Ratings based on 1,007 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Very close to water and Hearst Castle

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Very charming, good continental breakfast, friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Disappointing Morgan Hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the Castle & Cambria.
Cons: Modernization.
Location: Hearst Castle, San Simeon, Cambria, the seals.
Hearst Castle was the reason for my stay here, so the location was excellent, but the hotel itself was not at all what I expected. The condition of the rooms (worn doors, general seediness) was not good although they were clean. No amenities like a robe (call me a princess, but I like terry robes). For a one-night stay it was okay, but I get the feeling a Days Inn in the area would serve the same purpose at a fraction of the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2014
The room is generally okay. The guy when I first checked in was not very nice, but the lady next day when checking out was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cords from Australia

Beautiful facilities

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Only one night at the end of a 2 week holiday and was the best place we stayed.
3 out of 5
by harper from la

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Paper thin walls . Comfy beds , clean with good shower but noisy. Terrible breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you liked our comfy beds, but disappointed that you did not enjoy our complimentary continental breakfast. We always welcome suggestions on ways we can improve our offerings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathryn from Los Angeles

Nice, close to Hearst Castle

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Distance from Hearst Castle, room rate and amenities
Cons: no improvement
Location: hearst castle
I enjoyed my stay. The room was clean, hotel staff was pleasant. I complimentary breakfast was an added bonus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pat from Orange County, CA

A short walk to the coastline

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: I slept well in the beds and there was little to no noise to disturb me. I also liked that I could walk to the restaurant.
Cons: Some of the TV channels were a little fuzzy; maybe either better reception or a TV Guide in the room.
Location: Mexican restaurant next door and a short walk to view the ocean.
This hotel is about as close as you can get to Hearst Castle. On the ocean side of the freeway, it is next-door to a moderately priced Mexican restaurant. The exterior landscaping is attractive, and the hotel staff was friendly and attentive. Our room was a few steps away from the front counter and adjacent to the pool. The pool is surrounded by walls, so you can get out of the wind. The beds were very comfortable and the room was clean. The bathroom area was a little dated and the sink was stained, but as long as it's clean and comfy, that's fine with me. I do have to say that the free continental breakfast was good, with lots of room to sit and enough your coffee. If you're looking for proximity to Hearst Castle and the ocean for a decent price, try this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beach location

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: location
great midway point stay on the trip Los Angeles to San Francisco
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Yucky hotel in San Simeon

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: Facelift needed in the rooms and the common areas.
Location: Other than seeing the seals molting, not much to do in San Simeon.
The hotel looked so much nicer on the internet. Rooms and bathrooms are in need of a facelift. Los of chipped paint on doors etc. I certinly wouldn't return to the Morgan Hotel in San Simeon. Moonstone Beach in Cambria is a much better option, in terms of travel to Hearst Castle. Nicer places to stay in Cambria, and certainly better restaurants.
3 out of 5
by Old RPS Man from New Jersey

Needs Help

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Older motel, in real need of make over, beds were very well worn. No A/C they give you a fan in the closet. Would not go back for sure