Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nerea

Short stay in San Sebastian

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Quiet location. Very new and modern
Cons: Room temperature was quite warm. I couldn't manage to cool it down with the air conditioning system. Probably it wasn't working properly
Location: Hotel was located on a quiet hill location. Away from city center. I suspect having a car would help.
Room was spotless, cleaned every day. Bathroom was very spacious and well equipped. Beds were comfy and decent space in the room. I was on room only basis, so cannot comment on food as we eat out. Hotel staff were very pleasant. Always happy to help. The plus is that we had free wi-fi everywhere and a free safe in your room :-). I will definitely come back as I though it was a good price for the service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kenneth from Scotland

Great hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2013
If you have a car there is free parking at the hotel which saves you the hastle of parking in San Sebastian. Hotel is a 20 minute walk from the centre or a couple minutes walk from the hotel you can get one of several buses - rarely had to wait more than 5 minutes for one. We were on a room only basis however you could get a quick breakfast in the cafe/bar in the hotel or at one of the bars just up the road.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe from Bolton, England

Great Hotel

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: The location, cleanliness and helpful staff.
Cons: In my opinion nothing.
Location: Not much in the immediate area but easy to get to the town centre.
We chose this hotel to be near the football ground but not to close, luckily the choice was the right one, and it was a good location for the town, only downside was the hill up to the hotel if you were walking. The hotel itself was first class, and the staff very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Bill from Colorado

Wonderful hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent staff, beautiful hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stefan from London, UK

Fair stay

Posted Oct 13, 2013
The Palacio de Aiete is a modern, purpose built hotel. The construction is not great, however, with thin walls and doors. Noise travels quite readily throughout the hotel, so bring earplugs. The staff were helpful and gratuitous and the rooms were cleaned daily. The walk to the city centre, although steep and quite long, at 20mins, acts as a welcome balance to the wealth of indulgence on offer in San Seb.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by M&J from Australia

Sacrifice location for price

Posted Sep 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was a nice hotel but expensive San Sebastian forces you away from the city center to find value, especially if you are travelling by car. Everything about the hotel is fine but you need to be aware of the location. It's about a 20-30 minute walk down a large hill to the city or the beach. The hotel suggests you walk into the city then take a 6-8 euro cab ride back up the hill. Parking is difficult to find in the city. P.S. there is an in-room sound system that is pretty cool.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointing compare to other's rating

Posted Jul 16, 2013
requested non-smoking room but we were allocated to a smoking room. the staff was not very helpful, when we asked to change it. also, too far from the beach, and city centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tony from Boston

Great hotel, but the location....

Posted Jul 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good, modern hotel, clean rooms, good staff, esp. Mikhal (sp?) who went out of his way to make sure our stay was comfortable. The location is out of town in a nice quiet neighborhood, but a good 20 minute walk from the beach; downhill on the way down, uphill on the way back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Yosi from Israel

Modern, spacious, clean, excellent restaurant.

Posted Jun 26, 2013
Pros: Comfort and modern room; Helpful staff; excellent restaurant; Free Wifi works with no hassles.
Cons: Seperate beds are less than optimal for a couple on vacation. (was able to join them and use a table to hold them from separating)
Location: Location is uphill and at a distance from attractions. Count on spending few Euros for taxis.
Hotel is modern, room is spacious. Efficient furniture (but separate beds you can join). Bathroom is large, includes a generous bathtub and Bidet. Free WiFi with no hassles. Room was clean (wooden floor), and cleaned daily. Breakfast buffet is generous, and even the vegetarian among us could enjoy a variety. Hotel restaurant offers very nice food and atmosphere at dinner for a reasonable price. Things to consider: The name suggest a romantic 18th century 'Palace' like hotel - nothing of the like. Modern and efficient. The location is uphill, with no nearby busses. 20 minutes walk to seashore or old city, but you would prefer to return by a taxi (6-8 euros).
4 out of 5
Recommended
by ebbe from copenhagen

nice hotel, walking distance to town center

Posted May 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel, the staff was very friendly, rooms spacious and clean. The hotel is on the hill in walking distance to both the beach and the center of town.