Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom f

Great hotel, comfy bed. Close to beach.

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Hotel was clean, quiet & comfortable. Close walk to beach. Restaurant had excellent food! Recommend to all
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Totally fine. It's close to our destination from hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Clean, Safe, Excellent beach access.

Posted Jan 9, 2015
A motor lodge style motel that's right on the beach. Fire pits along the back near beach access. Get a room overlooking the water and you have a five star view for a quarter of the price. Rooms recently remodeled. New furniture. Would stay again if going up/down the coast. Added bonus, allows pets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice.

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Nice, clean, modernized place. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Good. After breakfast, I walked around hotel. It was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Staff was friendly, place was clean, price was right! Overall, it was a very nice stay. I would recommend this place to anyone with a budget but don't want to sacrifice comfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cambria, CA

Newly Remodeled

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Super friendly front desk staff. Close to the water.
Room has been newly remodeled and is comfortable. The motel is a great value for the price. Will stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Pasadena, CA

Nice hotel close to Hearst Castle

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Great price, pet friendly, swimming pool, nice sized room
Cons: The restaurant next door, although not part of this hotel, is where you go to get breakfast is not worth the effort.
We stayed at Sands by the Sea just before Thanksgiving 2014 due to the hotel's proximity to Hearst Castle and Cambria.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CALIFORNIA

GOOD LOCATION, GREAT ROOM

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: BED AND PILLOWS WERE VERY COMFORTABLE
Cons: I GOT THE FEELING THAT THE HOTEL WAS MERGING WITH A HOTEL NEXT DOOR. THERE WAS NO ONE IN THE OFFICE AT CHECK IN OR CHECK OUT.....
Location: WE STAYED THERE BECAUSE WE WANTED TO SEE HEARST CASTLE, BUT THE CASTLE DID NOT HAVE ANY HANDICAPPED SPACES AVAILABLE SO WE MISSED IT.
WE ARRIVED LATE SO HAD TO RING A BELL AND SOMEONE WAS SENT FROM SOMEWHERE ELSE TO GIVE US A KEY....TOOK A LITTLE TO LONG BUT IT WAS OK...ROOM WAS GREAT, NO COMPLAINTS...WISH WE HAD HAD MORE TIME, WOULD HAVE LIKED TO HAVE WALKED ON THE BEACH....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Hotel room was clean and comfortable. Not a bad price for what you get. Very close to Hearst Castle.