Ratings based on 719 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Nice hotel, across the street from the beach

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Location: across the street from the beach. Nice rooms. Nice breakfast & afternoon reception.
Cons: Hotels need to push the wireless carriers to improve coverage. Very stressful to be unreachable so much of the time.
Location: The Beach is the draw. There is a big row of hotels and one restaurant. Main Street has many shops & restaurants. Restaurants all close at 8 or 9.
Technology beware:**No cellular coverage on this property for most carriers. Check before going. If you need to be reached by phone, stay elsewhere. Hotel charges a LOT of money for phone calls. Wifi is unreliable and not always working plus does not work for voice calls*** Hotel had wrong reservation dates and claimed Expedia sent them the wrong dates. Call hotel after you book to ensure they have the right dates. Hotel is across the street from the beach, which is very nice for walking. Nicely appointed rooms including lots of pillows on bed, fireplace, Keurig coffeemaker. Water is SOFT. Shower has low flow shower head so it's like taking a shower with needles. Hotel is 2 stories high and no elevator. Also there is no AC so while it's not needed for temperature purposes, if you want fresh air you have to leave the window open, so there is outside noise, cars parking, people walking by. For privacy you have to pull the blackout curtains. Extensive free breakfast buffet and also a nice wine, cheese, dessert reception every day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

One of many to choose from

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Across the street from the Pacific ocean and I had stayed here before. There are MANY other like choices in Cambria. Choose another property.
Cons: Yeah, stay in Santa Barbara instead. Harbor View Inn.
They were sealing the parking area asphalt, made parking a nightmare. Instead of shutting down for 24hours they made customers deal with the hassle. There was some old guy spray painting the adjacent fence, with a spray can. think I wanted to park my Mercedes close to that painter? The staff was apologetic but that doesn't solve the problem, now does it? The room itself was OK but the carpet was stained and looked filthy. And I paid $300 for this room? I have NO problem paying $300 for a room. This one didn't measure up. Then, I asked the check-in staff about the restaurant down the street... what are my odds for a table as a walk-in at 7pm for one person. The answer? "How am I supposed to know?" I responded, "You live here, you work here, you're supposed to know. That's your job." She danced a good tune. Turned out the wait was 5 minutes. :) But you get my point.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from The Bahamas

Nice hotel near Hearst Castle in a charming town

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: The staff were very helpful. The location was great!
Location: 10 minutes or so from Hearst Castle, 15 - 20 minutes from the Elephant Seal lookout. The town Cambria is quaint and beautiful with lovely restaurants.
My husband and I stayed here on our way up to San Francisco. The hotel was in a lovely location with the ocean and a beautiful boardwalk right across the street. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. There was a cocktail hour with wine and cheese served daily and it was delicious! Breakfast (complimentary) was also delicious. The room was well appointed and comfortable with a fireplace inside and an awesome "deck" area with nice seating and ocean views. The toiletries were top notch. We had a great experience!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santa barbara

Staff - a "D"....misshaps and excuses from "go"

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Fireplace didn't work - first room...which was the "wrong room". They upgraded me ...but didn't tell me. Moved me...fireplace didn't work. Staff blaming each other. No apologies. The manager - Rebecca Argued with me...offered to comp me a free night. I said "no thanks". She begged - I said ok. Loved the location and the brunch - the customer service, unprofessional, snarky. For $200 a night...,not worth the insults
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Beautiful Hotel and Perfect Location

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Hotel is just a stones throw from the beach. Very friendly staff and rooms are beautiful. Food isn't the best but with the plethora of options who stays for the food anyway. It's better than most continental breakfasts anywhere else! Great inn and great staff give this 5 stars. Loved it. Planning another trip already.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel By the Beach

Posted Jun 8, 2015
We stayed at Pelican Inn & Suites during a weekend road trip to Cambria. The location is excellent, with the boardwalk right in front of the hotel for a nice evening and morning walk. The hotel was very clean and the hot buffet style breakfast was excellent. This is the best hotel we've been to in this area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G.

Nice hotel. On the shore.

Posted Jun 4, 2015
You will need a car for almost everything. Only thing in walking distance are two restaurants. And a fantastic Boardwalk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jose, ca

Relaxing time

Posted May 28, 2015
Spacious room and great location. Friendly staff and welcome breakfast. Cell service is marginal, but wifi was provided.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bethany Beach, DE

Good hotel very close to beach

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Location to Cambria and Hearst Castle.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Close to Cambria and Hearst Castle sightseeing.
Great location for beach activities and visits to the Hearst Castle. Good views of the ocean and very relaxing location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Great location

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: We like its closeness to the gorgeous beach, we liked the fireplace and the very comfortable bed.
Cons: Cleanliness for sure, making sure housekeeping follows a protocol for the rooms. If the room had been clean this would have been an excellent stay!
Location: Location was great! Walk to beach and see wildlife right away. Close to Hearst Castle as well as the Elephant Seals at Pierdas Blancas.
We love the location. We were checked in speedily and there was ample parking. Room looked semi updated. The paint on the walls is chipped and nicked everywhere, in addition, looks like they need to be wiped down. The bed was comfortable, linens were fresh and comfortable, the bathroom needs to be updated. The fireplace was a nice touch and warmed the room well. The cleanliness of the room was questionable. The coffee area had not been cleaned, ran finger over counter and edge and all was very dirty. The area in the bathroom where fresh towels are kept was visibly dirty with hair mixed with dust etc. Thankfully we brought wipes to wipe down these areas. Next morning noticed a large spider web attached to the bed and wall, it had been there awhile since it was quite elaborate and had dust on it as well. If I would have seen the night before I fell asleep there I would have freaked out. Obviously housekeeping is not being checked up on and there is no standard for room cleanliness. It was disappointing but we appreciated having a comfy bed to sleep in after a long drive.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2015 by PelicanSuites, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, We are glad that you enjoyed our beautiful Moonstone Beach and found the amenities here at the Pelican to your liking as well. It is a great location to see wildlife, the elephant seals, Hearst Castle, and the Piedras Blancas Lighthouse. We recently hired a new housekeeping manager who is working very closely with our team to assure that our high standard of cleanliness is consistently achieved. Please contact me, and I will personally address your concerns and find a satisfactory resolution. Sincerely, Becky Siemen Guest Service Supervisor