Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

1 night stop over

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: lots of character
Cons: to change would be to take away the charm,
Location: walking into the little town of Cambria is nice with lots of different restaurants and nice little shops.
Pleasant guest house, within walking distance to nice little town,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

CONVENIENT TO TOWN

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Room at the top is a very nice room. The only downside being a separate bathroom across the hall. Delicious breakfast served by a very nice gal named Mary! Price was right, so we gave it a try!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but could have been better

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: Bed was comfy and a nice setting outside for wine and canapés.
Cons: Making sure people know they don't have a bathroom in their room even if they book online
Location: Some shops and restaurants near by
We booked this b&b in a hurry and didn't pay attention to the reviews. We were excited when we arrived because it looked very cute. The Inn keeper wasn't that friendly we thought. When he showed us to our room which was at the front of the house near the front door (Santa Rosa ) I straight away asked where the bathroom was! Down the hall opposite the breakfast room/lounge area. It was our private bathroom though but I was not happy. When I asked if we could have a private in room bathroom he said no because we should have booked directly with them and not the internet! I thought that was a rude comment to make because we wouldn't have even known about the place if we didn't look on the internet. No TV either, probably because the walls are thin and you hear everything in the next room. The ladies in the room next door spoke loudly and laughed a lot. Anyway besides this the Happy Hour was good and the breakfast and staff at breakfast was great. We have been to better B&Bs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dee from Wilmington, NC

Relaxing B&B close to Pacific Coast Highway

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: After a long day of driving, sitting out on the deck with a complimentary glass of wine chatting to other guests was a perfect end to the day.
Cons: The bathroom for the room I was staying in was not directly attached to the room. This is not a major flaw and wouldn't prevent me from staying again
Location: Hearst Castle is an absolute must - amazing views and fantastic story behind it. Elephant Seal beach has to be seen
Stayed here for one night having driven down the Pacific Coast Highway from Carmel. The B&B is charming and the location is perfect. It is exactly what you hope to experience when you book a B&B - friendly host, clean rooms, unique style - a place where you can relax and feel at home. The location was superb, Cambria is a delightful little town with a wide selection of places to eat. Hearst Castle is close by, along with many other sights on Highway 1. I would happily have stayed here longer
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Valley California

Forgot to double check the amenities...

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Nice bed and sheets.
Cons: Install televisions and better wifi.
Location: Good food at Linns.
I didn't read the fine print about the fact that we had our own private bathroom, but it was across the hall from our room! Also, there was no television in the room. However, there was wifi but again it was too weak to connect to our devices. Luckily we had our phones that were able to provide hot spots for our devices. My husband was able to watch Xfinity from his device. Since most of the town rolled up its carpets and closed its doors by 7 o'clock, it was a really quiet night. Except of course when we heard the other people staying upstairs come up and down the stairs and open and close their doors. Lots of money to spend.....wish I had paid an extra $20 and stayed somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Very Warm Anniversary Quick Get-Away! :-)

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: It was walking distance to the village and the food was wonderful!
Cons: The pillow I had was to thick and the bed was soft. I think if the pillow was thinner I would have had a better nights sleep!
Location: We ate at the Sow's Ear…..Excellent Choice!!!!
This was our first time at a bed and breakfast inn. It did take us by surprise when they said that our restroom was down the hall and that we had our very own key. Also, they did offer rooms with the bathroom attached for more money. We opted to stay with the original reservation and the experience was really wonderful and the Cambria village shops and restaurants were in walking distance. They had a meet and greet time with wine, cheese, dips and crackers. Very enjoyable! The house was like you were at grandma's house and we hung out by the kitchen. Also the breakfast that did come with the reservation was fantastic!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Very Warm Anniversary Quick Get-Away! :-)

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: It was walking distance to the village and the food was wonderful!
Cons: The pillow I had was to thick and the bed was soft. I think if the pillow was thinner I would have had a better nights sleep!
Location: We ate at the Sow's Ear…..Excellent Choice!!!!
This was our first time at a bed and breakfast inn. It did take us by surprise when they said that our restroom was down the hall and that we had our very own key. Also, they did offer rooms with the bathroom attached for more money. We opted to stay with the original reservation and the experience was really wonderful and the Cambria village shops and restaurants were in walking distance. They had a meet and greet time with wine, cheese, dips and crackers. Very enjoyable! The house was like you were at grandma's house and we hung out by the kitchen. Also the breakfast that did come with the reservation was fantastic!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dale from Torrance, CA

Very welcoming and friendly staff and guests

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had been wanting to try a B&B for some time and finally did, at The Ollieberry Inn in Cambria. Our first night was OK, in a room with the bathroom across the hall. For the second night my wife arranged to have us move to a larger room with ensuite bath in the newer building adjacent to the B&B. This room was much nicer and more comfortable. The afternoon wine and cheese social hour was a lot of fun and the fresh cooked breakfasts were very good as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jason C from San Diego, CA

Great location and breakfast.

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
My first time at a B&B. Best part was the homemade breakfast and the enjoying the company of the other guests. Talking with other travelers really is a different experience than what I'm used to when staying at a hotel. The location is also great as you are easily within walking distance of Cambria. After the satisfying breakfast my girlfriend and I walked the quaint streets of Cambria and marveled at the number of scarecrows lining every corner of the town. Now the rooms unfortunately were not as enjoyable. While the room itself was very clean, the location of the bathroom for the Santa Rosa room was actually down the hall and adjacent to the breakfast room. Not the most ideal location, especially when you're trying to get ready in the morning while other guests are eating their breakfast. However, our biggest complaint was the fluorescent lighting in the room. The wall lighting fixtures all used fluorescent bulbs which produced a pretty harsh and sterile white glare. Also the walls are extremely thin...could definitely hear the conversation of the couple next to our room and people going up and down the stairs. Nevertheless, the place has charm. There are journals kept next to bed that date back to the 90's. Generally people writing their thoughts about the room or detailing what they did during their stay in Cambria. There are, however, some more eccentric entries that will make you laugh.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Suzanne and Phil from Eugene, OR

Very disappointing!

Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very steep and narrow stairs make luggage a real challenge, and no one is available to help with bags. Bed and bed linens were extremely comfortable, but that was the only redeeming feature. For $170 per night, we certainly expected the "private bath" to be en suite, not across the hall! The "garden view" consists of overgrown bushes in front of the window obstructing the view of rooftops and utility lines. The breakfast, although adequate, was entirely basic. The only effort at home cooking was apple cinnamon pancakes, but they were served with no breakfast meat at all -- no sausage, no bacon, no ham, etc. Overall, as seasoned travelers both domestically and internationally, we've experienced better quality from the occasional Motel 6, and certainly at a better price.