Ratings based on 367 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent hotel just off the beach

Posted May 27, 2015
great location, quiet and cozy room with the oven. Nice staff there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas

Excellent View of Beach

Posted May 19, 2015
Cons: Better sound-proofing. We could hear other couple and could even hear the people beneath them complaining. (kinda funny actually).
Location: Can't beat the beach proximity. Wine Tasting, Hearst Castle, Big Sur and etc.
We booked the superior room (all that was available) expensive but the ocean view was probably worth it. I live in Las Vegas now but have to have my ocean fix periodically. Listening to the waves is the best therapy around. Staff was friendly and enjoyed chatting with other guests. Check in and accessing WiFi was a cinch. My only complaint is that they should really consider replacing the mattress in 204. One side was so sunken in I felt like I was sleeping on another level than the rest of the bed. Though not too much in walking distance, but hey walking the ocean boardwalk is all you need in a nice quiet town such as Cambria. Will definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the view from your room, we definitely have the best ocean view rooms in the area. We hope you alerted the Front Desk about the mattress in your room so that we could immediately address it, which we will now do. Thank you for staying with us and for choosing Moonstone Landing for your destination. Sincerely, Moonstone Landing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Beautiful rooms. Great ocean view.

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Perfect location. Rooms are beautiful with nice attention to detail. Front desk staff not very cordial. Otherwise it would have been a 5 star rating. Breakfast was good but they need someone on the staff to eat their breakfast buffet so they can see how poorly it is arranged. Overall we loved it. We'll be back next year!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the quality of your room. We apologize that our Front Desk staff did not make you feel welcome, we will be addressing the importance of hospitality with all of our staff. Thank you for the input on the breakfast, we will definitely review this area. It's wonderful to hear that you will be returning, we look forward to your next visit and hope to make your next visit a more relaxing and memorable experience! Best Regards, Moonstone Landing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

Beautiful location, clean, great staff

Posted Apr 25, 2015
The staff were fantastic. The location's great, right across the street from the stairs down a small cliff with a sandy beach. The street has a very low speed limit (25mph), and it doesn't have very many cars driving through-- just people going to the beach or the hotels. The Expedia summary didn't indicate it, but the hotel includes free cold breakfast. And free coffee throughout the day at the office. Also, though I didn't use it, the hotel has a hot tub. Downside: -the hotel has two floors; choose a top floor room, as sound travels (we were on the second floor, and the room next to us had kids; the night they arrived, I could have sworn they were elephants. I would not have been happy to be below them.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

accross from Beach

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Nice, clean, roomy
Location: you can spend all the time at the beach, small park just down the street, if you want to eat lunch or dinner you will need to drive into town
we had a down stairs room, you could hear ALL walking above, and the room above us had small children running around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom vancouver washington

Beautiful view and across the street from the beac

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Arrived to moonstone landing and greeted by Mary the manager, who gave us an immediate free room upgrade or the option of beachfront room for a little more. Fantastic view and comfortable clean accommodations Continental breakfast was excellent Best stay of our trip!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom jacksonville, fl

Great place for a Get-Away

Posted Apr 13, 2015
We stayed here over a weekend in April. The weather was perfect. Toured Hearst Castle, saw the elephant seals, walked the beach and had a good dinner on Main Street. The hotel was super nice, clean and well appointed. We loved the fireplace, although it was almost too warm to enjoy it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northern California

Lovely hotel across the street from the beach.

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: The location was perfect. The rooms were large, perfectly clean and charming.
Cons: The breakfast, but it would not stop us from returning.
Location: Great location with the ocean across the street. Moonstone beach and the elephant seal rookery were our favorite things. The town is very cute also.
My son and I stayed here for part of his spring break. The room was very nice, super clean and the fire place was totally charming. The room had a fridge, a mini microwave and a coffee maker. The bathroom was large and modern. The breakfast was ok, but not a deal killer. Tyson liked being able to get hot chocolate all day (same with coffee and tea). We really liked this hotel and would most certainly return. The location was perfect!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. It's nice to hear you appreciated the cleanliness and comfort of your room. Many guests, such as yourself, love the warmth and ambiance of our fireplaces. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again if you are ever in the area!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, Great location

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: Location, Space
Location: Hearst Castle, beach
The location of the hotel was great. It was right by the water, with rooms facing the sunset. The rooms are also very spacious, and the bed was really comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Medellin

Nice hotel after Carmel and Big sur

Posted Mar 31, 2015
We started our trip in San Francisco and then traveled to Santa Cruz, drove trough Monterrey, the 17 mile drive, Carmel, the PCH 1 with the astonishing views, the Big sur and finally ended in Csmbria and spent one night at the Moonstone Landing. A very nice hotel, a great breakfast and very friendly staff.