Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

The view was perfect

Posted Jul 16, 2015
I was surprised when I got to the room and there was no air conditioner. We left the windows open but it didn't get cold enough. I asked the man at the front desk if there was anything we could do and he brought me the fan from the office. The view of the water was so perfect and the town was wonderful! I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Beautiful view of the Pacific!

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: It has a pool/jacuzzi. The view can't be beat. The place was clean and updated.
Cons: Wi-Fi connection was weak.
Location: On Moonstone Beach. Couple restaurants close enough to walk. Short drive to town for much more. Tide pools a short walk away. 5 min drive to Hearst.
Stayed on one night, but it was very nice. The hotel itself was nice, but pretty standard. The surroundings were exceptional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice beach hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Older inn but right next to the beach, but still clean. Nice pool and outdoor accommodations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the beach!

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Location was great! Walked right to a beautiful beach area. Very small breakfast area - way too tight of a space. Room was very nice! Charming! Very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel nearly to de seaside,good location.

Posted May 31, 2015
convinent location,which is nearly to the HWY1 the landscape is very perfect,closely to the sea. You can walk on the wooden plank road by the sea after dinner with your families,and you'll appreciate the sunset.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Flot område

Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
Fint hotel i et hyggeligt og smukt område. Hotellet var meget idyllisk ved vandet, dog trækker et par dårlige oplevelser med stoppet toilet og ufrivillig natvækning fra nabo vækkeur fra (der var ingen på værelset).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tammy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paso Robles, CA

Preferred Moonstone Drive Area

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: We stayed downstairs, so the only problem we had were upstairs guests making noise. They probably weren't going out of their way to do it.
Location: Great restaurant almost next door, ocean walks (dog-friendly trails), beautiful sunsets, Big Sur, and shopping in Cambria.
To all the negative comments about Castle Inn - It's an older hotel, yes, but they've done their best to fix-up and clean-up. How can you beat the location? We recently stayed for our wedding night, celebrating at the Moonstone Grille 2 doors away. After dinner all we had to do cross the quiet Moonstone Drive street and walk the boardwalk trail to an ocean bluff and have a sunset champagne toast in our plastic hotel cups - fun!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Charlotte

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Concord, CA

Beach front hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Location right along the beach.
Cons: Continental breakfast was not very appealing. Seating in the breakfast room was not adequate.
Location: Nice quiet setting. Plenty of shops and restaurants in Cambria. Clean beaches. Close to Hearst Castle. Board walkway is a plus.
We had a lovely relaxing stay. Walks along the beach were great, and the board walkway made the walk back easier. Enjoyed the quiet atmosphere.