Ratings based on 257 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san francisco, CA

Room was clean and roomy

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: Ocean view and proximity to the beach offered adequate continental breakfast
Cons: pool area
Location: near to hearst castle
We only stayed overnight and our overall experience was good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, Alberta

Posted Apr 1, 2015
This is a very basic place, but it served our purposes (sleep somewhere clean and comfortable and move on in the morning). They seem to be doing some exterior upgrading, which is badly needed. The beds were comfortable, there were lots of pillows, the room was clean, there was a small breakfast - no complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orange County, CA

Upgraded and convinient hotel by 101.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Hotel was convinient, recently upgraded and easy to reach. Staff was friendly and ready to help when asked.
Cons: Yes. Need some hooks in the bathroom. Thicker, the good quality pillows would be plus.
Location: Visited Hearst Castle.
Nice, on the mall budget hotel close to Hearst Castle.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Locations, could see ocean from room and hear it.
Cons: BUY NEW LINENS
towels were like using sandpaper to dry off. With the price of the room they can afford to buy new towels from time to time. Continental breakfast? How long has the cereal been in that dispenser? Not much options on items for breakfast. Little disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oroville, CA

Short walk to the beach!

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Room was decorated very nicely and the shower was very easy to use (unlike some places!)
Cons: The staff was hardly ever in the office when I needed them. Also a little rude when asked questions about surrounding area/wifi/etc.
Location: Must see Hearst Castle! Super short drive from the hotel.
We could see the ocean clearly from our room on the second floor. The short walk to the beach was a huge plus!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

A little bleak

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Rooms OK
Cons: More friendly staff, a smile would be nice, and a better breakfast.
The room was fine, clean and spacious. The staff seemed rather depressed and uninterested. The breakfast was minimal and the breakfast room was in the open air and it was cold outside!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Posted Feb 21, 2015
very nice surrounding area; it was very easy to get around with easy access to the beach and restaurants. The room was comfortable with plenty of space
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

Nice value hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Location, large rooms, good value, refrigerator in room
Location: Very close to the Hearst Mansion and the Elephant Seal Rookery. Located on PCH.
The hotel was a nice value just outside the Hearst Mansion and a good stop on the PCH route between LA and Monterey. The staff is friendly, the rooms are large and clean, the rooms have in-room refrigerators, and the room includes a basic breakfast, which my husband and I found helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Marin, CA

Has the look and feel of a roadside roach motel.

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Nothing other than the location. It was close to the beach, Hearst Castle, and all shopping,dining and beach activities.
Cons: Amenities Towels Toilet Paper Soap Bed/Pillows Thickness of the walls Ultra cheap carpet
Location: Few minutes from Hearst Castle, San Simeon, Moon Stone Beach and Cambria (Got to try Indigo Moon!)
The staff at the front desk was courteous and the hotel was close to the beach. Other than that I can not recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing and/or a romantic get away. While the room was technically clean, it was extremely uncomfortable. The bed and pillows are stiff, the walls are paper thin; You can hear everything and I do mean everything your neighbors do or say. The bathroom towels and toilet paper both were so thin you could see through them (not to mention the body towels are not much bigger than a hand towel) and the soap they use is no better than a rest stop bathroom's soap. The outside of this inn is very run down and dilapidated. Pot holes all over the driveway, broken doors and signs around the property...I even saw a half eaten cheeseburger simply thrown on the floor in the hallway that was still present after my day and evening around the town. The area the hotel in is magical. My advice is to spend a little extra coin and stay in one of the other 30+ hotels/inn's or BnB's in the area. I don't like giving poor reviews when the staff was pleasant, but this is the second time in 5 years I have stayed here (figured I'd give it another go to see if they improved) and it's even worse. Fool me once, shame on you, twice? It's on me, but won't happen again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Glendale,Ca

Great hotel, close to the beach and eating places.

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: It had no bedbugs and it was very clean.
Cons: No.
Location: Its near to eateries, shops, the beach and there's a variety of wildlife.
It was relaxing, restful and overall a great experience.