Ratings based on 498 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Awesome hotel, just off the beach with ocean view

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: View is awesome.
Cons: The service staff noted that the room I stayed in was recently remodeled. It seemed strange that the toliet was place right next to the shower.
Location: This hotel is on Moonstoone Beach Dr in Cambria. Very beautiful small town for walking around.
Overall experience was great! I will be back. Room was clean. View was awesome. Service was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Nice total, walk to the beach, trails

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Cons: Missing a counter on bathroom sink!
Location: beach, trails
fairly spacious room, that was very clean. The bathroom was a little disappointing, mostly because there is no counter, just the sink; however, everything else in the bathroom was good. the room comes with breakfast and it was pretty tasty and varied. Overall, it was good hotel on the beach with excellent location, good sized rooms and clean. I would go there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Graeme

Great location..

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Nice to be on the beach, with a great walk along the boardwalk... nice little town, just wish we could have spent a bit longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Pleasant surroundings near the ocean

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Very close to the beach
Cons: The coffee maker in the room did not work
Location: Very near a wonderful walk way along the beach Close to the town of Cambria
I was upgraded to a room with an ocean view fabulous nice friendly staff-good breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Craig from Harbor City, CA

Decent hotel, a bit overpriced.

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Well maintained, friendly staff. Great location, decent breakfast. Super location.
Cons: Needs grab bars in the shower. Pool should be warmer.
Location: Great views and walks along Moonstone Beach. Close to Hearst Castle.
We had a pleasant two day stay at the Pelican. A nice, clean room but maybe not up to the price level. Moonstone Beach offers super views and scenic walks along the board walk, just across the street from the hotels. It was a short walk to the only good restaurant in the area. The pool was a little cold for my wife. Parking was a bit tight, we walked to diner instead of losing our parking spot. There are enough spaces but not easy for a full size truck. Some of the rooms offer spectacular views, but at an increased rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diana from Brentwood, CA

Would definitely go back

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Location: In Cambria, a quick drive into a cute little town with shops and yummy food. We spent most of our time in the Antique stores in the West Village.
This was our first experience with the Pelican Inn and Suites and I would most definitely make another trip. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Our room included a fireplace, a nice feature, microwave, frig, coffee maker and small patio. Our stay included a full hot breakfast, 2 types or scrambled eggs, potato and bacon, toast, bagels or waffles, fresh fruit, yogurt and oatmeal. Everything to keep you going throughout the day. The beach is right across the street and you can walk in either direction and find somewhere to relax and just watch the beauty and strength of the ocean. My only complaint is that you can not really regulate the temperature in the room. We could not adjust speed of the fan or turn off the fireplace. Only on one occasion did our room get too warm for us, even with the patio door open. So we decided to take a walk instead. Nothing that would ruin our trip. I would recommend this hotel to everyone I know.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ann from San Francisco, CA

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, hospitality
Location: Go into town - it's adorable. Nice antique shops, bakeries, restaurants, and a very cute "British" part of town right off the main drag.
This is a very nice hotel, location cannot be beat, right across the street from crashing waves and miles of ocean. We had a traditional queen room which faced the parking lot. The room was quite nice, however there were a number of towel animals located throughout that took up a lot of space. It was a cute touch, but perhaps pull back JUST A TAD - we had 4 of these monsters all over the place. The wine/cheese and breakfast offerings were just fine - nothing gourmet about it, just simple and good. The front desk folks were lovely - answered all of our questions, offered us an upgrade (paid) and went out of their way to make sure we were satisfied with our room selection. Then we went to our friends' room who were also staying and saw why they offered the upgrade - the ocean view rooms are FABULOUS. They also had a little sitting room down a couple of stairs and a fireplace and a lanai! Wow - what a view they had! Next time we will take them up on their offer to upgrade!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Denise from San Jose, Ca

Peaceful

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: The complimentary breakfast was great. Not at all like other "hotels" that offer breakfast.
Location: San Simeon is nearby and so is Morro Bay. Quick drives in either direction.
This was our first time to the area. It was beautiful and quiet. Just what we needed. We didn't want to leave!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent in all respects.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice location and staff.

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Wonderful location if you enjoy long walks on the beach and beautiful sunsets.