Ratings based on 1,009 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hearst Castle trip

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: inform guest that you are staying in a different place.
Location: Cavalier restaurant is great. Hearst castle is a must.
The Kids were very exited that the Morgan had a swimming pool. I was happy that it had a wall to protect you from the wind while swimming. BUT when we checked in we were sent to The Morgan in the "North Building" This building was very far from the pool. We arrived about 7pm and no one wanted to walk down a dark road in the cold to go swimming. The web site mentioned nothing about the separate building. Now this is all personal preference. Bed was WAY too soft, no a/c, the fake fireplace was humming all night with the pilot light and it was hot. Do not stay in room 309, it is next to the stairs and anyone walks on them sounds like a heard of buffalo, across the hall is the maids laundry room and is very noisy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel, overpriced

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Stayed one night to go to Hearst Castle. Almost non existent internet access. Thin walls. Not ideal to stay in the separate building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Very close to water and Hearst Castle

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Very charming, good continental breakfast, friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Disappointing Morgan Hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the Castle & Cambria.
Cons: Modernization.
Location: Hearst Castle, San Simeon, Cambria, the seals.
Hearst Castle was the reason for my stay here, so the location was excellent, but the hotel itself was not at all what I expected. The condition of the rooms (worn doors, general seediness) was not good although they were clean. No amenities like a robe (call me a princess, but I like terry robes). For a one-night stay it was okay, but I get the feeling a Days Inn in the area would serve the same purpose at a fraction of the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2014 by Michele, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at The Morgan. I apologize that we are no longer providing robes for our guests to use. We are experiencing severe drought conditions in California, we have eliminated robes in an effort to cut down on our laundry water usage. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to explain why we are not currently offering robes!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2014
The room is generally okay. The guy when I first checked in was not very nice, but the lady next day when checking out was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cords from Australia

Beautiful facilities

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Only one night at the end of a 2 week holiday and was the best place we stayed.
3 out of 5
by harper from la

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Paper thin walls . Comfy beds , clean with good shower but noisy. Terrible breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2014 by Michele, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you liked our comfy beds, but disappointed that you did not enjoy our complimentary continental breakfast. We always welcome suggestions on ways we can improve our offerings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathryn from Los Angeles

Nice, close to Hearst Castle

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Distance from Hearst Castle, room rate and amenities
Cons: no improvement
Location: hearst castle
I enjoyed my stay. The room was clean, hotel staff was pleasant. I complimentary breakfast was an added bonus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pat from Orange County, CA

A short walk to the coastline

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: I slept well in the beds and there was little to no noise to disturb me. I also liked that I could walk to the restaurant.
Cons: Some of the TV channels were a little fuzzy; maybe either better reception or a TV Guide in the room.
Location: Mexican restaurant next door and a short walk to view the ocean.
This hotel is about as close as you can get to Hearst Castle. On the ocean side of the freeway, it is next-door to a moderately priced Mexican restaurant. The exterior landscaping is attractive, and the hotel staff was friendly and attentive. Our room was a few steps away from the front counter and adjacent to the pool. The pool is surrounded by walls, so you can get out of the wind. The beds were very comfortable and the room was clean. The bathroom area was a little dated and the sink was stained, but as long as it's clean and comfy, that's fine with me. I do have to say that the free continental breakfast was good, with lots of room to sit and enough your coffee. If you're looking for proximity to Hearst Castle and the ocean for a decent price, try this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beach location

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: location
great midway point stay on the trip Los Angeles to San Francisco