Ratings based on 1,358 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gold Coast

Lovely place to stay

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: No suggestion
Location: Town is pretty, Coast Drive is amazing, Hearst Castly
room was extremely comfortable and well appointed (romantic even) breakfast was great (and included). Dinner option of eating in the bar very helpful after a long drive and late check in. would stay again if the opportunity arrose
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love how there is wildlife.

Posted Apr 24, 2015
I love the cabin feel to it. The path down to the down town area was awesome. My kids and husband enjoyed it very much.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great town

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Cons: Pillows
Overall it was a nice hotel but I wouldn't want to stay for more than a night unless they upgrade their pillows - seriously it was like sleeping on diced foam shoved in a pillow case. rooms were nice, breakfast good and layout of the rooms and setting were also good. I would stay again. Used the hotel as a stop between San Fran and LA.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Clovis CA

Perfect relaxing atmosphere

Posted Apr 19, 2015
The hotel is so close to town, yet provides a relaxing environment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Huntington Beach, CA

Beautiful hotel, close to the beach.

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Our room was very clean, it has beautiful gardens, breakfast was very good, staff was very friendly.
Cons: We loved everything.
Location: Great location, you can go anywhere you want, Hearst Castle, San Simeon, Paso Robles.
It was our first time in Cambria and we loved it. The hotel its located in a very quite area, surrounded with nature. If you want to relax, this is the place for you. I read the reviews before I decided to stay here and it helped me. I'm definitely going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Banos, CA

Posted Apr 12, 2015
A two bed queen suite offered enough space for 4 people. It had a refrigerator and microwave too. The free breakfast is a plus too. This lodge is a great deal for families. And located centrally to everything in Cambria and Hearst Castle and all the lovely beaches. It is about 20 minutes from Moro Bay too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Clovis, Ca

A wonderful relaxing hotel.

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: The room, food and surroundings.
Cons: More sound insulation.
Location: There is a discovery center near San Simeon. This area is free and an expert. There was a migration of elephant seals, very interesting.
This was a lovely hotel with pines, oaks and an assortment of flowers and plants surrounding the buildings. The location was scenic and cool during this time. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful with eggs, sausage and potatoes that you would get at a restaurant. But we didn't have to pay extra. The staff cleared tables fast and efficiently. The room was just great. We had a suite and it was very spacious, clean and overall quiet. Internet was provided but I could hardly get a signal on my phone, probably due to the quantity of trees. Staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 91006

Nature in comfort.

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: quietness, staffing, facility and amenities, comfort, walking trails and many gardens.
Cons: Wish it had central heating not just a gas fireplace. Improve lighting in the living and bedroom.
Location: A short drive or a good walking to small town main thoroughfare. Moonstone beach. Hearst castle 10-15 mins drive northbound.
Not far from highway 1, tugged in residential area, not far away from town Main Street, very peaceful and restful experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Only hotel which can accommodate our Family (5) in Cambria. Breakfast well done each morning. Clean, relaxing stay. Will stay again and recommend to family and friends. Beautiful gardens and grounds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Barbara

Nicely tucked away

Posted Apr 3, 2015
We arrived in the late afternoon, the frontdesk staff greeted us and we were checked in within minutes. When we went to our room, we were nicely surprised with the cottege. It was quiet and very cozy, the bedding was a little worn out, but overall the room was new. The Dinner was very pricey for what it was, and would have liked to have been told about the little town of Cambria which was just minutes away. We found out the next day by acaccident. Would recommend dinner in town and night caps back at the lodge around the fire place. Breaskfast was good but was an absolute zoo, was a frenzy. It was every man, women and child for themselves. We did manage to get a quick swim in. The pool was clean and maintained. Nice touch havinh large towels and a restroom there. The surroundings were very peaceful. All on all it's a good stay for the price, but thimk the lodge should promote a visit to the town to round it out of you're a first time visitor.