Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Paso Robles, CA

Preferred Moonstone Drive Area

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: We stayed downstairs, so the only problem we had were upstairs guests making noise. They probably weren't going out of their way to do it.
Location: Great restaurant almost next door, ocean walks (dog-friendly trails), beautiful sunsets, Big Sur, and shopping in Cambria.
To all the negative comments about Castle Inn - It's an older hotel, yes, but they've done their best to fix-up and clean-up. How can you beat the location? We recently stayed for our wedding night, celebrating at the Moonstone Grille 2 doors away. After dinner all we had to do cross the quiet Moonstone Drive street and walk the boardwalk trail to an ocean bluff and have a sunset champagne toast in our plastic hotel cups - fun!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Concord, CA

Beach front hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Location right along the beach.
Cons: Continental breakfast was not very appealing. Seating in the breakfast room was not adequate.
Location: Nice quiet setting. Plenty of shops and restaurants in Cambria. Clean beaches. Close to Hearst Castle. Board walkway is a plus.
We had a lovely relaxing stay. Walks along the beach were great, and the board walkway made the walk back easier. Enjoyed the quiet atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ca.

Nice hotel, ocean view!

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Everything was wonderful!
Location: Love the walking path across the street, nearby restaurant
Had a wonderful time and will plan on staying there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Joaquin valley

Everything accessible, and reliable comfort

Posted Apr 13, 2015
New ownership as of 2 years ago, shows in up-dating maintenance and in service. Greeted well, friendly, and offering resources for our stay. New mattresses as of a couple of months ago, according to manager. Very comfortable. No unnecessary frills; clean. Lots of breakfast items. As always, Moonstone beach motel offers quick access to both the beach (there's a beach access boardwalk across the road from the motel), and to the Cambria villages. We will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Activity at night.
The view was incredible. Hard time sleeping as something in the room kept pulling on my sheets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Califronia

Nice motel at Moonstone Beach

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Location: Good restaurants in town include Robin's and the Sows Ear. Dozens of wineries are within 1/2 hr drive along Hwy 46 West. Hearst Castle 15 min away.
Nice comfortable motel with ocean view from room. Nothing fancy but a great location and great value for the money. Reception at check in was very welcoming & continental breakfast was good. There are nice Adirondack style chairs on the front lawn where we were able to sip glasses of wine watching the sunset. Great walk along the boardwalk right across the street in the morning. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to water

Posted Apr 6, 2015
all have ocean view but one and when you book through expedia the one without the view is what they give you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pasadena, CA

Frequent Central Coaster

Posted Mar 30, 2015
I booked this hotel out of curiosity...There are often rooms available when the other Cambria hotels are sold out and it seems to be less expensive. This hotel is a mixed bag. The location is awesome and if you're on the second floor, so are the views. The hotel is in serious need of some updating. The bathrooms are tiny...smallest stall shower ever....pedestal sink...so no place to put toiletries. The hearing is an old wall unit with two temperatures......on and off. The furniture is old, but somewhat charming in a mid-century modern, beachy sorry of way. The bed was not comfortable and the lighting was oddly placed. Also, this must be the slowest wifi available. The carpet in my room was new and was off-gassing pretty strongly....requiring windows to be kept open. There's a heated pool and a very small Jacuzzi....both nice facilities. The breakfast is very nice for this area....hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, yogurt, cold cereals, fruit, pastries, breads, juices, coffee and tea. I have a gluten allergy and was able to eat quite well. Like I said, this review is a mixed bag, but in spite of some of the drawbacks, I would stay here again...There is just something extraordinary about the location and I felt very safe here. Staff is friendly and evening is very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Antonio, Texas

One night stay wished it was longer.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: It was peaceful next to a beautiful stretch of beach.
Cons: Have more selections for breakfast.
Location: This inn is for a certain type of person, it is not a one. It is peaceful in a great location. There is not much in the way of stores nor restaurants.
This is an older hotel but it is well kept and clean. I liked the older feel which seemed more personal. The staff was very friendly. Everything closes by 9:00 but this is not a problem unless you want to do a night on the town. The beach is across the street and the sea lions were lounging on the rocks. This seemed like a good place to spend a retreat or honeymoon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lyon

hotel charmant

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Hotel très bi situé en face de la mer avec une magnifique promenade a faire. Chambre confortable, personnel accueillant et petit déjeuner compris.