Ratings based on 534 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location - love Cambria.

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: The room was lovely with a very comfy bed and separate sitting area plus balcony. Very clean. I'd definitely stay again and would recommend to others
Cons: There was no air conditioning so in the heat of the day the room was too warm. There are ceiling fans but they are not as effective as an AC unit.
Location: Hearst Castle, great beaches and walks plus elephant seals!
Just stayed for one night to visit Hearst Castle. It's a great location to break up journey between San Francisco and Los Angeles.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely overpriced for the quality of stay.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Due to the supply and demand the hotels in the area are way overpriced. When you spend that much a night for a room it should be far above a motel 6 quality. The gouge that the hotel operators directly impact the ability to spend money in other establishments and hurts all of the local business. I will not stay in Cambria again due to this gouge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This place was perfect....STAY HERE!

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Location, Staff was VERY friendly and helpful. I loved the shape of the room and the fireplace.
Cons: I would only have changed the amount of time I stayed. Had no idea i would so enjoy my stay so much.
Location: We went wine tasting, toured the castle, which I hope to come back and do the night tour. Had amazing food, took a beautiful walk on the beach.
We had a wonderful time and the hotel was perfect. The room was romantic for a well needed get away. The hotel has a great location overall and has a perfect view of the ocean. We watch the most beautiful sunset at the cheese and wine party. Also the breakfast was yummy. The staff was wonderful and the next time we come, and we will....this will be the place we stay. We came for the castle and ended up getting so much more. Thank you for making this a wonderful getaway.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from huntington beach

Excellent location on the beach

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Stopped for a night on the way to Hearst castle and San Francisco . Went for a walk on the beach, Beautiful evening and nice dinner In Cambria
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was terrific and the waitstaff very professional and helpful. Additionally the wine reception in the evenings was delightful.
This room was extremely over priced for its size and amenities; however, the property is in an excellent location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santa cruz ca

Amazing location with a fabulous view.

Posted Oct 5, 2014
We loved the perfect location of this hotel. We could hear the waves crashing while laying in bed. We had a great vacation and will sure to be back!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

The hotel was everything we expected!!

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Everything!!!
Location: We had fun shopping in the town. We found some excellent restaurants. The beach was right across the street which we loved.
We were celebrating our 55th anniversary. We were very happy that we chose your hotel. The breakfast and the wine tasting was excellent. The staff were very helpful and very courteous. Our rooms were beautiful and very comfortable. We would definitely recommend your hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burbank, Ca.

Disappointed..

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Clean.. location..
I was given the last room in the very back of the hotel.. Very noisy from the parking lot..car doors slamming and driving by.. voices in the morning when I was trying to sleep... had to keep windows open due to lack of A/C.. not a pleasant experience. Had trouble operating the shower. Water was really hot or really cold.. controls had been modified and were awful to use.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston Ma

Right on the beach!

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Right on the beach, close to town!
Cons: Hot tub did not work.
Location: Beach, close to town
So far my favorite beach location! Loved the boardwalk and the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Great for a get-away.

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Cons: The bathroom had a couple of silverfish. The black-out curtain was grubby at the pull-rod. The carpet had some spots.
Location: Don't miss touring Hearst's castle!
We had a lovely time. There were two good restaurants within a few minutes walking distance. The beach was just across the street, so we were able to take a leisurely evening stroll. Everyone was very friendly. Along with the usual hair dryer, there was also an iron and ironing board. The bath tub had jets and, once we learned how to use it, it was so relaxing after a long day of walking. The breakfast buffet included make-your-own-waffles, which we enjoyed. The cheese and wine social was also a nice touch. A paper was delivered to our door every morning. The fireplace in our room made for a cozy atmosphere. The lobby has a binder with the menus of most of the restaurants in the area, with prices, and we found that to be very helpful. The bed was very comfortable and we lounged around our room in the waffle-weave robes which were provided.