff is multi-lingual English-Spanish & Basque, happy to be there, and there's someone on the desk 24-7. We stayed there 10 nights. Wake-up calls perfect.For a couple the rooms are just right. Be careful of the showers -- the water is powerful and hot. It's easy to control though. Room Service: great and they don't expect tips. They have an excellent breakfast buffet, eggs, bacon, sausages,bagels, croissants, cold meats & cheeses, Danish, muffins, corn flakes, yogurt etc plus various coffees for about 9 Euros each. One point that attracted us: they have free parking which a lot of downtown hotels do not. We plan to return either this fall or next spring for at least a couple of weeks. Incidentally the staff love it when one uses Euskadi (Basque): try Eskerrik asko! Hope this helps.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by VICTOR VIVEROS from MEXICO

Posted Nov 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Was great, personal ery friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Denver couple from Denver

Nice room, 30 minute walk to town

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: Attractive, clean, away from noisy traffic.
Cons: Easier access to coffee.
Location: San Sebastián is beautiful. Walk along beach or beachfront walk. Climb into the hilltop park around the statue of Christ. Pop over to Bosque France.
Attractive, clean, great view though not of ocean. Walked to old town each day along the full length of the bay. Recommended to us by family, and we wholeheartedly indorse their recommendation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by June from Bournemouth, UK

Ok but not great location.

Posted Jul 24, 2013
Pros: Quiet pool area
Cons: No bar facilties, not even a coffee
Location: Too far out of town,
Nice Hotel, modern, clean and pleasant to stay in, with free parking, which is a bonus in San Sebastian. Staff could have been a little more welcoming, ok but not great. Hotel has nice lobby/reception area, but no atmosphere and no bar facilities, not even a coffee, except for a vending machine by the pool area. So had to go out in the evening, as very quiet (dead) and nothing to come back to. Restaurant next door, looked ok, but was closed the 2nd night we were there. Pool was small but very nice and good to come back to after a morning on the beach, to cool down and relax before trekking back into town in the evening. Hotel is located 10 mins walk down steep hill to Onderreta beach, but a lot longer walk into main town but good bus service into town. Wouldn't go back as too isolated, unless you wanted to drive into town, or have a long walk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe from augusta, ga

Overlooks the city below

Posted Jul 23, 2013
It's certainly a nice hotel with ample amenities. The pool and sunbathing deck were in nice condition and afforded a break from the heat. The room was nice, but without a/c (which us US travelers find so necessary). The bathroom was spacious and in impeccable condition. The restaurant provided a nice breakfast. Need a car to reasonably get to the beach or to the Old Town / City Center area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Brian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Duggie from Shropshire, UK

Good base if you are catching the ferry home!

Posted Jun 23, 2013
Pros: Comfortable, exceptionally clean and friendly staff
Cons: Lack of hot food in the evening and a bar service
Location: Good for the ferries, close to town without the hassle of traffic and quiet.
My wife and I stayed overnight 19th June 2013 with our pet Labrador. We wanted a base near to Bilbao to catch the ferry. This hotel fitted the bill, on the edge of San Sebastian, pet friendly (NOT by request!) but 22 Euros extra! We had noted negative comments on some reviews re the lack of a bar and food apart from a continental breakfast and vending machines ( but with beer if needed!) and you can order in pizzas. I can understand the comments but the hotel itself offsets this in our opinion. The reception staff were very pleasant with good English.Beautiful lounge area, comfortable large rooms, free wifi, nice gardens and pool overlooking the town. It's a 15 minute easy downhill walk to the seafront. Probably a bit of a slog coming back but if you don't fancy the walk there is a bus stop 50 metres to the left of the hotel with 2 services each running every 30 mins helps. There is a restaurant next to the hotel with a nice garden set with tables although this was closed for some reason so can't comment on this.Bit tricky to get to as our satnav played up a bit but leaving for Bilbao is very easy with the A8 only 5 mins away and Santurtzi port an hour. Good services on the motorway in between. We think it was good value!