Ratings based on 484 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location close to Hart's Castle and the beach

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: everything
The bed had a terrible weak spot in the middle; practically a hole; my wife and I tried to get some sleep by sleeping on the edges and it still didn't work out. We woke up in pain.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from FRESNO, CA

STAYED WITH KIDS

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: THE HEATED INDOOR POOL LOCATION
Cons: FRESH PAINT IN BATHROOMS BEDS NEED REPLACING AND ARE TOO FIRM A SMALL FRIDGE, MICROWAVE, AND A DVD PLAYER WOULD BE NICE
I STAYED AT THIS HOTEL DURING SPRING BREAK WITH MY 4 CHILDREN AGES 13-4. IF YOUR LOOKING FOR A CHEAP SAFE PLACE TO STAY THIS IS IT. ITS NOT A FANCY OR EVEN VERY NICE HOTEL, BUT ITS CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE. MY KIDS REALLY ENJOYED THE INDOOR HEATED POOL WICH IS A GREAT PLUS AT THE END OF THE DAY WHEN THERES NOTHING LEFT TO DO BUT SIT IN FRONT OF A TV:) FROM THIS HOTEL THERE ARE SEVERAL BEAUTIFUL PLACES TO VISIT NEAR BY. MOONSTONE BEACH IS FIVE MINUTES SOUTH WITH A BEAUTIFUL BEACH AND A GREAT PARK FOR THE KIDS TO PLAY AT RIGHT AT THE BEACH. HEARST CASTLE IS FIVE MIN NORTH WITH A NICE DAY USE PARK AREA AND BEACH WITH A PIER FOR FISHING. THERE ARE NO FAST FOOD PLACES NEAR HERE SO IF YOU ARE TRAVELING ON A BUDGET I SUGGEST PACKING WHATEVER FOOD YOU CAN WITH YOU. THERE ARE A FEW LESS COSTLY PLACES TO EAT IN CAMBRIA. I REALLY LIKED THIS AREA BECAUSE ITS A QUIETER AREA. PISMO IS NICE BUT THE ATTITUDE OF THE YOUNGER CROWD WITH HALF NAKED GIRLS, CURSING, LOUD MUSIC, AND OTHERTHINGS THE YOUNGER CROWDS LIKE TO DO IN PUBLIC IS NOT SOMETHING I WANTED TO EXPOSE MYSELF OR MY KIDS TO FOR AN EXTENDED FAMILY STAY.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Stefan from Mühldorf (Germany)

Sehr gutes Preis Leistungsverhältnis

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Die Zimmer sind nicht sehr groß haben aber alles was man braucht. Für den Preis (66 USD am 12.04.2014) für eine Nacht für 3 Personen ist das Zimmer vollkommen in Ordnung.
2 out of 5
by Louie from Hayward, CA/PH

Lower that usual price but you get what you pafor

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Price was ok . But there may be better accommodations in the same area for the same price
Location: Amenities and services
Courtesy Inn at San Simeon is is relatively cheap and will do for an overnight stay. That's about it, don't expect anything else. Wifi was weak, TV had very few channels, breakfast is next door if you choos to pay additional $7/person. Bathroom toiletries were as cheap as you can get. Staff was pleasant and easy check-in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Joanne from San Diego, CA

Good location near Hearst Castle

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Proximity to Hearst Castle and big family room
We needed a place to stay close to Hearst Castle and this definitely worked well. We also needed a room to accommodate 5 people and were able to have a family room with a king bed and two double beds. The beds were comfortable and we were happy to have a refrigerator in the room too. Our 3 teenage boys enjoyed the American breakfast next door at a cost of $7 each but there was plenty of food for them (my husband and I ate our own food that we brought along on the trip). Not a fancy place but was good for sleeping and getting off easily the next day to Monterey.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by san bruno dad from san bruno, ca

Nice hotel on a budget

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Stayed here one night after visiting Hearst castle. Room was clean and quiet. Indoor pool was a plus although it looked like it needed a cleaning. The kids swam and enjoyed their time. Room faucet was hard to open, otherwise we didn't have many complaints for a 60$/ night room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room for 6 people

Posted Apr 4, 2014
I'm so happy and we sleep well after a long and very tiring drive! I will again use this hotel!
4 out of 5
by Ken from London, UK

Cheap but reasonable hotel close to beach

Posted Mar 30, 2014
This is basically a no frills hotel conveniently located across the road from the beach. It's cheap, good value and you get what you pay for. A little aged but reasonably comfortable and clean. Could do with some modernisation of the bathroom suite.
3 out of 5
by Teri from Coos Bay, Oregon

Just an ok kind of place... not great.

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: We liked that no one was in the pool and hot tub when we were there. The covered pool area was huge and all ours.
Cons: daylight and wind coming thru area around the door, weather stripping needed. Hot water would have been nice for the shower.
Location: We visited the Hearst Castle prior to our stay. The pool was in a very large and nice covered area. Hot tub could have been cleaner.
Our room was just alright and inexpensive. Water came out yellow and hot water never arrived when I tried to shower the next morning... jumped in and did a real quick wash. Light came thru around the door, wind too. The coastal winds can be extremely cold, they would do well to apply weather stripping. The pool area was covered and very nice actually. Dated pool and hot tub but very comfortable with nice seating, tables, fountain and plants. We walked around to find a place for dinner and it was really expensive...about $13- $15 for a burger a couple of motels down. I never heard any traffic through out the night, at all. Must be the slow season still. Very close to the Hearst Visitor center and there didn't seem to be anything else there for us. We left at o'dark thirty the next morning, didn't see any need to stick around. Not an unpleasant stay but nothing to write home about. Cambria was cute but also spendy and a few miles away for lunch. Not much on the tv but they had hbo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2014
I was in a family room, it was very big and nice. The thing that i don't like is that they have one pillow i usually sleep with too.