Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by rose from australia

Disappointing experience

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Management and staff
Location: Nice places to have a drink on the waterfront and a meal.
Nice location with outlook over the beach. Staff was not very helpful; room was not ready on arrival mid afternoon and they seemed unsure about the booking we had. Difficult about payment and slow to produce paperwork. The room didn't seem well maintained with things broken and wasn't well cleaned.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by EKL from Matawan

Nice outside and lobby but bad room facilities

Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel looked nice outside and was in a nice neighborhood but both our rooms was not clean and looked old. Only one dirty towel in each room for two of us. After seeing the room, we immediately cancelled the other night and move to other hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A10G from Brisbane

good value

Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great Location at the Sandakan waterfront with many tour organizers in nearby streets as well as MacDonald. Every tour organizer has individual packages all going to the same places. A meager Breakfast is included. Hotel is a bit tired. Had problems with the Room door key.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sasha from Kuala Lumpur

Simple and clean hotel

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: The hotel was very obliging in holding my room til I arrived late in the evening and reflected good customer service.
Cons: Perhaps, the breakfast spread?
Location: Honestly, nothing much. Except perhaps check out the local attractions? I was in Sandakan on business.
I had a pleasant stay at Swiss Inn Sandakan. Clean rooms, pleasant staff, strategic location.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Prilo from UK

Poor value, NO PARKING!

Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
We booked this hotel for 1 night, mainly because they advertise free parking 'no reservation required' both on their website and booking agencies' sites too! When we arrived staff told me there was no parking. No apology was given and we were directed to a car park that Sheraton hotel uses. We were made to feel very inconvenient in the process and I had to ask them if we could unload our bags to the hotel so we didn't have to carry them all the way from the car park! It was late and we hadn't eaten so on arriving to the room we tried room service. They advertised hours of 7am-11pm. It was 1030pm. When we called they very rudely told us they were shut. No apology given. Room also felt grubby and damp. Avoid if possible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by azli

Comfortable hotel with seaview

Posted Sep 4, 2013
Pros: Nearby shopping mall and other entertainment places. Hotel food and local dishes nice too.
Cons: Housekeeping
Location: Strategic location in central of sandakan. Morning and evening walk by the seaside, fresh marine products from sandakan wet market.
Great and very relaxing hotel to stay with or without family.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ramona from melbourne

Posted Aug 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
the hotel was in a fantastic location by the waterfront and walking distance to shops and cafes. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The thing that let the hotel down was its age and the fact that the linen and curtains were old and miscoloured and linen had stains and marks on them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ali from Perth WA, Australia

review of swiss waterfront hotel, sanderkan, sabah

Posted Jun 23, 2013
Pros: location, staff also very friendly
Cons: carpet in our room was very ordinary
Location: good location close to the waterfront and shops and lots of tour offices available in the immediate area which was very convenient
Hotel was nice but needs a new carpet in the room we stayed in. Breakfast was ok but very limited choice
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A D

Backpacker hotel at best

Posted Nov 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
Unfortunately this hotel is not a 3star. The hotel is situated on the waterfront of the harbour but its not a pleasant location. Rats were clearly visible scurrying between the local bars and cafes. At the hotel, the room key card didn't work so we had to call to reception cover to let us back in each time. Our shower only let out a dribble of Luke warm water. The walls are paper thin and we were kept awake all night. Breakfast is served via a cafe full of locals on the harbour side. We were so dissatisfied with the experience we decided to get a drink at the nearby Sheraton, use their free wifi and book a room with them for the return leg of our excursion and forgoe the booking and fee we'd placed for the Swiss inn. I never fill these things in but on this occasion feel compelled to.
2 out of 5
by Steve from Sydney

A Grubby Shoebox for a room.

Posted Nov 15, 2012
Pros: ?
Cons: The Room
Location: Too noisy
A tiny twin room with insufficient space for 2 adults and luggage. The carpets and walls were covered with stains and the noise from the street below made an early night impossible. I had booked this hotel primarily because of it's location but sadly that was a mistake.