Ratings based on 1,389 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mission Viejo, California

Comfort close to Hearst Castle

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Truly enjoyed a very comfortable stay at The Morgan, which was convenient for touring Hearst Castle, especially at night. The room was very spacious for a double queen facing the ocean. I was impressed by the cleanliness and fresh appearance of the room even in a dated bathroom with no dirt/mold in the shower tile grout . Most importantly, the room was quiet even for those who are light sleepers. I could only hear the faint sound of a neighbor's TV, but no voices penerated through the walls. The only drawback from earning the highest rating was a sagging bed on one side of each queen. The staff was truly wonderful and very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Cons: more food offerings at breakfast
Delightful....Fireplace was a wonderful asset on a cool evening! And the kindness to our 2 little dogs was much appreciated!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Cons: Instructions on how to work the fireplace would be helpful.
Room was clean, spacious. Had a nice ocean view on our stay. Though we were a little surprised the TV did not come with an HDMI port so we could not connect our devices to watch movies. Also, we could not find for the life of us, how to work the fireplace. it was a big reason why I chose this hotel and we could not get it to work as there were no instructions at all how to utilize it. The bathroom looked to be updated not too long ago and had a large bath tub and shower. Overall, great place to stay if ever in the San Simeon area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Concord, CA

Cambria vacation

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: Make sure that, upon check-out, that the front desk staff knows to ask about the customer's stay. It's just that little extra touch.
Location: This particular trip, most of the things we did were in SLO and Morro Bay, but if we are keeping to Cambria and San Simeon, it's perfect.bar
When we arrived, the two gentlemen behind the front desk were very friendly, professional and accommodating. We had a little trouble finding the check-in because the hotel is actually two separate buildings which flank a Mexican restaurant. So it took us a few minutes before we realized this and were directed correctly by a member of the staff. Our check-in went very smoothly and then we went to our room. The room was very clean and comfortable-looking. We had a fireplace which just had to try out, even though it was too warm to use it. The beds were the most comfortable we've ever slept in. We did have some problems with the toilet which only worked about once every three times. We thought of telling the front desk, but were afraid that it would work when being worked on! By the second day, it was working just fine, so we had the feeling that perhaps housekeeping reported it. The one disappointment was that, upon checking out, the young lady behind the desk didn't bother to ask how our stay was. That would have been nice. All-in-all, we had a great stay, and the next we are in Cambria, we will definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angrles

No elevator, so so breakfast, close to the castle

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Although only 2 story, Morgan hotel does not have any elevator. Be aware if you are traveling with heavy luggages. Choices of breakfast are limited, but it is complimentary. The rooms are comfortable with some design sketch of the castle on the wall, nice if you are interested in architecture and design. The hotel is less than 10 min away from the castle, but there isn't that many entertainment or shops around it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Nice hotel, clean and cozy. Close to the beach and close to food. Not far from Hearst Castle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Staff at the front desk were very friendly. I will stay there again if I visit Hearst Castle in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fontana, CA

Perfect location

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Clean room. Room for parking. Perfect distance less than 6 miles from either Hearst Castle, the Pier and downtown Cambria. Easy stroll on the beach access and 30 minutes or less to wine tasting. I even went to Paso Robles for a night out had dinner and watched a movie. Great place will go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Old Hotel, Just Minutes from Hearst Castle

Posted Nov 23, 2014
The hotel is conveniently located between Hearst Castle and Cambria. Its location is the best thing it has going for it right now. Some of the housekeepers unfortunately do not do their jobs well. The hotel thankfully has a renovation coming up (our bathroom smelled horrific!). Most of the front desk clerks were very pleasant and helpful though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2014 by Michele, Hotel Management
We were delighted to be your host for your visit to San Simeon and the surrounding area, including the Heart Castle. I’m glad to hear that my staff at the front desk was very helpful and accommodating during you stay, but I apologize that my housekeeping staff did not meet or exceed your expectations. All of the guestrooms are normally refreshed daily with a cleansing spray. We are thankful for your constructive feedback and the appropriate departments have been notified of your comments. Please don’t hesitate to contact me if I may be of assistance with future travel plans to our hotel. Warm regards, Bing Tan, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Folsom CA

Nice hotel.Close to Hearst Castle and Piedras Blan

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: It's location to our places we had planned to go.
Cons: The condition of the pull down shade on the window.The Bathtub drained so slowly.,that halfway into my shower,I was standing in 2 inches of water
Location: Hearst Castle is just down the road.Piedras Blancas Lighthouse is close by as well.There are beaches close by. Some of them had Elephant Seals.
When We arrived,our room was not ready(we were there early)Later,The front desk gave us a key,but when we opened the door,you could obviously see someone else was in that room.They apologized and gave us another room on the opposite side near the street and parking lot.Once in the room,we settled in fine