Ratings based on 233 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central California

Great Location!

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Location!
Cons: The rooms don't have air conditioning, so that made it a bit uncomfortable.
Location: Hearst Castle!
Definitely the nicest hotel in the vicinity of Hearst Castle. Great open space to watch the ocean and sunset. Firepits in the evening!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

bad experience for me!

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Room temperature is 85 degree all night, and not comfortable. Asked front desk but no one has any idea how to resolved. Refrig is not ready to use. All my food put in there had to toss out in the morning! Shower drainage plugged I had to call for the service at night. Carpet is old and smell. Entire facility needs upgrade. For $200 per night to stay ? No way next time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach view

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Only complaint was no air conditioner. Plus was that it was Literally minutes from Hearst castle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo Grove, IL

Nice hotel right at the beach

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Nicest BW I ever stayed at. Large rooms, great location for visiting Hearst. Nightly bonfires at the beach, which was a very nice touch. Would definitely stay there again if I was visiting Hearst.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Quick getaway...

Posted Jul 5, 2015
The room was very nice. We had an in-room fireplace as well as a mini bar. The pool and spa were right outside our room. The view of the beach was great. Wish we had gotten in from dinner a little earlier so we could have sat at one of the cliff front bonfires and made s'mores.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

It is a nice place.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: I can walk to the ocean at night and stay at the beach with out door fire places.
Cons: Fire places with covers.
Location: Running on the beach in the morning and watching sunset at night.
This place is good for couples and family with kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p

Great

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Very relaxing and courteous staff. Didn't want to leave. Dog friendly is a huge plus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful hotel with gorgeous view!

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: I loved the cleanliness and location.
Location: Hearst Castle is a just a few minutes away and so is the Elephant Seal beach!
The staff was so friendly and the check in was perfectly smooth. Our room was spacious and clean with some amazing amenities and a small fridge mini bar that actually had reasonable prices! This hotel was at the very end of a string of hotels so there was privacy and quiet with the beach right within walking distance. There were nice walkways and fire pits that they lit at nice. Super cozy!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great location- ok hotel

Posted Jun 11, 2015
The hotel is right on the ocean with a beautiful view. The hotel rooms are a bit dated, but the rooms are somewhat more spacious than a traditional hotel room. The pool was just ok. In the evenings, the staff lights three fire pits along the coast, which is a nice place to watch the sun set. Restaurant attached to the hotel has decent food and free room service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from La Mirada, CA

The Perfect Getaway for a Romantic Weekend

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: The view was incredible, but it's the experience with the friendly staff that we'll remember the most. The onsite restaurant was definitely a plus.
Cons: The first floor of the building on the cliff with the best view, had some bushes blocking the view. I wish they could be removed or cut in half.
Location: Near to Hearst Castle, about 7.7 miles south of a viewpoint featuring hundreds of elephant seals. Cambria is a short drive away with theaters and such
From the moment we arrived, our experience at Best Western Plus Cavalier was wonderful. The staff was polite and helpful in suggesting restaurants we might enjoy. They had a lot of knowledge of the area and weren't in a rush to help the next guest. The accommodations with the beachfront patio view were incredible. Tons of goodies stocked in the fridge and plenty of parking. The restaurant had a selection of food and was only about 20 feet from the resort entrance, which was great for us since we didn't feel driving anywhere. I work online for a living so the free Wi-Fi was definitely appreciated.