Ratings based on 1,377 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom SF Bay area

Cambria Pines Lodge

Posted May 15, 2015
Suite excellent for two couples. Not all deals available through Expedia, which we learned when we checked in and that was disappointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Buellton, CA

Not quite as nice as I remembered

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: The restaurant is good. Breakfast much better than what probably comes to mind when you think complimentary hotel breakfast. Dinner was quite good.
Cons: Update the older rooms. Consider offering a complimentary shuttle to downtown Cambria, Moonstone Beach, and possibly Hearst Castle.
Location: Lots to do nearby! By the way, the hotel is atop a steep hill -- not an easy walk or bike ride! (A shuttle would be nice.)
I stayed in Cambria Pines almost 15 years ago, and it seemed somehow nicer then. Not that there was anything wrong with the room this time, just wasn't anything noteworthy about it besides the view. It was one of the older rooms, and it reminded me of a typical 2-star motel -- serviceable but far from exceptional. The newer rooms with fireplaces are nicer -- I stayed in one of those four or five years ago.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2015
Our room was very nice. We were there for two days to visit Hearst Castle. Cambria is trucking in all water, but ample in the hotel for shower. Restaurant in town, Robin's , very good , forty cents for unbottled water. Second day/night the place was inundated with a Porsche rally which made parking difficult to find near room. The hotel allows pets, but the rooms did not show negative impact from this, but perhaps our room was not a pet allowed room. The restaurant was only okay for dinner and would suggest eating at restaurants in town for a better dining experience. Breakfast buffet was included and very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gold Coast

Lovely place to stay

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: No suggestion
Location: Town is pretty, Coast Drive is amazing, Hearst Castly
room was extremely comfortable and well appointed (romantic even) breakfast was great (and included). Dinner option of eating in the bar very helpful after a long drive and late check in. would stay again if the opportunity arrose
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love how there is wildlife.

Posted Apr 24, 2015
I love the cabin feel to it. The path down to the down town area was awesome. My kids and husband enjoyed it very much.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great town

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Cons: Pillows
Overall it was a nice hotel but I wouldn't want to stay for more than a night unless they upgrade their pillows - seriously it was like sleeping on diced foam shoved in a pillow case. rooms were nice, breakfast good and layout of the rooms and setting were also good. I would stay again. Used the hotel as a stop between San Fran and LA.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Clovis CA

Perfect relaxing atmosphere

Posted Apr 19, 2015
The hotel is so close to town, yet provides a relaxing environment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Huntington Beach, CA

Beautiful hotel, close to the beach.

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Our room was very clean, it has beautiful gardens, breakfast was very good, staff was very friendly.
Cons: We loved everything.
Location: Great location, you can go anywhere you want, Hearst Castle, San Simeon, Paso Robles.
It was our first time in Cambria and we loved it. The hotel its located in a very quite area, surrounded with nature. If you want to relax, this is the place for you. I read the reviews before I decided to stay here and it helped me. I'm definitely going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Banos, CA

Posted Apr 12, 2015
A two bed queen suite offered enough space for 4 people. It had a refrigerator and microwave too. The free breakfast is a plus too. This lodge is a great deal for families. And located centrally to everything in Cambria and Hearst Castle and all the lovely beaches. It is about 20 minutes from Moro Bay too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Clovis, Ca

A wonderful relaxing hotel.

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: The room, food and surroundings.
Cons: More sound insulation.
Location: There is a discovery center near San Simeon. This area is free and an expert. There was a migration of elephant seals, very interesting.
This was a lovely hotel with pines, oaks and an assortment of flowers and plants surrounding the buildings. The location was scenic and cool during this time. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful with eggs, sausage and potatoes that you would get at a restaurant. But we didn't have to pay extra. The staff cleared tables fast and efficiently. The room was just great. We had a suite and it was very spacious, clean and overall quiet. Internet was provided but I could hardly get a signal on my phone, probably due to the quantity of trees. Staff was friendly and helpful.