Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Lakewood CA

Disappointing hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2015
The room was not even close to the pictures online and it just felt like I was staying in a basement with a bed. The shower was horrible and it had zero pressure! The breakfast was a collection of cheap breads
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
We're sorry to hear your room did not meet your expectations. Due to the mandatory requirement to have low-flow shower heads due to the ongoing drought situation in California, the pressure tends to be lower. However, we hope you alerted our Front Desk staff in order for us to insure there was not some type of other underlying problem with it. The pictures online are identical to each specific room type. In some cases we find that guests look at the general property photos instead of the ones under each specific room type, thereby, causing themselves confusion as to what their room actually looks like. You must look at the photos under each specific room type in order to get a clear impression of the room you have selected. We feel we offer a nice variety of quality items for our complimentary continental breakfast including, hard boiled eggs, hot and cold cereal/granola, cheese, pastries baked and delivered fresh daily from our local bakery, cinnamon raisin bread, wheatberry bread, bagels and cream cheese, english muffins, croissants, muffins, peanut butter, juice and coffee. All items are fresh and of good quality. Thank you for staying with us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orange, CA

Good location and nice restaurant just next door.

Posted Mar 31, 2015
We stayed one night and fire place make the room warm. Very good location and the best local seafood restaurant is just next door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Thousand Oaks, CA

All we hoped for!

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Signs to the office at the rear of the building.
Location: Beach walk, hunt for moonstones, shop, eat, visit Hearst Castle, view the elephant seals at Piedras Blancas. Drive to Linn's Farm shop outside town.
My sister, daughter and niece and I stayed 2 nights here in March. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was a delight with fresh pastries, eggs, wonderful coffee and many breads, fruit and cheese and lovely patio seating. We walked just across the road to a beach access path to find moonstones and watch a spectacular sunset. Comfy beds and spacious room. Will definitely come again and ask for a second story room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom fullerton

Perfect location for Cambria visit.

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Upon arrival at hotel at 2:45 pm we were told we could not check in until precisely 3:00. Really??? A non reservation couple who were also looking to check in were denied entry but found a room which allowed them to check in just a few steps from This hotel. The front lobby clerk now on duty along with the prior clerk were abrupt and dismissive to a fault. Guess if you have no professionalism to be found you can always work at a small hotel/motel. That being said the room was perfect clean and large welcoming to a fault. Great location and the view is amazing along with great stretch for a moonlight stroll. Enjoy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Nice little hotel. Room is spacious. Nice view. Tip:Check in before 9pm other wise the room key is in the lock box that you have to call the management for the code.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fresno, CA

Very close to the beach and restaurants.

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: The location and the beautiful view.
We found the room a little warm for sleeping (no air conditioning). However, the room was very quite and very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Management, Hotel Management
Hello, We're glad you enjoyed the peacefulness and cleanliness of your room. Due to our mild weather, nobody has air conditioning on the Central Coast. However, we do provide a fan in every room. Thank you for sharing your experience and choosing us for your destination.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pompano Beach, FL

Would come back over and over again

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: The location, the view, the desertlike decor, the electric gas fireplace that gave us warmth and amber light all night, the quiet wooden floors...
Cons: Not a single thing. Stay perfect.
Location: The restaurant right next doors (forgot the name, sorry!) is one of the best in Cambria but prepare to stand in line for a spot.The town itself.Enjoy!
First of all, the view. The sunrise, the sunset. Those, of course, are not the Little Sur Inn's doing, but what an amazing hotel from which to enjoy the amazing region that is Cambria. We stayed at the Inn based on other reviewers' recommendations, and I can only reciprocate by writing something I hope will inspire many, many other visitors. The rooms are cozy, with light wooden floors, a comfortable bed and plush wing chairs. A small table sat by the window, affording us a place to enjoy the continental breakfast. We had a bottle of local sparkling wine by the gas heater, which is easily started by the push of a button. The service at the front desk was very pleasant, and we had an easy check-in and check-out process. Walk across the street to watch the sunset, or the seals on the rocks, or just to enjoy the amazing seaside flora. There are several great restaurants and a quaint shop/restaurant area a 2-minute drive away, so there's enough to do around Cambria. The Inn served as our pied-a-terre for our trip to Hearst Castle, and it was just the perfect start of a luxurious, dreamy, unforgettable experience. Thanks, Little Sur Inn, for being the backdrop of one of our best vacations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great spot across from a great beach

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: Location was great - right on the beach and less than a 5 minute drive to downtown Cambria. Hotel was full but we hardly heard other guests.
Location: Get coffee and snacks at Linn's in Cambria, and - of course - Hearst Castle is amazing.
Located right across the street from a marvelous beach, this place is kept up nicely and the staff is very helpful. Breakfast buffet is fine. Had a couple of minor problems with the room - but nothing too bad. The first door key we got didn't work, but the second one worked fine. The sink stopper was stuck down, and when I pulled on it, it came totally out. Did it matter? Not at all. Bed was comfortable, variety of pillows to choose from, thermostatically controlled fireplace, and you can open the windows to hear the waves breaking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lisafrom Fresno

Our weekend Get a Way

Posted Jan 26, 2015 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay at the Little Sur Inn. The location was perfect and the ocean view from our window was a treat. We loved the convenience of the "Boardwalk" walking path. A refreshing stroll with fresh air, sunshine and a view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christopherfrom Brisbane

Nice Place to Stay

Posted Jan 25, 2015 on Hotels.com
The room was beautiful with a fire place for warmth and king size bed. On checking in the receptionist was extremely helpful with food ideas for dinner after a day of driving. Breakfast was provided and simple as expected however it was all that we needed to get the day started.