Ratings based on 293 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2012
Great hotel and great location. Dont count on the breakfast to get you full though. Would stay again. Restauraunt next door is amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location. Great hotel.

Posted Sep 3, 2012
Location: Cambria is a beautiful sea-side town on the Central Californian coast. The hotel is located across the road from the sea shore.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Moonstone Landing. The room was large and look as though it was recently remodeled. The room we had also had a working fireplace. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was large with very nice tile work. The hotel also provided a continental breakfast which was also very good. I would definitely recommend this hotel. S.D.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eduardo from Redwood City, CA, USA

A Great Surprise

Posted Sep 2, 2012
Pros: Location, view, room was awesome, included breakfast was very good.
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Small and charming city, only about 7 miles from the Hearst Castle, with a beautiful coast.
We booked this hotel to stay overnight during our trip from Santa Monica back to San Francisco bay area on CA-1. We planned to visit the Hearst Castle so we decided to look for a hotel as close to it as possible. So we found the small (but charming) city of Cambria in the map, which is right after San Luis Obispo and about 7 miles from the castle. To my surprise, there were lots of hotel options in Cambria. And most seemed really fancy and not cheap. So we ended up choosing this hotel mostly for its lower price compared to others. And to my even bigger surprise, both the location and the hotel were way better than expected! The location is simply beautiful, the street is full of charming little hotels and also has a couple good restaurants. Our hotel was just great. The reception was amazing, hotel is in pristine condition and we couldn't believe how charming, cozy and comfortable our room was when we opened the door. And even though it was not front-facing, we still had a nice view of the ocean and the sunset. Oh! And the included breakfast was really good as well! We definitely left this place with that desire to have stayed longer and planning to come back sometime.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Louise, from los angeles, ca

Nice hotel for couples

Posted Sep 1, 2012
Pros: Lovely bathroom, nice amenities for a lovely bubble bath!
Cons: No real complaints
Location: Waterfront, close enough to several restaurants.
Moonstone Landing lived up to our expectations. The room was very pleasant and comfortable. The location was good, near the water. Although our room had a limited view, we could see the ocean from a small window. The second floor, where we were, is probably better for a view unless you have a front room. Our room had a gas-lighted fireplace which is cozy and good for chilly nights. Breakfast can be taken on their patio or brought to your room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great Cambria stay

Posted Aug 28, 2012
We have stayed at many of the hotels in Cambria on Moonstone Beach and now feel that this is the best in many respects.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Texas

Pleasant stay

Posted Aug 24, 2012
Pros: Fireplace in room, friendly staff
The hotel was in a perfect location right on the Pacific coast. Rooms were cozy and welcoming. Staff was exceptionally accommodating and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Howard from Walnut Creek, CA, USA

We enjoyed the staff and met some very nice guests

Posted Aug 23, 2012
Pros: staff
Cons: room ventilation
Location: very good
Wonderful and very accommodating staff. Room was very comfortable except at night when it was impossible to get any ventilation (air flow) even with the window open. Perhaps small fans could be made available upon request.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Corina from Ripon, CA, USA

Excellent for all it's quiet and peaceful restfull

Posted Aug 21, 2012
Pros: Beach access is right in front
Cons: having to leave
Location: it's perfect
We have stayed here many times and have always had the best of care, rooms are large and views are great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dee from Long Beach, CA, USA

Moonstone Landing

Posted Aug 18, 2012
Pros: Ocean view
Cons: coffee service, noise
Location: Ocean setting!
We enjoyed our visit to Cambria and the Moonstone Landing, and found the Inn to be charming with it's ocean-view rooms and Mission furniture. Beds were comfy. Our complaints are minor - there was a lack of sound-proofing that resulted in some noise, the TV was an older model (but the cable was fine), and the innkeepers seemed rather uninterested in guests to us, both at check in and check out when we were simply told to toss our key in a basket. Also, we were disappointed in the lack of in-room coffee service, as we need sweetener for our coffee - we found nothing but sugar. These are all rather minor complaints that can be easily corrected, the Inn is still excellent in it's access to the Beach and it's comfort and charm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Moonstone Landing

Posted Aug 18, 2012
Clean,comfortable, close to town. Across from the boardwalk on the beach!