Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom california

Just a room

Posted Mar 16, 2015
When you get there after 9:00pm they are locked. You ring a bell and 10 min later someone from the hotel next door hotel brings you an envelope with your keys and bill. Not very friendly like not sure I would be back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ashland, Oregon

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Clean and comfortable, reasonable rate for the area.
Cons: Communications regarding how to ensure maid service and training of staff.
Location: The weather was great, the ocean air refreshing, good walking trails and scenery. Great restaurants, a bit pricy but good food.
This is a older hotel that has undergone some updating; some remains to be completed. The room was very clean and comfortable. We stayed five nights at a very good rate. The hotel was very quiet except for one night when the couple next door came back drunk and shared their domestic issues through the walls at 2am in the morning. We called security and they resolved the problem within the next 15 minutes. The other issue we had was getting the room refreshed on a daily basis. If you want "maid service" you need to place a sign on your door knob. This was not communicated to us upon check in. The 1st day, we did not put a sign out but the room was taken care of. The second day, no sign and the room was not taken care of. I was informed that the 1st night was a mistake. So, we put the sign out every day and that worked for the 3rd day. On the 4th day, even though the sign was out the maid only made the bed. The remainder of the room was left like we left it in the morning. No dirty laundry removal, no clean towels, no trash dumped, no soap; you get the picture. When I went to the lobby to get the necessary items, I was told that there was someone new cleaning the rooms. Training????, No
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Napa CA

Good Location

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Could use some updating and repairs in rooms.
Location: Minutes from Hearst Castle and Elephant Seals. Cambria fun to explore.
This hotel was rated 2 stars and that is what it was. There is no sea view at all. Wallpaper peeling, dirt or mold on floor boards. Bathroom, however, was clean and inviting
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: quiet with good beds
Cons: doesn't actually offer breakfast
close to Hearst Castle and a short jaunt to the beach. on the beach side of the highway
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arizona

NOT BEACH FRONT PROPERTY! NO VIEWS OF BEACH!

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Close to beach & Hearst Castle. Rooms are clean, have comfy beds and have great restaurant with hotel.
Cons: Either offer more to eat for the Continental Breakfast or don't offer it at all. The way you have it set up makes you seem stingy.
Location: Great location for the beach and Hearst Castle.
DO NOT BOOK IF YOU'RE EXPECTING A ROOM ON THE BEACH OR EVEN A VIEW OF IT! My husband & I FINALLY had our first vacation ALONE in 7 years and we were excited to get away and thought we were booking a room with a view of the beach / on the beach. We were crushed to find out upon check in that no rooms had a view of the beach except 1 which offered a hint of a view. The pictures used on Expedia are misleading, causing you to assume this hotel is beach front property. I will say this, it's still much closer to the beach than booking a room across the street. So don't get me wrong, it's still not a bad location. I just want to warn others that there is NO VIEW of the beach from any of the rooms EXCEPT room 248 which gives you a "peak-a-boo" view between two other buildings which my husband and I begged for on our 2nd night there and they were so kind enough to give us because we complained about how misleading the ads were. Also, the free continental breakfast is something to laugh at. At most places that offer this, an array of pastries, cereals, breads, juices, milk and coffee are usually served "buffet style" which allows you to eat until you're full. Here, they give a voucher for 2 people then you have to walk to a restaurant where they serve you 1 danish, a teeny glass of juice and a cup of coffee. That's it! OR you can use the voucher for $3 off a menu item which is pricey. Rooms are small, smell musty but they are clean & beds are comfy. Staff was great too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arizona

Disappointed - NOT ON THE BEACH!

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Still very close to the beach and their restaurant The Cavalier was excellent. We enjoyed our stay.
Cons: Continental Breakfast is pathetic. You should (at the very least) add a small cup of fruit and larger glass of juice. Service feels Stingy. Sad!
Location: Location is great being very close to the beach. Dining is excellent and the Hearst Castle is practically next door. Beautiful just driving there.
DO NOT BOOK IF YOU'RE EXPECTING A ROOM ON THE BEACH OR EVEN A VIEW OF IT! My husband & I FINALLY had our first vacation ALONE in 7 years and we were excited to get away and thought we were booking a room with a view of the beach / on the beach. We were crushed to find out upon check in that no rooms had a view of the beach except 1 which offered a hint of a view. The pictures used on Expedia are misleading, causing you to assume this hotel is beach front property. I will say this, it's still much closer to the beach than booking a room across the street. So don't get me wrong, it's still not a bad location. I just want to warn others that there is NO VIEW of the beach from any of the rooms EXCEPT room 248 which gives you a "peak-a-boo" view between two other buildings which my husband and I begged for on our 2nd night there and they were so kind enough to give us because we complained about how misleading the ads were. Also, the free continental breakfast is something to laugh at. At most places that offer this, an array of pastries, cereals, breads, juices, milk and coffee are usually served "buffet style" which allows you to eat until you're full. Here, they give a voucher for 2 people then you have to walk to a restaurant where they serve you 1 danish, a teeny glass of juice and a cup of coffee. That's it! OR you can use the voucher for $3 off a menu item which is pricey. Rooms are small, smell musty but they are clean & beds are comfy. Staff was great too.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom L.A., Ca.

Pictures can be deceiving

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Photos on the web are nothing like the property. The indoor pool looks nothing like the the photos. When I travel, I would like to enjoy a HOT show, like warm was the best I got. It's a crap shoot at best if you will find the desk open and manned. Hand written sign does direct, but for the price I expect a certain level of service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2015
My wife and I were very satisfied with our stay at the Sands by the Sea. We were there in January... probably off season so the rates were great. I would enjoy a trip there just to be in that area again although our purpose was the Hearst Castle. There are two buildings at the Sands and we were in the one farther from the ocean. This could be a better option because I noticed that the ocean could be quite loud. My intention was to be right on the ocean but this turned out to be better. Will definitely want to stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg Canada

Comforting on the Coast

Posted Jan 29, 2015
The hotel manager is very helpful.Rooms open and airy. Very close to the beach. Right on the highway yet very quiet. Highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sunnyvale

Nice hotel!

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Comfy beds, cool pool, close to the beach, close to a nice restaurant, clean!
Cons: ?
Location: We went to the beach and Hearst castle. Perfect location for these activities.
We liked the comfort of the beds, the closeness to the beach, the indoor pool and the staff was especially nice. Thanks for a great experience!