Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Escondido, Ca

Great beach front location

Posted Jun 28, 2015
We arrived and checked in was fast. The only complaint we had was that we woke up early to go to the complimentary breakfast and there was NONE. We booked this hotel specifically for that reason. There was nobody in office. Only the housekeeping staff was there.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Will be a nice hotel SOON!

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: Manager acknowledged all issues I presented and showed how they were addressing it. Also it was inexpensive and right on Moonstone Drive by the water.
Cons: See above.
Location: Cambria and Hearst Castle, ocean and beaches. Fine dining at Madeleins and Sows Ear in Cambria and lots of shops.
Just in the hands of new owners. Current condition is fairly dreadful, BUT, new owners are already in the process of a slow but steady refurbishment effort. While our room was sad, we were also shown the new rooms that were nearly completed and they are very nice! Keep this one on your list for the future. Prices will be going up for the new rooms, no doubt. Be sure to ask which room you are getting so you won't be disappointed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice Location, Awful Rooms

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Cons: Update and clean your rooms!
Location: Right across from moonstone beach
You get what you pay for. Which isn't a lot apparently. This hotel was cheap for a quick weekend trip to Hearst Castle. There is no carpeting whatsoever. The sheets were squeaky as other reviewers have mentioned. I tried to check in early apparently the hotel manager had something come up and the lobby was closed. Was not able to check in a little after 4pm. The first night I found a spider crawling around the sheets of the bed. Seriously? Not cool. The next morning I found a beetle crawling around my pillow a little after I had gotten out of bed. Found another spider by the tub. Honestly, I don't think the room was ever cleaned prior to check in. I could wipe dust from the nightstand with my finger. I would not stay at this location again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

Cambria

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Right across the street from the Pacific Ocean.................................................................
Cons: More staff when busy.
Location: Right across the street from the Pacific Ocean.................................................................
Right across the street from the Pacific Ocean.................................................................
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but poor facilities

Posted May 29, 2015
The room looks old and bathroom fan is very very noisy. The hotel is too old and need to be refurbished. Luckily the bedding is clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calif

Not a luxury property like some here

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: LOCATION and people
Cons: Black-painted wood floors could be tiled---fireplace bricks needed work---room with bathtub needed upgrade badly.
Location: So many natural wonders to hike around and enjoy, as well as Cambria, San Simeon, Hearst Castle nearby.
This inn has some obvious "remodel needs", but the price cannot be beat---almost 1/2 price of all the others in area. We found the staff pleasant and accommodating. Free parking and breakfast were very nice. Location was absolutely gorgeous (right across street from amazing beach) with lots of great opportunities to explore. Some things in the room were a bit rundown, but all was very clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trabuco Canyon, CA

Needing a better retrofit

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Close to beach
Cons: New Toilet, Sink & Mirror in bath. No storage in bedroom (shelves). New flooring (painted a subfloor where carpet once laid).
Location: Across from beach. Near a cash only restaurant locals favor called the Sea Chest.
Owner is trying to renovate the hotel. Our room had newer linoleum in bath but sink cracked. Toilet rusted, and "ran" in middle of night. Construction left sawdust & dirt everywhere. I've stayed 3 other hotels in Moonstone Beach all superior. Not worth the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Not bad for the price

Posted May 13, 2015
The guy at the front desk was very nice and even allowed my son and I to check in at noon ( normal check in is at 3). The area rug in the room was pretty dirty, but the room overall was fairly clean. The whole property needs updated, the shower head is way too low. It's a great place to stay if you have dogs. The pet fees are great and I didn't feel like I had to worry if they made a mess. It was perfect for a quick get away with my son but would not choose it as a romantic getaway with my partner.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield

Posted May 8, 2015
The Inn is in a great location. Staff were friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. Our room had a gas fireplace to take the chill out of the sea air. Perfect for a get away; poor cel phone coverage for both AT&T and T-mobile, wifi worked, but barely. Over-all, I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Beverly Hills, CA

Beautiful, home-y hotel with ocean front view

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Location: We walked thru downtown Cambria on our day there and only saw about 1/3rd of the shops, but all of them were adorable!
We had such a great time during our stay at Mariner's Inn! The suite was beautiful, elegant, and best of all QUIET! The ocean views from the deck are amazing and so relaxing. The staff was friendly and welcoming, and provided great information on what to do in town and the area.