Ratings based on 1,086 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

We liked it very much and would stay again

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: The view, the walk on the beach, the people
Cons: The check in was in a different building but it didn't really matter
Location: Easy to get to the beach, nice Mexican restaurant next door, and Hearst Castle close by.
The room had a lovely view of the beach but no fireplace...they said we could change for the fireplace option but we loved where we were...I had to wait a few hours after checkout and they were so sweet, they invited me to stay and even use the pool if desired...lovely people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ashford Kent

Nice hotel.

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Stayed for 3 nights,2 nights in a family room which was excellent,3rd night in a superior room which had smaller bathroom and dark lighting,not so impressed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Torrance, CA

Nice hotel close to Hearst Castle and Cambria

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: friendly staff; nice continental breakfast
Cons: bathrooms, including shower is too dark; the pool is a bit small
Location: great location for Hearst Castle and Cambria
The Morgan is centrally located if visiting Hearst Castle and Cambria. Our family had a fantastic time at the boardwalk on Moonstone Beach, which was only a few miles south of the hotel. On our first night we were lucky enough to see multiple whales spouting off near the horizon and enjoyed a delicious meal at the Sea Chest Restaurant in Cambria.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, CA

The Morgan

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Nice thick pillows. Fireplace in room, if needed.
Cons: Better, more comfortable beds are needed, and higher, more comfortable toilets. Get some air conditioning.
Location: Hearst Castle, Cambria, etc.
Better than most accommodations in the area, but not at all great. Ugly exterior for starters, with poop mustard yellow stucco. Not classy. Sign on door leads one to believe it is handicapped friendly, yet there is no elevator to get folks with wheelchairs, crutches, or canes up to their 2nd floor rooms. Thankfully, we were accommodated with a different room on the 1st floor, and the staff seemed polite and helpful. No air conditioning in the rooms. There was a huge (loud) fan placed in the hallway to blow air upstairs. We found a portable fan in our closet which kept us from sweltering all night long. The room was attractive, and reasonably comfortable with the exception of the bed (most important item) which was rather hard and gave us both backaches. Fortunately we were there for just one night. Bathroom was way too small and sloppily painted. High, deep tub was very difficult to get in and out of. Toilet was way too low for adult use. Free continental breakfast is offered in the morning between the lobby and pool areas. Maintenance crew was busy repainting curbs as we left, so there is an apparent effort to keep clean and tidy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2014 by Michele, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review from your recent stay at The Morgan. We are indeed a fully compliant handicap accessible/ADA facility. We have a total of 3 ADA rooms all which are located on the first floor as we do not have an elevator for our 2 story property. I apologize for the noise from our large fans, on the rare hot day in the area; we like to have air moving to keep the buildings as cool as possible. Thank you again for your review! Michele Berry, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: It was very close to Hearst Castle.
Cons: Maybe a elevator?
Location: Lot of places to eat and very close to beach.
Very surprised how nice and cozy the room was. Looking toward ocean and hearing the waves was great. The bay window and fireplace made for a nice stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lot of noise above us

Posted Aug 19, 2014
we couldn't sleep because the person above us was walking around his room all night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Convenient to Hearst Castle and Cambria

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable and accommodating staff made our stay at this hotel very pleasant. Continental breakfast was well supplied.
Cons: Room was warm but didn't complain to desk. They might have been able to fix the air flow somehow.
Location: We stayed at this hotel b/c of location convenience of visiting Hearst Castle. We decided to take the 1 up to Pacific Grove and the 17 mile drive.
Was passing the hotel on our way to Hearst Castle and stopped to see if we could check in early. Our room wasn't ready so asked where we could go for lunch. They gave us several suggestions and ended up going to Moonstone Beach which was close by. Checked into our room late afternoon and found it to be very clean. Coffee, tea and water was set up in reception area and was available 24 hours. Heated pool was outside, and surrounded by plexiglass which helped with windy conditions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel in San Simeon

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Everything you could hope for in San Simeon. Clean, decorated well and very friendly and accommodating staff. Breakfast was mediocre. No elevator and stuffy in upstairs halls and rooms are the downsides.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sweden

Really nice hotel.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
We are very pleased with the hotel! Stayed one night, clean and quite large room with sitting area. Clean room and hotel & friendly personel. Good breakfast included. Close walking distance to beach promenade, and two restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Location: Hearst Castle, Elephant Seal Beach
Conveniently located near a couple attractions we planned on visiting. The cinammon rolls in the morning are fantastic!! Definately recommend The Morgan.