Ratings based on 337 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 19, 2014
The rooms are nice, and the location is very good. There are not a lot of places to eat nearby if you arrive late.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2014
walk right across small street to the beach big nicely heated pool adequate breakfast comfortable bed - met 2 front-desk staff, both seemed grumpy - charged extra for having our child with us, even though we only had one bed - were given room right next door to maids closet, ice machine, etc. very noisy - expensive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location

Posted Jun 29, 2014
The hotel was perfect for our trip. It's located right across from the beach and it provided the services and amenities we needed for our trip. The staff was very welcoming and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location. Right on the beach. Close to

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Stayed 2 nights. Very clean. Very quaint. Excellent location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new zealand

Located just across the road from the beach

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Its proximity to the beach and town
Cons: An electric jug and milk to make tea.
Location: If you like walking and beaches this is the place for you. It is three miles from Hearst Castle so is very handy for that. Nice meal at Indigo Moon.
This very pleasant hotel was within walking distance of restaurants and the lovely boardwalk across the road. The bed was comfortable and it was quiet. We liked that you could take your complimentary breakfast back to your room rather than eat it in a huddle,with other people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JohndeFresno from Central California

Best bargain, terrific location by the beach

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Beautiful trees, shrubs, flowers, fireplace, backyard private patio. Free breakfast: Hardboiled eggs, yoghurt, oatmeal, pastries, coffee, etc.
Cons: Fireplace clicks on to keep room at thermostat setting; bothers some. It did not bother us at all.
Location: Walking distance - restaurants. Beachfront - sea lions, tide pools, moonstone-like agates. Hearst Castle; lighthouse; Cambria's stores, restaurants.
This is our second visit to the Cambria area, and our second stay at the Otter Inn. The staff are all pleasant and helpful. We love the flowers and charming rooms with their many suite-like amenities - gas log fireplace, CableTV and DVD player, free wireless, coffeemaker, microwave, iron, free breakfast. And each room with its private backyard patio, table and chairs surrounded by dense vegetation and trees make for a perfect private breakfast. With both visits, we saw a busy crew attending to the upkeep; one cleaning the pool, this time one painting some trim, and housekeeping busy with the rooms and replacing the cups. We have seen many motels, including upscale ones, where we observed that the glasses and mugs were actually just wiped with a cloth instead of being cleaned and replaced between guests! For that reason, we bring our own - - everything! But it is not necessary here. Our room, and even our bathroom, were meticulously cleaned. Then, right down the street are some great places to eat, especially one pub-like place (The Sea Chest) with outstanding seafood. If you eat there, come 1/2 hour before opening - there will be a line. The bed could have been a tad more comfortable, but replacements are expensive and with all of the quiet, beautiful surroundings at such a great price, we have found our designated mid-coast stay-over here!
2 out of 5
by John from Tucson

Disappointing and overpriced

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Flowers everywhere. Hot tub was great.
Cons: Furnishings, staff hospitality training
Location: Close to Hearst Castle and beach
Hotel clerk was not friendly; no smiles. Room was at best old 60s decor. Breakfast was scant. In short, too pricey for a lower-mid level motel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel but meh breakfast.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Great location and lovely rooms. Very quiet. Really enjoyed the fireplace and room and the pool area. Very charming. However, the breakfast was very disappointing and I expected better for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by RH from Simi Valley

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Krissa from Santa Clarita

Just a hop, skip, and a jump away from the ocean.

Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
I really liked that the ocean was just across the street. The room was nice with a cute little patio area off the back that was very private. It was a good place to have our breakfast, which was provided by the hotel. The room also had a fireplace heater, but it was a little noisy during the night. Overall, it was a nice place to stay.